The pfSense Store

Poll

Do you use sticky connections with outbound/gateway load balancing?

Yes, works fine
9 (15.3%)
I was, but turned it off due to problems
30 (50.8%)
Never have used it
20 (33.9%)

Total Members Voted: 59

Voting closed: May 17, 2008, 05:17:28 pm

Author Topic: Outbound Load Balancing poll  (Read 12725 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Outbound Load Balancing poll
« on: April 17, 2008, 05:17:28 pm »
Please vote. And if you voted "Yes, works fine", please post and explain your setup!  ;D We're investigating potential problems with the sticky option and are looking to gather information.

Edit: If you vote you turned it off due to problems, please also explain what problems you were seeing. Thanks!

Offline knoxpix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 02:55:47 am »
If using load balance with-out another service. It's WORK!

Offline Perry

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 03:23:08 am »
Sticky connections seems to get stock from time to time. When you idle on a page for some time it stop to respond.

default install with 2 dhcp wan
add a load balancing pool
change the gateway on the default lan rule to loadbalanced.

That's how i remember it....
/Perry
doc.pfsense.org

Offline submicron

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • I like pie!
    • View Profile
    • BSDPerimeter
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2008, 08:40:32 am »
That sounds almost exactly like the issue we're seeing.
I do not respond to PMs demanding help.

Offline Ma.S.Caos.-

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 342
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2008, 08:52:21 am »
I want to use the feature but I just active connection failures, web pages that do not respond, pc that not navigate and waiting time for the vision of the first page long.
At this stage I can not use the function in an optimal way

Offline BigHusky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2008, 11:17:22 am »
The main reason we had to stop using it was that the 'monitor IP' was just constantly marking our second WAN connection as down every couple of minutes and causing a constant failover before almost instantly failover again due to recovery.
It cause a lot of havoc with our users.
It was most likely caused by the Comcast Network (latency, network, etc), but it made it impossible to use the feature.
Some of the other products we reviewed had fields to set the Timeout, Check Interval, Health and Recovery Retries that allowed to fine tune the feature based upon various factors.
If something like this could be added or exposed that would most likely solve the issue with items such as latency, etc.

Thanks

BH

Offline aaron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2008, 11:45:03 am »
I voted for works fine, but I think I may have misunderstood the poll... I use 2 load balancer failover pools with policy based routing and the setup being discussed seems to be load balancer pools that use the behaviour load balancing. So ooops, sorry.

Offline Rani

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2008, 03:46:10 pm »
i have just installed pfSense 1.2 special for load-balancing and fail-over and seems to me that it is working fine so far. i mention that i have tested my balancer rules several times by unplugging cable from WAN or OPT1 interface and in max. 30 sec. it switched on active route. i have a fiber and an wireless connections with static ips. i followed tutorial from ftp://ftp12.freebsd.org/pub/pfSense/tutorials/outgoing_loadbalancing/outgoing_loadbalancing.pdf. hopes that helps. see u! long live pfSense  :P

Offline arzepp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2008, 04:43:05 pm »
Works fine without the sticky connections, with 8 WAN connections shared between 45 users.
For the HTTPS protocol and sites with IP verification, I force one connection out of the 8 in the firewall rules.

Offline ilko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2008, 07:48:41 pm »
Works fine for us. pfSense 1.2 with 2 WANs (ADSL)/1LAN.
Using sticky connections because of the VoIP devices.

The only issue we had was with the failover/failback and dead states, hopefully in 1.3 this will be fixed and there will be no need of "dirty" workaround:
http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,7808.0.html

But I suppose it's not relevant to the issue here.

pfSense is really great, thanks for having it :)

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2008, 07:57:12 pm »
The only issue we had was with the failover/failback and dead states, hopefully in 1.3 this will be fixed and there will be no need of "dirty" workaround:
http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,7808.0.html

We are investigating options to kill active states on failed links currently. If it's doable we'll add that feature.

Offline CmdrFenix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2008, 06:34:29 am »
I currently use pfSense on a dual circuit customer with static IPs. One is a frac T1 and the other is a Cable circuit. I have load balancing setup and also a rule forcing specific traffic out the cable line. Haven't seen anything with the load balancer marking the secondary line down, but to be safe, I added an addition monitor server to be sure.

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2008, 06:37:45 am »
Just for clarification: Loadbalancing itself is working just fine. It's only the "sticky" option from system>advanced that seems to cause issues for some installs. We are trying to gather some information on how many people are using it successfully and how many people are encountering issues with it. And we need some information on the setups of course to further troubleshoot it.

Offline ugur

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #13 on: April 22, 2008, 05:57:13 am »
we use outbound loadbalancing and failover for 4 wan.

all works fine! (no sticky, no squid, no sip).

very easy setup and documents enough with forum for setup.
-
Ugur.

Offline craigdrown

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing poll
« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2008, 02:04:59 am »
we've just set up dual WAN on 1.2 final:
with sticky connections on, only one link would work, and half the attempted connections would time out (or so it seems)
turned off sticky connections and all is fine.
Cheers,
Craig