pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc  (Read 175337 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline StuartW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #105 on: July 16, 2010, 01:33:02 am »
How do you upload the files to PFSense?  TFTP?
Some options:
  • From web GUI: Diagnostics -> Command, 3rd option to upload files

This was the option I used

Offline slider_nww

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #106 on: February 09, 2011, 04:29:43 pm »
hello together,

i want so start the install of the driver with die read-write problem.


the user "thewizard" posted last year:
Quote
After setting up pfsense i have loaded the web browser and gone to diag, command, and uploaded the lcdd.tar.gz

For a pc via 9 pin serial i have selected option 8 (shell)

but in the console i see the boot screen:
1. Boot pfSense [default]
2. Boot pfSense with ACPI enabled
3. Boot pfSense using USB device
4. Boot pfSense in Safe Mode
5. Boot pfSense in single user mode
6. Boot pfSense with verbose logging
7. Escape to loader prompt
8. Reboot

how can i get the shell?
pfSense-2.0-BETA5-i386 / Firebox X700 / LCD Driver: lcdd4

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #107 on: February 09, 2011, 04:41:16 pm »
That's odd. Is that before the box has booted?

Alternatively you can access a command prompt by using ssh to connect.
Make sure it's enabled in the web interface:
\system\advanced\enable secure shell
Use putty to connect (if you're using Windows).

Steve

Offline slider_nww

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #108 on: February 09, 2011, 05:26:06 pm »
at first the bootloader, then this menu. After booting "booting complete", but not the generelly menu

thx for the idea, i will test this tomorrow.

the lcdriver package "lcdproc" is not needed? only the lcdd.tar.gz?
pfSense-2.0-BETA5-i386 / Firebox X700 / LCD Driver: lcdd4

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #109 on: February 09, 2011, 06:00:19 pm »
You only need the lcdd tarball, it includes lcdproc along with the firebox lcd driver. However there is a problem with the install script when using 2.0Beta5 (or newer).

Here's a new set of instructions for installing the firebox lcd software that should work with Beta5

Edit: These instructions didn't work. There's a file permissions problem that needs to be fixed.

Steve
« Last Edit: February 09, 2011, 07:03:04 pm by stephenw10 »

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #110 on: February 10, 2011, 05:38:50 am »
Edit: This only works correctly under 2.0. To use this file for 1.2.3 you need to add a sym link manually see
here.

Here's something that works!  ::)
At least it did with yesterdays build (pfSense-2.0-BETA5-1g-i386-20110209-1815) on a completely clean install.
Download the attachment to this message. Rename it lcdd4.tar (remove the .png).
Upload it to your firebox via Diagnostics\Command Prompt\Upload in the web interface. This will put the file in \tmp. Then open a command prompt via serial or shh and:
Code: [Select]
[2.0-BETA5][root@pfSense.localdomain]/root(9): cd /tmp
[2.0-BETA5][root@pfSense.localdomain]/tmp(10): tar -xvf lcdd4.tar
x ./
x ./lcdd/
x ./install-embed2.lcdd.sh
x ./lcdd/drivers/
x ./lcdd/LCDd.conf
x ./lcdd/lcdd.sh
x ./lcdd/lcdproc
x ./lcdd/LCDd
x ./lcdd/drivers/curses.so
x ./lcdd/drivers/sdeclcd.so
[2.0-BETA5][root@pfSense.localdomain]/tmp(11): ./install-embed2.lcdd.sh
[2.0-BETA5][root@pfSense.localdomain]/tmp(12): /usr/local/etc/rc.d/lcdd.sh

And your lcd should be working.  ;D

Changelog from lcdd3:
Reworked the install script to use rc.conf_mount_rw instead of 'mount -u -w /'.
Included the symlinking in the install script.
Changed the default lcd proc display options to C T U.
Changed the default LCDd.conf to use the front panel buttons correctly for menu access.  :)

Bugs:
(Xe box only) Having set it to use the buttons correctly I have found that the buttons on the Xe box are wired differently to the other fireboxes.  >:( When it starts you'll be left in the menu, just press the left button to escape. The result is no different to when the buttons weren't configured correctly.

Although I am using the rc.conf_mount_rw/ro commands in the script there is no need since it appears that (in this build at least) everything is mounted RW by default. Seems odd.

Steve

Edit: Changed the attachment to .png as .txt was corrupt.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2011, 05:46:04 pm by stephenw10 »

Offline slider_nww

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #111 on: February 10, 2011, 04:23:46 pm »
hello steve,

that sounds good, but i cant unpack the file.

error message on box and on windows...
pfSense-2.0-BETA5-i386 / Firebox X700 / LCD Driver: lcdd4

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #112 on: February 10, 2011, 04:50:11 pm »
Hmm, you're right try this.
Obviously rename it lcdd4.tar
I tested it and it untared fine.


Steve

Edit: Removed the attachment as it's now on the original post.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 01:05:02 pm by stephenw10 »

Offline slider_nww

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #113 on: February 10, 2011, 06:02:03 pm »
ich have a problem now:

boot the hdu:
Quote
p x xpx ;

EDIT:
dont forget to go back to read-only mode  ::)
(/etc/rc.conf_mount_ro)
« Last Edit: February 14, 2011, 02:36:48 pm by slider_nww »
pfSense-2.0-BETA5-i386 / Firebox X700 / LCD Driver: lcdd4

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #114 on: February 10, 2011, 06:38:05 pm »
What are you trying to boot from?
Looks like something is corrupt.

3 looks like leftover stuff from the original Watchguard OS. pfSense doesn't use lilo.

Steve

Offline jdetmold

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #115 on: February 11, 2011, 12:00:07 am »
steve the updated driver looks good im flashing a new cf card and will test it tomorrow morning

Thanks for all the work on the firebox!

-Jeff

Offline slider_nww

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #116 on: February 11, 2011, 01:14:31 am »
Quote
i have a problem now, without doing anything...


-> still working now

AND:

the lcd-driver works! thx steve  :)

pfSense-2.0-BETA5-i386 / Firebox X700 / LCD Driver: lcdd4

Offline jdetmold

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #117 on: February 11, 2011, 07:11:29 pm »
new driver works great! and the menu looks good 2!
it would be nice to be able to switch the display screens from the menu i like that option even though it dosent work yet

Offline erisan500

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #118 on: April 17, 2011, 02:50:05 pm »
Is there a way to keep the backlight constantly on?

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #119 on: April 18, 2011, 05:50:45 am »
There are settings for the backlight in lcdd.conf. I can't remember off hand but there is setting for the time, you could try setting that very high or 0. Have a look through the file there's probably a setting for disabling the backlight timer. The original driver didn't have it so the light was permanently on.

Steve