The pfSense Store

Author Topic: PowerD broken?  (Read 806 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jujuspi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
PowerD broken?
« on: April 28, 2013, 09:26:12 am »
Hi everyone,

Since I've upgraded to 2.1-BETA1 (amd64)
built on Wed Apr 24 20:11:25 EDT 2013, i've got a little issue regarding PowerD.

PowerD appears to be ineffective since my last upgrade(Adaptive/Adaptive), was working very well on 9th April snapshot with an Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz. I've already checked if my BIOS option was disabled but it still enabled as well.

Console show me those messages in loop:
Code: [Select]
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed
acpi_perf0: set freq failed, err 6
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed
acpi_perf0: set freq failed, err 6
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed
acpi_perf0: set freq failed, err 6
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed
acpi_perf0: set freq failed, err 6
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed

Thanks :)

Julien

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14978
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PowerD broken?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2013, 12:30:59 pm »
Try again with a current snapshot.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline jujuspi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PowerD broken?
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2013, 02:59:49 pm »
With 2.1-BETA1 (amd64)  built on Mon Apr 29 09:14:28 EDT 2013, error still remains :(

Code: [Select]
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed
acpi_perf0: set freq failed, err 6
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed
acpi_perf0: set freq failed, err 6
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed
acpi_perf0: set freq failed, err 6
acpi_perf0: Px transition to 1600 failed
acpi_perf0: set freq failed, err 6

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14978
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PowerD broken?
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2013, 07:45:58 am »
Every reference I see to that error on the web has to do with some sort of BIOS/ACPI/CPU interaction.

The only driver-related change since April 9th was to a NIC, ixgbe, so it's not likely to have caused that.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!