pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense  (Read 14383 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2016, 09:59:43 am »
Hello,

Managed to get it working. One thing to add to the above instruction from Mech:-

  • Your DNS must be set to BT's DNS, I was using google DNS
The problem I have now is that I can not use the internet when watching a IPTV channel. BT Sport HD Europe is taking up about 8 - 10 Mb of bandwidth when watching it. I am on a 45 Mb connection. When watching the IPTV channel I can not do anything else on the internet, timeouts, errors, pages just not loading.

Any ideas as to what the cause could be?


Good find on the DNS.  I didn't even think to check that.


My only guess could be that your switch doesn't do IGMP snooping and so that traffic is being broadcast to all ports and swamping your switch.  Doesn't seem very likely though.  If that doesn't work you might be better off starting a new thread and asking there.


Cheers.

Offline AndyK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2016, 08:34:33 am »
Looking for some ideas. Having read about Mech's success in getting this working I thought I'd try.

I have my BT Openreach HG612 VDSL modem connected to my pfSense box.
I started with a vanilla install of pfSense.
I started by configuring a PPPoE connection and the default/quick setup.
I now have a working LAN that I can access the internet from. All good.
I am using BT's DNS on pfSense as configured by their DHCP servers - again everything default.
So next I setup the secondary connection to the HG612 as described by Mech in an earlier post.
The configuration BT uses call for two logical connections on one physical interface:
1. PPPoE for Internet
2. Multicast
Then I set up IGMP proxy, again following the recipe described by Mech - with one small exception: the default LAN IP is 192.168.1.x which is what I am using, so I use 192.168.1.1/24 in the IGMP Downstream.
Now I add a rule to the firewall, again as Mech describes to pass UDP on port 5802.

So this all ought to work... but I still get the dreaded IPC6023 error on the set-top box.

Looking at the firewall log, it was blocking some IGMP traffic from 0.0.0.0 to 224.0.0.1 so I added a rule to pass this on the IPTV interface. This removed the blocked packets from the log, but does not allow the Set Top box to work.

What have I missed? What else can I check or try?

Any ideas greatly appreciated.

Andrew




Offline rootifera

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2016, 05:56:12 am »
Hello,

I've followed the instructions above but I couldn't get it working.
 
I have a BT Youview ultraHD box and an PC Engines Apu2c4 device with pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE (amd64) on it.

I have 3 network interfaces;

igb0 : WAN (pppoe)
igb1 : LAN
igb2 : IPTV

Here's the configuration I've set :

https://gyazo.com/ab1d7e5472e2d93c5386625f640c8d96
https://gyazo.com/08c10df137b7ee5bb149450f2306f701
https://gyazo.com/466688bfc4ed35065513900974ac2195

On my TV I'm getting "Can't Connect to the Internet" error message at the moment. YouView box is connected to igb2 interface.

Can you please help?

Thanks
Omur

Edit: Do I need to do anything on youview box? I still don't understand how it would get internet from igb2 interface.

Offline Mech

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2016, 04:18:54 pm »
Hello,

I've followed the instructions above but I couldn't get it working.
 


Hey, before I take a look at your exact configuration, it's worth pointing out that in the latest versions of pfSense they've broken IGMP proxy when using vlans, take a look at this issue on the bug tracker: https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/6099


So I'm still on version 2.2.6 until this regression is fixed.


Are you using vlans at all?


Cheers

Offline simpic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2016, 03:59:53 am »
Updates added to earlier post with extra step and warning around latest versions of pfSense.

Offline robbo1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #20 on: December 09, 2016, 12:05:46 pm »
Thought it might be useful to mention that this approach also works perfectly with YouView TV from Plusnet.

The only issue I had with the instructions was when setting up the IPTV interface and putting a value into the MAC address field caused my connection to stop working. I found that leaving the MAC address blank worked with no problems.

UPDATE:
The setup works with 2.2.6.
It does NOT work with 2.3.X.
It does work with 2.4.0.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2017, 10:21:35 am by robbo1 »

Offline ProxyMoron

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2017, 02:58:15 pm »
Just an update for anyone else that finds this.

