pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: DHCP Server  (Read 1934 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline staticelement

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
DHCP Server
« on: October 09, 2015, 12:16:41 pm »
Can anyone else replicate this?

When settings LAN interface to 10.0.0.1/8 DHCP server refuses to start.

I'm not sure where to look to find out why. The system logs section doesn't report anything anywhere, not even under DHCP.

Offline heper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Karma: +253/-11
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Server
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2015, 12:51:41 pm »
no clue but dhcpd probably thinking something like "oh boy ... imma get kicked in da nutz really really hard - i'm outta here"

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21373
  • Karma: +1431/-26
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Server
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2015, 01:47:03 pm »
Did it work on 2.2.4?
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline cmb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11230
  • Karma: +893/-7
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: DHCP Server
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2015, 02:51:54 pm »
Probably because you left something other than 10.x.x.x as the scope? The DHCP and/or system logs will have something explaining why where dhcpd fails to start.

Offline Zermus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DHCP Server
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2015, 05:12:37 pm »
When settings LAN interface to 10.0.0.1/8

Well that's just a broadcast storm waiting to happen.