pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: NEW Monitoring graph  (Read 29069 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline virgiliomi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +74/-4
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #60 on: March 10, 2016, 07:53:28 am »
Could we have more granularity than 5 minutes please?  Especially on the 1 hour graph.
The RRD has 60 data points an hour but the graph seem to display a granularity of only 12 data points per hour.
Pull request submitted for this:
https://github.com/pfsense/FreeBSD-ports/pull/73
Still hoping to see this resolution selector make it in at some point... though I understand that when looking at certain large timeframes, it would be necessary to force the resolution to something lower, it would be nice to have high resolution as an option at least at the 1 and 8 hour timeframes.

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #61 on: March 10, 2016, 11:41:08 am »
I just pushed some fixes and bumped the version, the builder will pick them up next time around.

Things I fixed (and remembered):
  • Inpass/Outpass Total timeline errors on i386 (integer overflow, yay!)
  • Improved Summary units (could be improved further, but a big step in customization)
  • Added reset RRD data option
  • Added ability to turn on/off RRD Graphing option
  • Added NOYB's PR with resolution options (pretty sweet)
  • Changed bytes to bits so traffic should be more accurate
  • Rounded the y axes to 2 decimal places
  • Fixed the rounding in the tooltip if under .01 so it doesn't show as 0

Coming soon: Option to save current settings as defaults.

Offline whitexp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +2/-2
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #62 on: March 10, 2016, 12:13:25 pm »
Interactive Graph
Error: SyntaxError: Unexpected token F

Offline grandrivers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 566
  • Karma: +13/-2
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #63 on: March 10, 2016, 12:49:41 pm »
0.7 monitoring much better , current bugs
delay should be in ms not S
not sure why it has -500 ms listed
pfsense 2.4 super micro A1SRM-2558F
C2558 8gig ECC  60gig SSD
tripple Wan dual pppoe

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #64 on: March 10, 2016, 01:05:17 pm »
0.7 monitoring much better , current bugs
delay should be in ms not S
not sure why it has -500 ms listed

I think I can get that closer. After I get the defaults working, I'll circle back around.

That is the same as .5. Axis units still need some customization work, they are all SI formatted now.

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #65 on: March 10, 2016, 01:08:47 pm »
Interactive Graph
Error: SyntaxError: Unexpected token F

Did you just upgrade? Are you on 64 or 32bit? What graphs do you have selected?

In Chrome right click the screen and click Inspect. Then choose the Network tab and refresh the browser. Click the update button on the WebGUI and then you should see a line item with rrd_fetch_json.php at the bottom of the dev tools window. If you click that then choose the response tab within it you should see what the server responded with. Are there any errors in there?
« Last Edit: March 10, 2016, 01:12:30 pm by jdillard »

Offline grandrivers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 566
  • Karma: +13/-2
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #66 on: March 10, 2016, 01:33:47 pm »
" they are all SI formatted now."  i dont know if I understand and am a sure at this point it looks harder for most (isp's) i like to have proof of poor service

dhcp leases graph is missing will that be worked on at some point
pfsense 2.4 super micro A1SRM-2558F
C2558 8gig ECC  60gig SSD
tripple Wan dual pppoe

Offline whitexp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
  • Karma: +2/-2
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #67 on: March 10, 2016, 01:49:35 pm »
see

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #68 on: March 10, 2016, 02:05:13 pm »
" they are all SI formatted now."  i dont know if I understand and am a sure at this point it looks harder for most (isp's) i like to have proof of poor service

dhcp leases graph is missing will that be worked on at some point

It auto converts to the SI prefixes: http://www.shimadzu.com/an/hplc/support/n9j25k000000y4ah-img/n9j25k000000y8nb.jpg

It is just tricky in this case because there are a lot of different use cases sharing the same graph, it'll get there.

DHCP leases (DHCP category) shows up for me. I assume you have it enabled?

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #69 on: March 10, 2016, 02:26:39 pm »
 
Submitted a few more pull requests last night.
 
1) Auto update.
Updates the graph 4 times per selected resolution.
Updates the graph on settings change.
https://github.com/pfsense/FreeBSD-ports/pull/77
 
2) Collapsible and configurable show/hide settings panel.
Same as status system logs filter and manage log panels.
Replaced the "Update" button with refresh icon on title bar.
I think this would be real nice combined with being able to set a default view.  Open the monitor and have your preferred view without the settings panel consuming a third of the display.  A cleaner look.
https://github.com/pfsense/FreeBSD-ports/pull/78
 
3) Use same units in tooltip as graph on quality.
Code wise a bit of a hack I think and I'm sure Dillard and/or others can do it much more elegantly.  But it suffices for me for now.  We mere humans just don't relate well to long strings of digits.
https://github.com/pfsense/FreeBSD-ports/pull/79
 
See attached image of my current incarnation.
 

Offline grandrivers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 566
  • Karma: +13/-2
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #70 on: March 10, 2016, 02:34:01 pm »
you are correct its disabled and wont enable ,my bad ill try to chase that down
pfsense 2.4 super micro A1SRM-2558F
C2558 8gig ECC  60gig SSD
tripple Wan dual pppoe

Offline jdillard

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +124/-1
  • Web Dude
    • View Profile
    • Personal Website
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #71 on: March 10, 2016, 03:34:10 pm »
I'm guessing the labels across the bottom are in the next PR ;)

I'll make comments for each of the PRs on github.

Offline heper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Karma: +253/-11
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #72 on: March 10, 2016, 03:58:58 pm »
you are correct its disabled and wont enable ,my bad ill try to chase that down

i just tried to enable the dhcp graphs on a previously disabled interface. they showed right up.

goto https://your_pf_ip/status.php & search for <statsgraph>
it should show something like
Code: [Select]
<statsgraph>yes</statsgraph> inside the dhcp section of whatever interface you enabled the rrd

Offline grandrivers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 566
  • Karma: +13/-2
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #73 on: March 10, 2016, 04:15:41 pm »
i goto dhcp server tick Enable RRD statistics graphs hit save page reloads with it unticked
pfsense 2.4 super micro A1SRM-2558F
C2558 8gig ECC  60gig SSD
tripple Wan dual pppoe

Offline heper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Karma: +253/-11
    • View Profile
Re: NEW Monitoring graph
« Reply #74 on: March 10, 2016, 04:23:04 pm »
best to start a new thread for that. i've just tried this on 2 systems and enable/disable works as intended.