pfSense Forum

pfSense English Support => IPv6 => Topic started by: pox on September 11, 2017, 02:32:20 pm

Title: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 11, 2017, 02:32:20 pm
I have a lan interface and a vlan.20 interface. I configured IPv6 RA on the lan interface.
When I connect on vlan.20, where no RA is configured (vlan.20 does not even have an IPv6 address), I get the RA ICMPv6 packets with the RA information.
Is this correct? Is this as designed? Can I somehow block them? I don't want IPv6 on that vlan (for now).
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: JKnott on September 11, 2017, 02:39:43 pm
Where are you seeing this?  A trunk port?  Access port on VLAN 20?  Are you using Wireshark?

If looking at a trunk port, Wireshark will show both native and VLAN traffic.  You have to examine the packets to see if there's an 802.1q tag.  If there is, then it's on the VLAN.  If there isn't, it's not.

Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: johnpoz on September 11, 2017, 02:40:40 pm
You would not get info from lan on your vlan.20 unless its not configured correctly in your switching environment... Ie if connected to dumb switch that doesn't have your vlan.20 setup on it to isolate the layer 2 networks.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 11, 2017, 03:08:36 pm
Where are you seeing this?  A trunk port?  Access port on VLAN 20?  Are you using Wireshark?

If looking at a trunk port, Wireshark will show both native and VLAN traffic.  You have to examine the packets to see if there's an 802.1q tag.  If there is, then it's on the VLAN.  If there isn't, it's not.

Strange. I am connecting with my laptop to a wireless access point on a sid configured with vlan id 20. The AP is connected to pfsense on a trunk port (vlan.30 and lan are also configured on that same ethernet port).
I see the RA ICMPv6 packets with wireshark on my laptop when connected on vlan.20. I am quite sure I am on vlan.20, because all firewall rules I configured on that vlan work (for example I can't access the router web interface - from lan I can, and from vlan.20 not).
In wireshark I don't see the 802.1q tag. That's because that is only on the wire between the AP and pfsense, right?
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 11, 2017, 03:11:14 pm
You would not get info from lan on your vlan.20

I do :)

unless its not configured correctly in your switching environment... Ie if connected to dumb switch that doesn't have your vlan.20 setup on it to isolate the layer 2 networks.

No, there is no dumb switch involved here. Just a vlan aware wireless access point and pfsense. Any idea on how to debug this?
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: JKnott on September 11, 2017, 03:47:12 pm
Quote
In wireshark I don't see the 802.1q tag. That's because that is only on the wire between the AP and pfsense, right?

That depends.  If it's connected to an access port that's configured for VLAN 20, yes.  I would assume that would also apply to an access point, except I know better.  My own TP-Link access point does not properly separate the VLAN from native LAN and stuff from the LAN leaks onto the SSID for the VLAN.  Any chance you have a TP-Link access point?

What do you see when you connect to the trunk port?  You should see native LAN traffic, without the VLAN tags and whatever VLANs you have enabled, with appropriate VLAN tags.  Do you see the RAs in the VLAN 20 frames?

One other thing, does your notebook run Linux?  If so, it's easy to set up a VLAN on it.  Then Wireshark can be used to veiw only what's on the VLAN.  Not so easy (as in usually impossible) to do with Windows.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 11, 2017, 04:04:05 pm
That depends.  If it's connected to an access port that's configured for VLAN 20, yes.  I would assume that would also apply to an access point, except I know better.  My own TP-Link access point does not properly separate the VLAN from native LAN and stuff from the LAN leaks onto the SSID for the VLAN.  Any chance you have a TP-Link access point?

It is a TP-Link AP! The EAP245.
You are the best, really.

What do you see when you connect to the trunk port?  You should see native LAN traffic, without the VLAN tags and whatever VLANs you have enabled, with appropriate VLAN tags.  Do you see the RAs in the VLAN 20 frames?

I will try this. I can not do this now, but I suspect you already know the answer :)

One other thing, does your notebook run Linux?  If so, it's easy to set up a VLAN on it.  Then Wireshark can be used to veiw only what's on the VLAN.  Not so easy (as in usually impossible) to do with Windows.

Will try it. But if I connect to the trunk port, and see the correct vlan tags on the ethernet frames, and no RAs with 802.1q tags, I know the AP is the problem.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: Derelict on September 11, 2017, 04:08:21 pm
Quote
My own TP-Link access point does not properly separate the VLAN from native LAN and stuff from the LAN leaks onto the SSID for the VLAN.
Capital-U Ugly. Another quality product from TP-Link.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: JKnott on September 11, 2017, 04:16:47 pm
Quote
My own TP-Link access point does not properly separate the VLAN from native LAN and stuff from the LAN leaks onto the SSID for the VLAN.
Capital-U Ugly. Another quality product from TP-Link.

