pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: NEW Monitoring graph  (Read 28828 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2016, 03:01:27 pm »
See one post above...I was looking at it for so long I forgot it was there.

I also forgot to take some troubleshooting code out, so depending on how soon you upgrade you might see it at the top  :-\

It won't be in the next snapshot though.

And speaking of OpenVPN interfaces, I am cleaning up their names in the dropdown now.

edit: I just bumped the version so the next one will also be showing VPN Users and friendly names for the OpenVPN servers. (as well as remove the stuff at the top)
« Last Edit: March 04, 2016, 04:06:08 pm by jdillard »

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2016, 04:09:47 pm »
black font is hard to read in dark theme

I had it working for a while, but something happened with the CSS, I plan on looking into it today.

There was a missing bracket in the CSS. I just pushed the fix.

Offline heper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Karma: +253/-11
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2016, 04:44:24 pm »
Code: [Select]
Version 2.3-BETA (i386)
built on Fri Mar 04 10:20:14 CST 2016
FreeBSD 10.3-RC1

Code: [Select]
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/www/status_monitoring.php on line 150 Call Stack: 0.0004 118996 1. {main}() /usr/local/www/status_monitoring.php:0 Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/www/status_monitoring.php on line 124 Call Stack: 0.0004 118996 1. {main}() /usr/local/www/status_monitoring.php:0 Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/www/status_monitoring.php on line 200 Call Stack: 0.0004 118996 1. {main}() /usr/local/www/status_monitoring.php:0

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2016, 04:53:48 pm »
Arg, ...so many test cases...so many VMs. Thanks heper! I think I just need to throw in some if statements for the openvpn stuff.

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #19 on: March 04, 2016, 04:55:28 pm »
 
Min: 0%
Avg: 1%
Max: 0%
See attached image.
 
I must have been daydreaming when that was being covered.  Could someone please tutor me before the test.
 

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #20 on: March 04, 2016, 05:15:26 pm »

Min: 0%
Avg: 1%
Max: 0%
See attached image.
 
I must have been daydreaming when that was being covered.  Could someone please tutor me before the test.

I forget why we decided to put that code in, but I just took it back out.

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #21 on: March 05, 2016, 03:31:32 pm »
 
I must have been daydreaming again when this was being covered too.  Could some please tutor me before the test?
How can the standard deviation be greater than the maximum value of the data set?
 
Probe Interval: 15000 (15 seconds)
Alert Interval: 15000 (15 seconds)
All others default
 
dpinger output:
Code: [Select]
loss: 0, delay: .0095890, stddev: .0079330
loss: 0, delay: .0091930, stddev: .0081340
loss: 0, delay: .0092940, stddev: .0080790
loss: 0, delay: .0097080, stddev: .0078550
loss: 0, delay: .1656320, stddev: .2779040
loss: 0, delay: .1651380, stddev: .2781920
loss: 0, delay: .1653530, stddev: .2780680
loss: 0, delay: .1652700, stddev: .2781160
loss: 0, delay: .0046320, stddev: .0013230
loss: 0, delay: .0055140, stddev: .0006520
loss: 0, delay: .0056070, stddev: .0007150
loss: 0, delay: .0052770, stddev: .0008860

Also see attached quality graph image.
 
 
2.3-BETA (i386)
built on Fri Mar 04 19:46:06 CST 2016
 

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2433
  • Karma: +146/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2016, 06:17:47 pm »
I have a Nano install on a retired ALIX for testing 2.3
Problem is that I don't see any RRD graphs there (no menu entry to select), is that correct? I'm on a built from Feb 4th.
The old traffic graphs in the dashboard are still there, though.
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline virgiliomi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 554
  • Karma: +74/-4
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #23 on: March 05, 2016, 06:28:12 pm »
I have a Nano install on a retired ALIX for testing 2.3
Problem is that I don't see any RRD graphs there (no menu entry to select), is that correct? I'm on a built from Feb 4th.
The old traffic graphs in the dashboard are still there, though.
Correct, the RRD graphs have been replaced with this new monitoring graph (Status menu > Monitoring). This graph is more dynamic, lets you turn off elements you don't want, and also allows you to show two sets of data at once. (compare interfaces, look at more data for one interface, etc.).

RRD is still collecting the data that is presented in this new graph, but it's not generating the images anymore.

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2433
  • Karma: +146/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #24 on: March 05, 2016, 06:42:37 pm »
Thanks, even I found it now.
Was looking at "System" for "Monitoring", not at "Status" ...
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline biggsy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 641
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #25 on: March 05, 2016, 06:55:49 pm »
WRT to NOYB's screenshot above, the units on some of the graphs and tables are a bit . . . strange.

 

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2433
  • Karma: +146/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #26 on: March 05, 2016, 07:06:23 pm »
A) Is there a plan to convert the dashboard traffic graphs to the new "Interactive Graphs" as well?

B) two horizontal grids are "a bit" hard to work with. There should only be one grid at a time, scaling the axis accordingly. (see screenshot)

C) Black as text color was already mentioned not being perfect. Maybe we can have the grid in black to get better contrasts. Currently the white grid is the dominant color, making it harder than necessary to read the graphs itself.
The color scheme in NOYB's screenshot is OK, I'm probably just seeing a CSS issue.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2016, 07:14:43 pm by jahonix »
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline dennypage

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 697
  • Karma: +133/-0
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #27 on: March 05, 2016, 09:42:59 pm »
The delay number isn't the maximum value of the set, it is the mean average of the set. Dpinger reports average and standard deviation values against the entire set the same way ping does in its summary.

Standard deviation is the square root of the variance, which is based upon squares of the offset from the mean. Use of squares means that the result can be higher than the mean.You can read the lengthy discussion of standard deviation on Wikipedia, or you can use one of the on-line calculators to experiment.

Here is one that spells stuff out: http://www.mathsisfun.com/data/standard-deviation-calculator.html

Put "2,2,2,2,2,20" for the numbers and start experimenting from there.

Sorry about the cuteness of the page :)

How can the standard deviation be greater than the maximum value of the data set?

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #28 on: March 06, 2016, 12:13:00 am »
 
Yes I know std dev can be greater than the mean.  Because of the graph/table labels it seems to indicate that it is greater than the max.
 
So the graph/data table "delay" label is not very accurate.
Delay is really average delay.  Thus in the data table the min, avg, max, columns actually contain min avg delay, avg avg delay, max avg delay.
 
Labeling the std dev row as "stddev of delay" seems to indicate that it is the std dev of the row labeled "delay".  Which would be more accurately labeled "avg of delay".
 

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #29 on: March 06, 2016, 01:50:08 am »
 
Sometimes the quality graph ends with zero.  I know this was corrected a while back but sometimes it still happens.
 
Kind of makes the minimum column useless.