pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step  (Read 20595 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline deajan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Hello xAm56,

As far as I remember, the username is a combination of emailAdress and roomNumber and password is a combination of familyName and surName, in order to get some degree of randomness.
Basically, only using room number would mean that Radius records would not be unique.

I'll have a to push an update until monday which adds the language parameter in the url.
I'll try to check your usecase in the same time.

Regards,
Orsiris.
NetPOWER.fr - some opensource stuff for IT people

Offline deajan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Have a look at the latest commits on github at https://github.com/deajan/pfSense-cp-auth-onestep/releases/tag/v0.44
NetPOWER.fr - some opensource stuff for IT people

Offline saygon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #47 on: November 01, 2016, 11:54:13 am »
Hi @deajan and thank you for your amazing work!

Unfortunately I'm not able to run mysql server.
I have made a clean install of pfSense 2.3, configured wan and lan, internet works. I'm also able to install all what do you mentioned on this guide.
Each time I try start mysql server it comes some error:
Code: [Select]
[2.3.2-RELEASE][admin@pfSense.localdomain]/root: service mysql-server.sh start
Starting mysql.
Bad -c option
/usr/local/etc/rc.d/mysql-server.sh: WARNING: failed to start mysql
I have already research on Google regarding to this error, but don't found nothing useful.
Please let me know if you need some additional info or log output.

Offline deajan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #48 on: November 01, 2016, 03:50:55 pm »
@saygon I remember having dealt with that error while developping this project.
Don't remember the exact root cause... probably a bad mysql version installed.

Remove and reinstall the version corresponding to your setup.
If the problem still occurs, post the content of your mysql_server.sh file, and mysql -v output.
NetPOWER.fr - some opensource stuff for IT people

Offline astatine

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #49 on: November 03, 2016, 02:33:08 am »
Quote
+----+----------+-------+---------------+---------------------+
| id | username | pass  | reply         | authdate            |
+----+----------+-------+---------------+---------------------+
|  1 | testu    | testp | Access-Accept | 2015-09-29 15:13:24 |
+----+----------+-------+---------------+---------------------+

Hello deajan,

would you please tell me , how can I set MD5 encrypt here for user password?

Offline deajan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #50 on: November 03, 2016, 06:32:24 am »
@astatine Your question isn't in the scope of this howto. Please make your own question regarding FreeRADIUS + MySQL setup only.
NetPOWER.fr - some opensource stuff for IT people

Offline joel.dq

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #51 on: November 04, 2016, 04:39:00 pm »
Hello !

I'm new to pfSense and forum. I was tasked to set up this type of access for an organization and I'm having a small trouble that  I probably think it's pretty stupid but can't make it work.

I followed the instructions to the letter and I got the captive portal working as is- No modification of the files except for mysql password etc.

On the LAN PC I get successfully forwarded to the Captive Portal but as soon as I press Connect nothing happens, the form is cleared (as if new connection) and remain there.

I tried to see if the PHP inserted something in the radius DB but I found nothing there and for the life of me I can't find in the logs, or where in the logs, I can tail if there are connectivity errors with mysql +  php etc.

I do want t thank you though, the guide is very detailed and I was able to set everything up quick. I just now need to to make that work.

Thanks !

Offline deajan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #52 on: November 09, 2016, 04:33:51 am »
Hello joel.dq,

Can you activate debug mode in captiveportal-config.php ?
NetPOWER.fr - some opensource stuff for IT people

Offline joel.dq

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #53 on: November 10, 2016, 05:22:48 pm »
I think I did already. Where should I see that logging?

Offline deajan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #54 on: November 11, 2016, 03:07:44 am »
There's no logging, it's about getting the error messages onscreen.
What version of the captive portal code are you using ? What user input do you ask for to connect ?
NetPOWER.fr - some opensource stuff for IT people

Offline joel.dq

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #55 on: November 12, 2016, 05:34:51 pm »
There's no logging, it's about getting the error messages onscreen.
What version of the captive portal code are you using ? What user input do you ask for to connect ?

Hello


I'm using 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 version. 

The inputs I'm asking are

1) Room # (renamed to Age) . I put it because I can read in the code that the room# is used to create the radius account.
2) Name
3) Surname
4) Mail

Debug is enabled

/usr/local/captiveportal: cat captiveportal-config.php | grep DEBUG
DEFINE("DEBUG", true);
DEFINE("DEBUG", true);

What is happening is that I do get the Captive Portal. I fill the details and click Connect. Nothing happens, no error on the screen and simply clears the form as if first reaching the CP page.

http://i.imgur.com/a/TfTn4

and form gets cleared

http://imgur.com/a/Z8Udw

I normally try to debug myself, I have rudimentary php skills to understand what code does, but I'm lost when JS is involved.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2016, 05:52:04 pm by joel.dq »

Offline deajan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #56 on: November 16, 2016, 06:00:11 am »
Hello,

What version of captiveportal do you use ? Latest from git ?

Can you mail me your captiveportal-config.php file at ozy at netpower dot fr ?

Also, assuming you did a Spanish translation, can you give me that so I add it to git ?
NetPOWER.fr - some opensource stuff for IT people

Offline joel.dq

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #57 on: November 16, 2016, 06:33:40 am »
Hello,

What version of captiveportal do you use ? Latest from git ?

Can you mail me your captiveportal-config.php file at ozy at netpower dot fr ?

Also, assuming you did a Spanish translation, can you give me that so I add it to git ?

Latest from GIT. Sending and many thanks for your assistance.

I'll send you the spanish translation a bit later. Modified it outside hotel for educative institute.

Offline deajan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #58 on: November 16, 2016, 08:51:13 am »
Your config file does not come from the latest git, there have been at least 7 commits since your version.
Please UPDATE ALL files before posting about this again.
NetPOWER.fr - some opensource stuff for IT people

Offline joel.dq

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [HOWTO] Captive portal + FreeRADIUS + local MySQL user friendly single step
« Reply #59 on: November 18, 2016, 07:11:01 am »
Your config file does not come from the latest git, there have been at least 7 commits since your version.
Please UPDATE ALL files before posting about this again.

I found the issue.

When I put the terms of use as false, no matter what other options I try with true or false, it won't go on.

$askForTermsOfUse = false;

While the option to put it false is there, apparently it has to always be true to work.

Regards