And capital -GLY!   ;)

I believe it was johnpoz who mentioned a TP-Link managed switch also has problems with VLANs.  I have one of those too, but I just use it for port mirroring with Wireshark.  It works OK for that.  I suspect the TP-Link engineers don't really understand the concept of VLANs.

Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: johnpoz on September 11, 2017, 04:32:11 pm
The problem is you can not remove vlan 1 from any of the interfaces.. Atleast not in the cheaper tp-link "smart" switches..  Did you change the pvid on the ports in your other vlans?
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 11, 2017, 04:39:18 pm
The problem is you can not remove vlan 1 from any of the interfaces.. Atleast not in the cheaper tp-link "smart" switches..  Did you change the pvid on the ports in your other vlans?

I don't have port vlans. The AP has only one ethernet port. And on that port is just tagged and untagged traffic. The vlan ids I use are 20 and 30.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: JKnott on September 11, 2017, 04:43:39 pm
The problem is you can not remove vlan 1 from any of the interfaces.. Atleast not in the cheaper tp-link "smart" switches..  Did you change the pvid on the ports in your other vlans?

I assume you're talking to me.  As I don't use VLANs on that switch, I'm not worried about that problem.  I only use that TP-Link switch for monitoring traffic.  I did this by configuring port 1 to mirror 2 and plugging a computer running Wireshark into port 1.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: JKnott on September 11, 2017, 04:46:03 pm
Quote
I don't have port vlans. The AP has only one ethernet port. And on that port is just tagged and untagged traffic. The vlan ids I use are 20 and 30.

Unplug the cable from the access point and plug it into the notebook where you're running Wireshark.  Look for the frames that include VLAN 20 tags to see if they contain RAs.  Until you look there, we can't be sure of what's happening.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 12, 2017, 01:40:16 pm
What do you see when you connect to the trunk port?  You should see native LAN traffic, without the VLAN tags and whatever VLANs you have enabled, with appropriate VLAN tags.  Do you see the RAs in the VLAN 20 frames?

I will try this. I can not do this now, but I suspect you already know the answer :)

Did it. The ICMPv6 packets don't have the vlan tag.
So the problem is not pFsense sending advertisements on the wrong interface, but the TP-Link router passing vlan tagged packets on an untagged lan.

Any idea on how I could fix this without buying a new AP?
It's not that big of a problem really, those packets do no harm. It's just traffic that should not be there...
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: johnpoz on September 12, 2017, 01:45:01 pm
"but the TP-Link router passing vlan tagged packets on an untagged lan."

What specific tp-link device do you have - make and model.. And how do you have it all connected together?  What configs do you have on its ports for vlans and tags?
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 12, 2017, 01:53:46 pm
"but the TP-Link router passing vlan tagged packets on an untagged lan."

What specific tp-link device do you have - make and model.. And how do you have it all connected together?  What configs do you have on its ports for vlans and tags?

TP-Link router is wrong: it's a TP-Link EAP245 Access Point.
The AP is connected with ethernet to pFsense. On the pFsense side that ethernet port is configured as an interface for

lan has IPv6 configured with a static IPv6 address. RA is configured on that interface. All other interfaces are IPv4 only.

On the AP there are 3 configured SSIDs:

If i connect to Wireless SSID2, I get the ICMPv6 router advertisements from lan.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: Derelict on September 12, 2017, 02:04:14 pm
About the only suggestion I can make on the pfSense side is to also tag the LAN interface, but if the TP-Link AP requires management to be untagged (as so many do) that will probably not be possible.

Or, maybe, make a special management interface that is untagged to the AP with no RA enabled and a separate LAN interface that is tagged with the RA on it.

Just thinking of ways that might possibly work around that broken AP.

Personally, I would discard/return it and get something that works.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: johnpoz on September 12, 2017, 02:11:10 pm
"If i connect to Wireless SSID2, I get the ICMPv6 router advertisements from lan."

And what happens when you connect to SSID3?  Are you also seeing lan RAs?

According to the main site for that eap245 it states
"Supports management VLAN for an enhanced network management"

Have to look at the manual.. But yeah if the traffic is tagged going into the AP it sure and the F should not send the RAs out a vlan SSID..

Are you doing anything with the captive portal of the AP?  Curious if that might have something to do with it??  Are you running the firmware I show on their site? EAP245(US)_V1_161116  says it has fixed some bugs ;)
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 12, 2017, 02:16:11 pm
"If i connect to Wireless SSID2, I get the ICMPv6 router advertisements from lan."

And what happens when you connect to SSID3?  Are you also seeing lan RAs?

