pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service  (Read 15888 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline goetter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #15 on: May 01, 2015, 07:16:32 pm »
Have you made any progress?

I will soon be attempting the same thing with CenturyLink.

Offline l3lack

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2015, 03:53:06 pm »
I, too, would love to hear the progress for this issue. I would like to be able to get rid of CT2000, and have pfsense connect directly to CenturyLink.

Offline superweasel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2015, 04:24:16 pm »
I received CenturyLink Gigabit Internet service two weeks ago and was able to immediately replace the C2000T with pfSense for use with the service. It was simple to setup.

Here are the steps:
  • Create a VLAN with ID 201, Interfaces>Assign>VLANs
  • Assign the VLAN to the WAN parent interface
  • Create a PPP interface for the WAN, Interfaces>Assign>PPPs
  • Make the following PPP settings:
             Link type - PPPoE
             Link interface(s) - WAN interface with VLAN, e.g. igb1_vlan201
             Provide the Username and Password for the CenturyLink account
             Save

At this point, the WAN interface will connect to the CenturyLink service.

I have noticed that the C2000T is about 20 percent faster on download speed tests and on parity with upload speed tests when compared to pfSense running on a SG-4860. Not exactly sure why that would be the case. Still investigating.

Screenshots of the settings below.
pfSense rig: pfSense SG-4860/120GB SSD
WAN: CenturyLink Gigabit Fiber

Offline johns1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2015, 12:53:43 pm »
superweasel, thank you for posting some detail. For some reason new post to thread notifications were not reaching me so I was not aware that new posts had been made.

I tried to follow your instructions and even went so far as to do a complete new install of 2.2.3 to make sure old configuration changes were not affecting me but I still can't get pfsense to work with Centurylink. By following your advice I have made more progress than before. I was unclear about what the WAN link should be set to on Interfaces (assign) so I put it to the PPPoE option created by following your instructions. pfsense then gets an IP address on the WAN link but clients on the LAN can't get to the internet. Screen shots are below, note in PPPtoWAN image that pfsense gets and IP address, can tell it is on the current release but the 1000baseT full duplex is missing. When I set the WAN back to em0 (default) I get the 1000baseT link full duplex but no IP address.

 I am sure there is some minor setting I am missing, and I would appreciate any further advice you have.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.

Offline superweasel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #19 on: July 20, 2015, 07:52:30 am »
With an IP address from CenturyLink, the WAN side of the house is all set. IP address from CenturyLink is the critical piece. With PPPoE, pfSense does not report connection speed or duplex.


Make sure the PPPoE Gateway is set as the Default Gateway (System>Routing, see image below). You might also want to add the CenturyLink DNS servers to your DNS list (System>General>DNS servers, see image below).


As for the LAN side, most likely a firewall issue or route issue. Make sure you are not blocking routes to the WAN from LAN (see image below). Just to verify, take a look at Diagnostics>Routes to see if LAN can route to WAN.


Last one, in researching the speed issue with pfSense and gigabit PPPoE connections, I opened a support ticket with pfSense. As of v2.2.3, pfSense will not attain gigabit speeds with PPPoE (https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/4821).
pfSense rig: pfSense SG-4860/120GB SSD
WAN: CenturyLink Gigabit Fiber

Offline johns1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #20 on: July 21, 2015, 10:22:07 am »
superweasel, many thanks for your posts. I am now up and running on pfSense!. It turns out the inability for clients to access the WAN was because CenturyLink was moving the IP the assigned to me at the same time I was trying to browse the web from a client. With others asking "when is the internet going to be up again?" instead of taking time to make sure things were right I just assumed there was some setting I was missing.

As to your bug report, I would like to help prove an issue as my pfSense system is yielding about 1/3 to 1/2 the performance I get when using the technicolor modem. I will message you directly about that.

Thank you again for the detail you provided. I appreciate it.

Offline dburkland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #21 on: September 23, 2015, 12:02:24 pm »
I am guessing the PPPoE requirement is region specific as I did not need to set this up here in the Twin Cities (Support also confirmed this as well).

Cheers,

Dan

Offline dopey

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #22 on: October 15, 2015, 10:28:39 pm »
Last one, in researching the speed issue with pfSense and gigabit PPPoE connections, I opened a support ticket with pfSense. As of v2.2.3, pfSense will not attain gigabit speeds with PPPoE (https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/4821).

Thanks for tracking this down.  I've been wondering why I can't get gigabit over centurylink but was able to between hosts on the WAN and LAN interfaces.  Didn't think that PPPoE would have been the factor here.

Offline Heavyb

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #23 on: April 30, 2016, 03:06:51 pm »
Can anyone confirm that the PPPoE performance issue has been addressed in v.2.3?

Thanks!

Offline Bagoette

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2016, 05:59:41 pm »
I have just upgraded to CenturyLink Fiber Gigabit as well, and after getting pfSense to connect to the PPPoE, I can only manage at most 300 Mbps Down and 350 Mbps Up.

My CPU info is included in attachment.

I have both Gigabit NIC's on the LAN and WAN.

When I hook up the CenturyLink C2100T I can get 700+Mbps Up and Down. Can anyone pull high speeds with pfSense?

Offline Spirundik

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #25 on: May 29, 2016, 09:33:52 pm »
I had the opposite problem.  I got ~900 up/down when my pfSense was connected directly to the ONT and establishing the PPPoE connection, but only get ~700 up/down when the C2100T is in place to provide routing for my /29 subnet.

attached is my cpu info.

Offline teeler123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #26 on: August 22, 2016, 01:22:16 pm »
I have tried everything suggested in this thread - VLAN201 on WAN, PPPoE on VLAN201, and input username and password. It then says that it is "up" but no IP address is received and not internet.

Any thoughts for further actions?

Thanks,

Tyler

Offline yuckey2d

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #27 on: April 26, 2017, 06:09:01 pm »
Bump... Gave this a try last month, hoping for a solution, or advice for how to build the PPPoE with multithread available.

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
  • Karma: +19/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE on WAN link for Centurylink gigabit service
« Reply #28 on: April 27, 2017, 10:55:09 pm »
According to https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/4821 it is related to igb driver, are you all using Intel igb NICs? Currently solution is only to change the hardware more powerful CPU that can handle 1Gbit with single core and/or other Intel card, that uses em(4) driver.