Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms  (Read 2846 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TonyStone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +3/-1
    • View Profile
Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« on: February 13, 2016, 02:42:54 pm »
So there is a couple features I would like to see.  In my opinion they should be pretty easy to implement.  I want the option to display the CPU temps in either fahrenheit or celsius.  I would also like to have it trigger a couple types of alarms.  One alarm option should be to send an email and the other should be to start playing a tone through the PC speaker if installed.

I also noticed that some of the features people have implemented have not been included with upgrades to future versions of pfSense.  I want to have some assurance that this option will not need to be reimplemented on each upgrade or I guess I would want this to be designed as an extra installable package.  I am willing to spend about $75.00 $125.00 on this as of right now.  I am willing to negotiate.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2016, 07:57:17 pm by TonyStone »

Offline arthurbrownleeiv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2016, 02:10:20 pm »
Bump.

Offline luckman212

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
    • @luckman212 - github
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2016, 10:14:26 pm »
I'd kick in $50 to this too... that brings it up to 175??

Offline Finger79

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2017, 11:08:00 pm »
I'll kick in $20 just for the Fahrenheit option.

I looked at the code, but I'm a noob with PHP (looks similar to JavaScript though) and a noob with building pfSense.  The conversion from C to F is simple.  I think what looks challenging (to me, as a noob) is to update the GUI System Preferences (maybe in Advanced?  where would the Celsius/Fahrenheit setting look best?) as well as updating the Dashboard with the new F temperature(s) and all the Temp widgets.  Plus that colored meter goes from 0 - 100 degrees C = 0 - 100% so it'd have to be tuned to Fahrenheit as well....so 32 - 212 F?
« Last Edit: April 26, 2017, 11:12:49 pm by Finger79 »

Offline doktornotor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8553
  • Karma: +956/-278
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2017, 01:39:57 pm »
Do NOT PM for help!

Offline loonylion

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2017, 09:53:27 am »
Is this still wanted? I've put something together but cant find a way to test the package installing. Don't want it released for public consumption without more testing.

Offline Teken

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2017, 05:08:10 pm »
Very interested in this will this even happen??

Offline loonylion

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2017, 05:15:52 pm »
The OP has never responded to me. The work is done but I've still not found any way to test the install process.

Offline Finger79

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2017, 06:47:34 pm »
If Fahrenheit is selected, I'd like to only see Fahrenheit in the UI, not both.

Offline loonylion

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2017, 07:04:31 pm »
If Fahrenheit is selected, I'd like to only see Fahrenheit in the UI, not both.

That's a heck of a lot more complicated to achieve because the system uses Celsius internally. This is a very minor modification to the UI files that does the conversion live and displays the result

Offline miken32

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Website
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2017, 03:53:29 pm »
https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/pull/3891

This patch adds a preference to the thermal sensors widget, which is also read by the system information widget.

Notification is the job of a network monitoring system, not pfSense. (Your pfSense can't email you about high temperatures if its CPU is a puddle of molten slag!)

Offline Finger79

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2017, 06:16:02 pm »
https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/pull/3891

This patch adds a preference to the thermal sensors widget, which is also read by the system information widget.

Notification is the job of a network monitoring system, not pfSense. (Your pfSense can't email you about high temperatures if its CPU is a puddle of molten slag!)


Looks awesome, sir!  Hope they merge the PR.

Was curious, maybe a quick Find & Replace:
* getCelciusValue() --> getCelsiusValue()
* celc --> cels

Offline miken32

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Website
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2017, 02:30:27 pm »
https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/pull/3891

This patch adds a preference to the thermal sensors widget, which is also read by the system information widget.

Notification is the job of a network monitoring system, not pfSense. (Your pfSense can't email you about high temperatures if its CPU is a puddle of molten slag!)


Looks awesome, sir!  Hope they merge the PR.

Was curious, maybe a quick Find & Replace:
* getCelciusValue() --> getCelsiusValue()
* celc --> cels

LOL I was paying too much attention to spelling Fahrenheit correctly that I messed up the easy one!

Offline miken32

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
    • Website
Re: Temperature Fahrenheit /Celsius Option and Alarms
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2017, 02:38:57 pm »
And since this is the bounty forum, if any of the original requesters want to step up, it would be accepted gratefully.

https://www.paypal.me/miken32

or if you're Canadian, email money transfer works better; my username at eire.ca.