pfSense Forum

pfSense English Support => General Questions => Topic started by: luke1018 on February 01, 2018, 08:29:46 pm

Title: Identify and setting of Gateways
Post by: luke1018 on February 01, 2018, 08:29:46 pm
Hi all, would like to know more about setting up a Gateway.

Currently, I have a Gateway which is ACTIVE - WAN DHCP. But my other LANs DHCP are currently showing "Offline" or "Pending".

May I know how should I know which is the correct Gateway I should enter and where can I find the Information from? Besides, I also notice there are some status stated "Pending" what does that means.

Title: Re: Identify and setting of Gateways
Post by: viragomann on February 02, 2018, 11:19:22 am
Why have you set a gateway on the other interfaces than WAN?
If you don't know, go to the interface setting and set "Upstream gateway" to "none".

On WAN it seems you only get an IPv4 address from the DHCP. Obviously there is no IPv6 network connected to the interface. So set the "IPv6 Configuration" to "none" to get rid of the Pending-massage.
Title: Re: Identify and setting of Gateways
Post by: johnpoz on February 02, 2018, 11:24:34 am
Where exactly is 10.0.109.2 a gateway too? or 10.0.109.50??

AS viragomann stated your lans should not have gateway.. Only interfaces you use to get to other networks, like the internet would have a gateway.. Sure you could have a downstream router that gets you to other networks, even the internet but that connection would be considered a wan or transit.. not a lan type of network.. No clients would be on such a network, etc..
Title: Re: Identify and setting of Gateways
Post by: luke1018 on February 07, 2018, 08:21:39 pm
Why have you set a gateway on the other interfaces than WAN?
If you don't know, go to the interface setting and set "Upstream gateway" to "none".

On WAN it seems you only get an IPv4 address from the DHCP. Obviously there is no IPv6 network connected to the interface. So set the "IPv6 Configuration" to "none" to get rid of the Pending-massage.

Hi, i am trying to set and monitor 2 different network. The 192.168.76.2 is my VM IP, while the other 2 are gateway of my 2 servers. (Default Gateway) Trying to tab onto the network and monitor servers on those subnet.

Is this approach correct?
Title: Re: Identify and setting of Gateways
Post by: Derelict on February 07, 2018, 09:19:42 pm
Fine. put a gateway and a monitor IP address on LAN but don't set a gateway on the LAN interface itself.

If it is showing down that means it is not responding to ping. You can only monitor addresses that reliably respond to ping.