The pfSense Store

Author Topic: wol command  (Read 2678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Siggen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
wol command
« on: August 06, 2008, 12:46:46 pm »
isnt there supposed to be a wol command in /usr/local/bin/ ?
services_wol.php refers to it

Offline Siggen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: wol command
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2008, 02:40:38 pm »
just what i thought....once i copied wol into /usr/local/bin/, wake on lan started to work....

Online cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: wol command
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2008, 12:01:05 am »
# which wol
/usr/local/bin/wol

It's on the couple installs I checked, anyone else seeing this?

Offline Siggen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: wol command
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2008, 06:40:27 am »
# which wol
/usr/local/bin/wol

Yes that wol. Tried several installs and it was missing. had to find it somewhere else.
Can wake on lan work without it? Is it enough with services_wol.php ? Here it dont...

Offline stechnique

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: wol command
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2008, 11:41:58 am »
He wasn't asking "which wol?", he was posting results from the "which" command, which shows the file is in place as it should be on the installs he checked.

Online cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: wol command
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2008, 12:26:47 pm »
He wasn't asking "which wol?", he was posting results from the "which" command, which shows the file is in place as it should be on the installs he checked.

Yes, exactly.  :)  All mine have it.

Offline Siggen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: wol command
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2008, 04:19:41 pm »
Heh, ok sorry. i didnt know that.  :-X
Still is/was strange tho...i never removed it,
but probably something i did anyway.
Couldnt understand how everybody was able to wake up computers from gui
and i couldnt wake up anything. After i found and put the wol command in place all is fine.


Offline dro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: wol command
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2008, 12:31:37 am »
Just checked mine

# which wol
wol: Command not found.

1.2.1-RC1
built on Thu Aug 7 09:18:26 EDT 2008 (will upgrade to latest snapshot after the weekend)

This install wasn't an upgrade from 1.2 btw. It was installed from (pfSense-20080727-1200.iso.gz)

Online cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: wol command
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2008, 02:09:17 pm »
yeah it doesn't seem to be in the update file at least, though I'm not sure how all my installs apparently ended up with it. It must have disappeared with a more recent change.  We'll check into it.

Offline Siggen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: wol command
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2008, 03:35:49 pm »
great, then it was something afterall :)

Online cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6290
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: wol command
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2008, 04:07:14 pm »
It'll be in the next snapshot.