pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Gigabit PPPoE?  (Read 2626 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline robi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 966
  • Karma: +75/-2
    • View Profile
Gigabit PPPoE?
« on: October 16, 2015, 12:51:04 pm »
Guys, have you considered including the fix for PPPoE being handled on a single thread?
https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=100900.msg562791#msg562791
https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/4821

It's mislabeled as "feature", while it's clearly a bug. Newest 8-core Atoms can't handle Gigabit speeds because of this...

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21402
  • Karma: +1433/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Gigabit PPPoE?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2015, 09:12:13 am »
The patch needs to be put into FreeBSD and then brought back into 10-STABLE before we can pick something like that up. And even then that only fixes one driver (igb) it's not a general fix. Advocate to FreeBSD directly to try getting it in.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline derringer66

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Gigabit PPPoE?
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2015, 12:47:26 am »
Guys, have you considered including the fix for PPPoE being handled on a single thread?
https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=100900.msg562791#msg562791
https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/4821

It's mislabeled as "feature", while it's clearly a bug. Newest 8-core Atoms can't handle Gigabit speeds because of this...

Yeah and don't use any of the ADI/Netgate/or pfSense rebranded routers if you're using Gigabit PPPoE, they all use the crappy igb drivers :(

I had to build an i5 box to support it with the em drivers, works like a charm with all *bsd routing platforms.

Offline cmb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11230
  • Karma: +893/-7
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Gigabit PPPoE?
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2015, 02:40:30 pm »
Yeah and don't use any of the ADI/Netgate/or pfSense rebranded routers if you're using Gigabit PPPoE, they all use the crappy igb drivers :(

I had to build an i5 box to support it with the em drivers, works like a charm with all *bsd routing platforms.

There's nothing crappy about igb. In fact it's better than em. The faster CPU is why your i5 box is faster, it's probably slightly slower (lower top end achievable throughput) for having em rather than igb.

Offline David_W

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
  • Karma: +74/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Gigabit PPPoE?
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2015, 04:01:14 am »
Yeah and don't use any of the ADI/Netgate/or pfSense rebranded routers if you're using Gigabit PPPoE, they all use the crappy igb drivers :(

I had to build an i5 box to support it with the em drivers, works like a charm with all *bsd routing platforms.

There's nothing crappy about igb. In fact it's better than em.

Broadly speaking, igb supports newer / higher end Intel Gigabit adapters, and em supports older / lower end Intel Gigabit adapters. The driver was split somewhere around five years ago, as it was hard to support NICs with such a wide spread of architectural differences and offloading features in a single driver.

I'll take an igb over an em any day.