pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano  (Read 46195 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline messerchmidt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 306
  • Karma: +11/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #60 on: July 25, 2016, 11:04:18 pm »
I just bought this box specifically to replace a EdgeRouter (ERPoE-5) which barely did anything...

So I have downloaded the AMD64 (64-bit) with USB Memstick and VGA as my options the SHA256 checksum was a match and I used PowerISO to create a bootable USB drive.

Only option changed in BIOs was to Boot Mode - Legacy,
8GB Ram Crucial
180GB Intel 520 SSD

Running Installer on a 64GB PYN USB 3.0 Drive
It boots up fine, installer runs:
[Enter] for multi user mode
- I get a timeout here shown in IMG_3354.JPG

to install
[Accept all Settings]
[Easy/Default]
Failure of command Here
Shown in IMG_3357.JPG
Details shown in IMG_3358.JPG

SOLVED: Took 180GB SSD and reformatted it to DOS, then re-inserted and ran installer.  Worked perfectly as previously stated on pfSense 2.3

format it in a pc and then load pf sense and everything is fixed? getting the same errors.

Offline duren

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #61 on: July 27, 2016, 04:24:04 pm »
format it in a pc and then load pf sense and everything is fixed? getting the same errors.

I used Rufus and never had any issues. https://rufus.akeo.ie/

Offline speeddragon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #62 on: August 12, 2016, 03:13:15 pm »
This machine just arrived to install pfsense, after 2 years ago my alix2d13 died on me :(

I was wondering, it worth going to dual channel ? I was thinking in just put a dimm of 8GB instead of 2x4GB.

Thanks

Offline kss18

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #63 on: August 15, 2016, 11:09:03 pm »
Yes, the Dell DW1707 wireless card works (paid $5.00 on ebay). I have since got a second identical unit that is ready to be put into production.

I have also got this Zbox with pfsense 2.3.2 talking to a Tomato Shibby router via OpenVPN with shared key -- both bridged and routed -- using the cookbook recipes. Thanks for the overall good documentation!

Hard to beat the specs on Zotac CI323 nano for the price, even after adding 8GB memory, new wi-fi card, and 120GB SSD. My only wish would be that it used Intel instead of Realtek eth.

Offline speeddragon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #64 on: October 13, 2016, 07:03:13 pm »
Has anyone having some issues with controller timeout ?

With an SSD I can't even install pfSense (installing Ubuntu and Windows 10 was fine), but changing to a normal HDD, the controller timeout still occurs, although i have successfully installed pfSense.

Offline kss18

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #65 on: October 23, 2016, 01:08:28 pm »
Yes, I see SDHCI controller timeout ~15 times at boot time. Beyond the annoyance of a longish boot time, I have not noticed anything else. There was an opnsense forum thread that said this occurs because there is no SD card in the slot, I have not verified it.

I just upgraded a Zotac box with Dell DW1707 wireless card to 2.4, and the wireless interface is no longer being recognized. Have to dig deeper why it worked find in 2.3.2 but not in 2.4. Anyone else see this behavior?

Offline laapsaap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #66 on: November 18, 2016, 06:28:37 pm »
So why are people still buying this for pfSense when the realtek nics clearly has problems? I mean stable nics are like the most important thing here.

Offline kss18

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #67 on: November 20, 2016, 10:23:25 am »

I think you misread my post -- The realtek NICs in Zotac may have problems but do work out of the box for ETH LAN and WAN connectivity.

The Dell DW1707 is a wireless card based on Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565, which works fine in pfSense 2.3. This card is not being recognized by 2.4 so far. Not sure if this is my problem or a bug.

Offline cohomology

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #68 on: November 23, 2016, 10:13:49 am »
I am thinking of getting this box to replace my aging watchguard. Since this board has an m.2 slot, I'm wondering if anyone has tried to hook up an m.2 ssd?