I found the above instructions would NOT work for my BT UltraHD youview box and that i also needed another pass rule on the IPTV Wan interface we create.

This should allow IPV4 IGMP, from a source of any, to destination of network 224.0.0.0/4 (with Advanced Options -> "Allow packets with IP options to pass. Otherwise they are blocked by default. This is usually only seen with multicast traffic" ticked) otherwise the picture would drop out after 4 minutes.

In addition i found i did NOT need to use BT's DNS servers - you mileage may vary.

Finally, If your STILL having problems try https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/6099#note-112, but this should be fixed as of version 2.4 and I personally did not need it.

Offline simpic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #22 on: September 02, 2017, 05:23:31 am »
Hello,

I have had IPTV on BT working perfectly on version 2.2.6 of PFSense for a while now.

I have waited for v2.4RC and created a brand new install to test it out. It's configured exactly the same as the 2.2.6 install.

Nothing, I don't even think it can see the multicast traffic from the WAN.

Is there any thing I should do different in 2.4?

Any ideas?


Offline hpmueller

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #23 on: September 02, 2017, 08:28:43 am »
Hello,

I have had IPTV on BT working perfectly on version 2.2.6 of PFSense for a while now.

[...]

Is there any thing I should do different in 2.4?

Not sure if you're using VLANs, but if thats the case, the IGMP Proxy is broken since 2.3.0 if you use it on VLAN interfaces....

Offline casualsix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #24 on: September 02, 2017, 09:33:32 am »
I've got it working on SG-2220 hardware, on version 2.3 and 2.4rc , on both none vlan and vlan. Just making sure you pass IGMP with IP options enabled firewall rule for your interface . Following the instructions in this post.

Offline Jimbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #25 on: October 02, 2017, 07:07:26 am »
Hi All,

I'm having a problem getting this to work using VLAN.

I'm using version: 2.3.4

Is the IGMP proxy broken when using it on a VLAN over a NIC?

Offline casualsix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #26 on: October 02, 2017, 07:44:34 am »
It's works also with that version, and over vlan.

Make sure you're Firewall rule is passing IGMP on your Lan interface to the Youview, with IP Options enabled!!!!!!.

If your Network switch can toggle Multicast IGMP snooping on and off try both to see if that makes any difference.

Try Restarting the IGMP server after any changes, I've found this is needed in some scenarios.

Post your settings so I can check and advise????

Offline Jimbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2017, 08:04:36 am »
Hi casualsix,

Thank you for your fast reply.

Please see attached screen shots of my settings. Hopefully these will make more sense than my typing.

I really appreciate any help as the other half isn't happy...


Offline casualsix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2017, 08:23:04 am »
Hi,
Not sure you need all the NAT-OUT rules for the BT Vision, mine doesn't need it.

Firewall rules look O.K to me.

Can you screenshot the interface assignments please(hide the mac add's).

I take it your hardwired between your vlan interface and the BT Vision/Youview box, as I've found some wifi configs block multicasting?

Also have you used the test stream rtp://234.81.130.4:5802 with VLC player on your PC?

What does your System > General Logging say? IGMP system messages

Offline Jimbo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPTV IGMP multicast problems with BT YouView on pfSense
« Reply #29 on: October 02, 2017, 09:09:29 am »
casualsix,

Thank you for taking the time to look through my config.

I've tried VLC streaming on the same network as the BT Vision box and via another LAN. Both just show no image and no seconds counting on the video time.

I created the NAT rules as before the BT Vision box couldn't connect to the internet at all.

The BT Vision box is hired wired straight into the TP-LINK TL-SG108 with IGMP snooping enabled.

I can only see one entry from this morning UK BST time in the system general log regarding IGMPproxy: Oct 2 10:45:49    igmpproxy    73792    select() failure; Errno(4): Interrupted system call

Please see attached interface assignments.

Thank you for taking the time to help.