Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc  (Read 175338 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #135 on: April 27, 2011, 05:43:33 pm »
Ok, so as pointed out phr0zen above the file lcdd4.tar does not install properly on 1.2.3 since it sets sym links for libkvm.so.5 which doesn't exist in 1.2.3.

If you have installed it and got the error
Code: [Select]
ln /lib/libkvm.so.4:  File Exists
You need to add the sym link manually with the following console commands:
Code: [Select]
/etc/rc.conf_mount_rw
ln -s /lib/libkvm.so.4 /lib/libkvm.so.3
/etc/rc.conf_mount_ro

Now you can start the server and all should be well.

Steve

Offline hmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Nettech
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #136 on: April 30, 2011, 08:32:12 pm »
I am having an issue installing the lcdd4.tar.  (firebox x700, 1.2.3 embeded installed via live cd, onto HD)

Steps:
1. uploaded the lcdd4.tar via web interface
2. opened console via serial (putty)
3. tar -xvf lcdd4.tar
4. ./install-embed2.lcdd.sh

I get this:

ln /lib/libkvm.so.4:  File Exists

I try to run it anyway with:
/usr/local/etc/rc.d/lcdd.sh

I get:
/libexec/ld-elf.so.1: Shared object "libkvm.so.3" not found, required by "lcdproc"

Can anyone help me?
(btw, this was a fresh install, only thing i did after interface setup was try to install this lccd4.tar)

Thanks!

EDIT:

Ok... so I think I figured it out.  Got it working at least.
I had to edit the install-embed.lcdd.sh. It looked like it was creating the wrong symlinks for 1.2.3 (gathered from other posts).  Here is what I edited it to:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/csh
/etc/rc.conf_mount_rw
cp -R lcdd /usr/local/share/
cp /usr/local/share/lcdd/lcdd.sh /usr/local/etc/rc.d/
chown -R root:wheel /usr/local/share/lcdd
chmod -R ugo=rX /usr/local/share/lcdd
chown root:wheel /usr/local/etc/rc.d/lcdd.sh
chmod ugo=rx /usr/local/etc/rc.d/lcdd.sh
ln -s /lib/libc.so.7 /lib/libc.so.6
ln -s /lib/libkvm.so.4 /lib/libkvm.so.3
/etc/rc.conf_mount_ro



phr0zen & steve...
Ok - so if I run the 4.tar with the original syntax and then clean up with your (phr0zen) instructions will that get this to work? I just hate to hose my HD install of the 1.2.3 imbedded. I just finished up cleaning up the 3 fans and added a quiet coolermaster with a modded heat sync. I also fell into the perfect drive sled that works with the 2.5laptop drive. I made the decision to close the case - but this may be too soon if this next attempt at the CLI does not get the lcd working... Thanks for all your help here...
H.
Best Regards;
H.

Offline hmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Nettech
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #137 on: April 30, 2011, 08:37:52 pm »
Ok, so as pointed out phr0zen above the file lcdd4.tar does not install properly on 1.2.3 since it sets sym links for libkvm.so.5 which doesn't exist in 1.2.3.

If you have installed it and got the error
Code: [Select]
ln /lib/libkvm.so.4:  File Exists
You need to add the sym link manually with the following console commands:
Code: [Select]
/etc/rc.conf_mount_rw
ln -s /lib/libkvm.so.4 /lib/libkvm.so.3
/etc/rc.conf_mount_ro

Now you can start the server and all should be well.

Steve
Steve - Ok - I read this twice and I am ready to jump in again on the CLI...
I will expect the error and move on with your instructions here...
Thanks for the efforts here and hoping to put this project together and start building the firewall rules. Will update tomorrow and let you know how things are going ....
Thx & Best Regards...
H.
BTW - I took off Friday and on Admin at work asked if I stayed home on Friday to watch the wedding but my reply was something like beer and fishing were the order of the day. Her reply was "In the name of the wedding I presume" :)
Best Regards;
H.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #138 on: April 30, 2011, 08:43:16 pm »
Here in London it was pretty crazy!  ::)

National day off was nice though.  :)

Steve

Offline hmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Nettech
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #139 on: April 30, 2011, 09:53:07 pm »
Here in London it was pretty crazy!  ::)

National day off was nice though.  :)

Steve

There ya go - Niiiccce...
That crowd was huge!