Offline Doboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #69 on: November 23, 2016, 04:04:33 pm »
I am thinking of getting this box to replace my aging watchguard. Since this board has an m.2 slot, I'm wondering if anyone has tried to hook up an m.2 ssd?

Well i have been having nothing but troubles with the realtek nics, see my post in general help.. under load they crash at random times.. no WAN IP.. have to reboot.

Offline tcarlisle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #70 on: December 10, 2016, 08:20:37 am »
I wanted to relay my experience and findings in this thread. I am running pfSense on the Zotac ZBOX without issues. The nics are realtek, and I am not seeing any issues or unreliability and push them both well above 400mbps for extended periods.

That being said, I did go the route of installing ESX 6 and injecting the realtek driver into the image, etc.  but that did not work out well at all. It worked, but the network throughput was very poor and there was no logical explanation for it. The switch ports showed a 1GB full duplex connection, ESX showed it was 1000mbps full, and pfSense reported the same, but throughput just wasn't there. I ran like this a while because the problem was not very impacting because I was on a 60mbps internet plan. I did notice issues on my internal net, like my HD video cameras were getting 2 to 5 frames per second -- they are all hardwired, not wireless. .

But when I upgraded the internet plan to 200mbps, the issue was obvious and impacting. On average I got 75mbps, but it peaked to 130 and dropped to under 30 at times.

After de-virtualizing the pfSense by removing ESX, installing pfSense from the latest install image, and restored by configuration that I saved. Following that, I get 200mbps consistently and all my networked cameras are at 8-10 fps.

I did a lot of diagnostics and tinkering, trying to get the ESX 6 & pfSense combination to work, but came to the conclusion that there is a reason the N3150 and/or the realtek drivers are not certified by vmWare, and this is probably why.

Offline mlowijs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #71 on: December 29, 2016, 06:52:03 am »
I wanted to relay my experience and findings in this thread. I am running pfSense on the Zotac ZBOX without issues. The nics are realtek, and I am not seeing any issues or unreliability and push them both well above 400mbps for extended periods.

So did you disable hardware offloading? Am thinking of getting the CI323 as a router on a 500/500 fiber connection.

Offline Doboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #72 on: December 30, 2016, 07:17:48 am »
After a few weeks of trying to fix it i think i finally have my zotac box stable, no "watchdog timeout" and loss of WAN IP under heavy load in about 4 days. Longest run ever.

Need to test for a longer period of time for stability , but what i did was compile the latest realtek freeBSD drive (1.92) and load it on start up using kldload. Seems ok for now.

Before all this NOTHING was working stable. Always crashed on the WAN ip (watchdog timeout) no matter what interface it was assigned to (re0 - re1)

Offline cinnamon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #73 on: December 30, 2016, 09:13:04 pm »
After a few weeks of trying to fix it i think i finally have my zotac box stable, no "watchdog timeout" and loss of WAN IP under heavy load in about 4 days. Longest run ever.

Hi Doboy,

Could you describe this issue more to me? I'm not sure i understand, how would one know if connection is dropping out? I haven't experienced anything like this. However i do experience a weird issue sometimes where network traffic would come to a halt for couple of seconds, the WAN doesn't seem to be dropping. I think this issue started appearing after i installed pfblocker and added some lists, i'm also running av scan on traffic through squid on 850 evo SSD. Without these packages i haven't had these issues.

Can you tell me how to check for this watchdog timeout dropout issue and how you compiled a new driver etc. Thanks.

Offline cinnamon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zotac ZBOX CI323 nano
« Reply #74 on: December 30, 2016, 09:25:48 pm »
Have you guys updated the BIOS yet?

https://www.zotac.com/us/files/download/by_product?p_nid=501278&driver_type=238&os=All

I don't understand the latest changes.

Can anyone try to to explain?

Version 2K161012
- Changed memory slot power (when AC Power attached)
- Fixed ME / TXE disabled (when Deep Sleep S5 enabled)