Yes, the same.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: johnpoz on September 12, 2017, 02:23:50 pm
ok check this out from their manual..

http://static.tp-link.com/1910012212_EAP_UG.pdf
Wireless VLAN
ID
Set a VLAN ID for the wireless network. It supports maximum 8 VLANs
per frequency band.
With this feature, the EAP can work together with the switches
supporting 802.1Q VLAN. The EAP adds different VLAN tags to the
clients which are connected to the corresponding wireless network. The
clients in different VLANs cannot directly communicate with each other.
VLAN 0 means that the EAP does not add any VLAN tag to the clients
which are connected to this wireless network.

Note: Clients connected to the EAP via Ethernet cable do not belong
to any VLAN. Thus wired client can communicate with all the wireless
clients despite the VLAN settings
.


From that I take this AP is just plain borked!!!  And doesn't care what tags you send into the thing..
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 12, 2017, 02:24:16 pm
"If i connect to Wireless SSID2, I get the ICMPv6 router advertisements from lan."

And what happens when you connect to SSID3?  Are you also seeing lan RAs?

According to the main site for that eap245 it states
"Supports management VLAN for an enhanced network management"

Yes, I could do what Derelict proposes, and transform all my untagged lan traffic in tagged traffic. And add a management vlan for the ap.
But that would be a lot of work, and I'm not even sure if it would work. Maybe it sends ICMPv6 packets across tagged lans as well...

Are you doing anything with the captive portal of the AP?  Curious if that might have something to do with it??  Are you running the firmware I show on their site? EAP245(US)_V1_161116  says it has fixed some bugs ;)

The CP is not active on the AP, and I updated the FW yesterday because I thought the same :)
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: johnpoz on September 12, 2017, 02:26:05 pm
See my last post - quote from their UG... This AP just looks broken when it comes to tags entering the AP from the wired network..
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 12, 2017, 02:30:53 pm
See my last post - quote from their UG... This AP just looks broken when it comes to tags entering the AP from the wired network..

Ok... I throw it in the trash. Any suggestions on AP that supports VLANs and is around 100?
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: johnpoz on September 12, 2017, 02:35:55 pm
I am huge fan of the unifi AP.. Not sure about cost in euro.. But the uap-ac-lite model runs 80$ USD while the pro is $130..

https://www.ubnt.com/unifi/unifi-ac/

I have 3 of them in my house, the Pro, the LR and the lite.... They support vlans, I read on their forums that management vlan is coming if recall.  But currently the management IP of the AP has to be untagged..  I run multiple vlans on them and have never seen any bleed over that is for sure ;)

edit:
When I get home I will fire up my laptop to be sure!!

But I know my wifi devices work for ipv6 so I have to assume they are getting the correct RA ;)
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: Derelict on September 12, 2017, 02:47:20 pm
Probably either Ubiquiti or, maybe, Xclaim if you want NIB. Though the Xclaim simultaneous dual-band AC units get you into the price points of "real" Ruckus APs used. Lots of things available on eBay - at least here in the US.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 14, 2017, 03:08:50 am
Thank you both. I don't like that the ubiquiti don't have a web interface, and that I have to download a management software.

I bought a D-Link DAP-2610.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: johnpoz on September 14, 2017, 04:10:46 am
Dude your going to have more than 1 right... Why would you not control it from the controller software.. Where do you think you get all the bells and whistles from..

Does that even support vlans??  I don't see it listed on the specs...  And says wave 2... BS its not just look at the specs.. Dude you can manage the unifi from your phone if you wont, you don't have to run the controller software..
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 14, 2017, 04:15:17 am
Dude your going to have more than 1 right...

No, just that one.

Why would you not control it from the controller software.. Where do you think you get all the bells and whistles from..

I don't like to install stuff.

Does that even support vlans??  I don't see it listed on the specs...

Yes, I checked the manual a few hundred times before buying :)
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: JKnott on September 14, 2017, 07:08:23 am
Quote
It's not that big of a problem really, those packets do no harm. It's just traffic that should not be there...

I saw this problem years before I started using pfSense.  I used to use openSUSE for my firewall/router.  I was planning on setting up a guest WiFi, when I ran into that problem.

Quote
What specific tp-link device do you have - make and model.. And how do you have it all connected together?  What configs do you have on its ports for vlans and tags?

I have the TP-Link TL-WA901ND.
Title: Re: Router Advertisements on interfaces it is not configured
Post by: pox on September 22, 2017, 04:38:48 pm
Thank you both. I don't like that the ubiquiti don't have a web interface, and that I have to download a management software.

I bought a D-Link DAP-2610.

Just for the record: with the D-Link AP everything works as expected.
Never again TP-Link.