pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Outbound Load Balancing is replaced.  (Read 30194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline databeestje

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Outbound Load Balancing is replaced.
« on: July 16, 2008, 03:40:51 am »
The previously used outbound load balancing has been replaced by "Gateway Groups". See the System -> Routing Menu to find it.

The load balancing menu item now refers to server load balancing only which is now done by relayd as opposed to slbd.


EDIT: 2.0 Multi-WAN guide on the doc wiki: http://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Multi-WAN_2.0
« Last Edit: June 30, 2011, 02:09:06 pm by jimp »

Offline databeestje

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing is replaced.
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2008, 04:12:08 pm »
In 2.0 you need to add all the gateways in the system under System -> Routing -> Gateways Tab.

After adding all the gateways you can then create a gateway group on the Gateway Group Tab. Set a priority for each wan connection that you want to have participate in each pool.

Then assign this gateway group to a firewall rule (generally the LAN rule).

Description of how tiers work on the Gateway Groups Screen.

This might be best explained by viewing you configuration on the Status -> Gateways -> Gateway Groups tab.

All gateways within the same tier will load balance.
When all gateways in the tier are down we will use the next tier with a gateway.

For example, when you want to load balance WAN1, WAN2 and use WAN3 if all else fails, then:
WAN1 Tier 1
WAN2 Tier 1
WAN3 Tier 2

When You want to load balance WAN1, WAN2 and WAN3, then:
WAN1 Tier 1
WAN2 Tier 1
WAN3 Tier 1

When You want to failover from WAN 1, to load balancing WAN2 and WAN3, then:
WAN1 Tier 1
WAN2 Tier 2
WAN3 Tier 2

I hope this explains.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2011, 12:19:23 am by cmb »

Offline databeestje

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing is replaced.
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2008, 04:13:24 pm »
The load balancer item for the dashboard is for the server side load balancing. Not the new gateway groups.

There is only a gateways status dashboard item, if you want to see the detailed gateway groups status you can select the Gateway Groups Tab on the Status -> Gateways menu.

Offline databeestje

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: Outbound Load Balancing is replaced.
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2008, 03:24:13 pm »
You should now be able to build gateway groups easy with dynamic interfaces.

The status gateways page, and status gateways groups page should list your dynamic interfaces.
A gateways widget is also available.

Feedback is sought here.