Well, I tried and now consider myself Linux challenged... Must have been the beer and fishing on Friday..
Tar'd the version 4 and got no error? but continued and ran rw on the system and tried the edit. I think I need to edit the install-embed.lcdd.sh following phr0zen's syntax - I can see it try and load but no joy...
Best Regards;
H.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #140 on: May 01, 2011, 05:54:05 am »
Editing the script should definitely work. But I would expect it to simply need the extra sym link.  :-\
What error does it give when it tries to load?

When you ran the install script it didn't give an error? Weird!

Steve

Offline hmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Nettech
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #141 on: May 01, 2011, 06:44:26 am »
Editing the script should definitely work. But I would expect it to simply need the extra sym link.  :-\
What error does it give when it tries to load?

When you ran the install script it didn't give an error? Weird!

Steve
Steve...
No Error...
I am going to build out another 2 version ISO and write another drive...
I got the error the first time on the 1.2.3 and rebuilt 1.2.3 drive again as I think it changes the system boot so I started over. I think you mentioned it messes with the imbedded RO.

When I build the hard drive & use my current 2 version ISO it never gets to the last menu when it boots so I am going to download 2 again and rebuild the ISO again and try that... It would be great to get the LCD going but it is not a show stopper but I am willing to try and figure out how to do this. - Like you said - It isn't that hard.... :)
Best Regards;
H.

Offline hmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Nettech
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #142 on: May 01, 2011, 08:10:39 am »
I am going to throw this out there - (sameless lack of effort) ::)
Anyone have a .gho or acronis image??
I am burning the 2.0 RC1 now but was just wondering?
Best Regards;
H.

Offline hmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Nettech
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #143 on: May 01, 2011, 11:49:29 am »
Hi...

When you build 2.0 imbedded - it boots and does not go to the last menu nor does it allow you to setup the LAN addressing? Is that normal?

I am rebuilding my 1.2.3 and going after this again - Thanks everyone for your help...
Getting back to Linux after a few years is a challange but things are slowly coming back and I think this is a good exercise for me - If I start whining to much just give me a snickers bar and I will be ok...

Regards;

H.
Best Regards;
H.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #144 on: May 01, 2011, 11:59:18 am »
Hmm,
There seem to several people having that problem, check the x700 thread.
It seems to have started around 2.0Beta5.
One solution is to install 1.2.3 and then upgrade. Not a nice or long term solution if you ask me.
I don't actually have an x-core box so I haven't experienced it.

pfSense is BSD not linux. Just different enough to catch you out!   ::)

Steve

Offline hmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Nettech
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #145 on: May 01, 2011, 03:31:23 pm »
Wow - I started this and did not even pay attention - I thought FreeBSD was Linux - my bad....
Thanks for a eye opener Steve... After reading about FreeBSD I can see why pfsense is built on this os.... and I am glad I am on this path now.

I rebuilt the drive on 1.2.3 and will try the upgrade path and go through the thread again... When I look at the syntax and try to apply it some of the paths do not exist after the upgrade attempt??! Or my input is incorrect...
H.
edit - Update - All due to a hard drive that did not work with the 2.0 version - For some reason the in-place upgrade did not like the /mbr signature on the harddrive!
« Last Edit: May 13, 2011, 10:50:15 pm by hmeister »
Best Regards;
H.

Offline hmeister

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Nettech
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #146 on: May 13, 2011, 10:52:52 pm »
Steve...

Thanks again - the lcd setup worked like a charm on the second x700!  ;D
This time I applied the correct syntax and the LCD started right up without a reboot...!

Regards;

H.
Best Regards;
H.

Offline mmiller

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #147 on: May 16, 2011, 06:36:19 pm »
I just purchased a Firebox X8000 from ebay.  I was wondering if the LDCProc driver works on all of the LCD displays or only the X Core line?

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11839
  • Karma: +451/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #148 on: May 16, 2011, 06:43:53 pm »
It will work fine on the X8000. I installed it on my X6000 just yesterday on 2.0RC2.

Steve

Offline dfwbt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Firebox LCD Driver for LCDProc
« Reply #149 on: May 24, 2011, 10:26:52 pm »
Been piddling with my x500, and the results are promising as far as the buttons, I've used lcdexec from the LCDproc package and gotten the menus working.  I've only thus far created 2 functions, 1 is to Reboot, the other is to Reset the admin passwd....(would want to be careful with the 2nd one!) :)  Will keep poking around with this and post back soon :)

-Andy

Andrew Miffleton
Telecommunications Technician
DFW Business Telephones, Inc.
1260 Shiloh Rd.
Plano, TX 75074
(972)424-4242 x455