Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano  (Read 52375 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Warhol

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #135 on: December 02, 2017, 02:05:03 pm »
Thanks a lot to TheNarc for posting the compiled module!

I tried it with pfSense 2.4.2 on a ZBOX CI327:

  • The module does load! :)
  • However, I had to set loader options opposite to what TheNarc suggested:
    • hw.re.msi_disable=0
    • hw.pci.enable_msi=1
    • hw.pci.enable_msix=1


With the options set otherwise, I experienced weird behaviour - either the boot hangs completely, or the system comes up (VGA console visible, bootup-tune plays), but then neither USB-keyboard nor network I/O is working, preventing all access to the running system.

Offline rek5

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #136 on: December 02, 2017, 10:08:11 pm »
Thanks a lot to TheNarc for posting the compiled module!

I tried it with pfSense 2.4.2 on a ZBOX CI327:

  • The module does load! :)
  • However, I had to set loader options opposite to what TheNarc suggested:
    • hw.re.msi_disable=0
    • hw.pci.enable_msi=1
    • hw.pci.enable_msix=1


With the options set otherwise, I experienced weird behaviour - either the boot hangs completely, or the system comes up (VGA console visible, bootup-tune plays), but then neither USB-keyboard nor network I/O is working, preventing all access to the running system.

I will try out these settings on my 327 and report back.

Offline TheNarc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #137 on: December 05, 2017, 09:30:57 am »
I have the older CI323, so it definitely sounds like the CI327 uses a different Realtek chipset than the CI323.  I found a post on a different forum that seems to confirm this, but not what the two chipsets actually are:  https://forums.untangle.com/hardware/38992-zotac-zbox-nano-intel-n3150-3160-3450-comments.html.

If you run the command pciconf -l on pfSense, either via SSH or the web configuration page (Diagnostics > Command Prompt), you'll get a bunch of output that includes two lines that begin with re (one each for re0 and re1).  On those lines there should be a chip= field.  On my CI323 this field is chip=0x816810ec, which I have to assume means that the chipset in the CI323 is the RTL8168.  Running this on a CI327 should reveal its chipset.

Mind you, I don't claim that knowing the chipset will necessarily provide any useful or actionable information, but at least it's good to know ;)

Offline bgbird03

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #138 on: December 05, 2017, 09:34:08 am »
Yeah, I guess I've got the same thing. My output is (from the web command prompt):

re0@pci0:2:0:0:   class=0x020000 card=0x012310ec chip=0x816810ec rev=0x0c hdr=0x00
re1@pci0:3:0:0:   class=0x020000 card=0x012310ec chip=0x816810ec rev=0x0c hdr=0x00

So...good to know that when TheNarc posts a driver update/compilation, it will work with mine :)

Offline Warhol

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #139 on: December 07, 2017, 02:00:42 pm »
With TheNarc's driver module, my CI327 box is now up and stable since 5 days. I'll call this a huge success! Before, it used to crash within 24 hours. :)

Also I can confirm bgbird03's hardware ID for the CI327:
Code: [Select]
# pciconf -l | grep ^re
re0@pci0:2:0:0: class=0x020000 card=0x012310ec chip=0x816810ec rev=0x0c hdr=0x00
re1@pci0:3:0:0: class=0x020000 card=0x012310ec chip=0x816810ec rev=0x0c hdr=0x00

What would be a good place / good way for a concise write-up about Zotac boxes? Including the driver and loader options CI323 vs CI327, harware ID etc. Right now it's bits and pieces scattered through this thread. A sticky somehow?

The doc wiki sounds like a natural place for this kind of write-up, but it seems not to be as open as this forum for signing up to edit.

Offline xciter327

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #140 on: December 13, 2017, 02:10:14 pm »
Just reporting my CI323 nano is also stable for many days now with latest from TheNarc. Also experiences issues when fiddling with the MSI/MSIX parameters. It either did not work and had no adapters or only one was working. This prevented the config from applying. Currently sticking with defaults.


Side questions:
I am guessing people are running this box with the offloading features disabled?

Offline TheNarc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +24/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #141 on: December 15, 2017, 11:00:19 am »
I've definitely always run with the offloading features disabled.  From what I've heard anecdotally (though I don't claim to be any sort of expert on the subject) Realtek chipsets in particular are notorious for incorrectly implementing the functionality that handles that offloading.  Now, I also don't know whether the offloading occurs in silicon, the driver, or some combination of the two.  So it may be worth trying using the latest 1.94 driver (the binary I posted before).  But only if you're not running anything mission-critical and realize that it will most likely cause problems.

Offline jovimon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #142 on: January 03, 2018, 12:36:17 pm »
After reading through this thread and looking up some information on the Internet, I compiled a little "for dummies" guide to compile the Realtek Driver in FreeBSD, so you can use it in pfSense.

You can find it here:

https://gist.github.com/jovimon/524e116471f249626fd2ccd141f3fe05

Offline duren

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #143 on: January 09, 2018, 07:52:27 am »
Yeah I had 2.3.2 embedded on my 323 for a long time and it was rock solid, then I decided to upgrade, upgraded itself to 2.3.4 and was botched so I loaded the key with a fresh 2.3.4 and restored config, worked like a charm except I started to experience the instability mentioned in this thread. I went to 2.4.2 on an SSD, instability continued, until replacing the Realtek driver.

I'm not sure what changed since 2.3.2 but this driver appears to be a requirement now.

Big thanks to TheNarc for saving me compilation time.

Offline NewJoker

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #144 on: January 09, 2018, 01:24:48 pm »
Just needed to give a huge "Thank you", to OP TheNarc and the following support throughout this thread. this was the biggest issue I have had since starting with pfsense.

Offline thekorn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #145 on: January 30, 2018, 07:03:17 pm »
Another thank-you to TheNarc!  Upgraded my internet connection from 155Mbps to 350Mbps and immediately started having resets.  So far so good, happy pushing 350Mbps through with 1.94!  (pfsense 2.4.2)

Didn't do any of the msi options at all, just loaded the new driver and hit reboot.