The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Unable to Check For Updates  (Read 30424 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wirerogue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #45 on: April 12, 2016, 11:30:47 pm »
i think the real question is... why are you guys still working?

shouldn't you take at least a week off to celebrate the 2.3 release? get some cocaine and hookers play some video games and watch porn?

you're setting the bar kinda high. making the rest of us look bad.

just sayin'.


Offline iam

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #46 on: April 13, 2016, 07:19:38 am »
If it says "unable to check for updates", look at this output:

Code: [Select]
pkg info -x pfSense
If you do not see pfSense-base, run:

Code: [Select]
pkg install pfSense-base

Should I do this also on the nanobad platform?

Offline skywise

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #47 on: April 13, 2016, 07:37:02 am »
I'm in the same boat, can't update from 2.3 RC (2.3.r.20160406.0534) to 2.3 Release.

If I select "Keep following 2.3 dev snapshots"  I can update past 2.3 Release. (2.3.1.a.20160412.1222 as of tis morning)
If I select "follow 2.3 snaps and move to release (default)"  I get errors.

I'm guessing that I have no IPV6 or other network issues since the stay dev option works.

Any ideas?

Can I just DL 2.3 Release manually and do an upgrade that way?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21495
  • Karma: +1458/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #48 on: April 13, 2016, 08:43:58 am »
If you were on an RC or earlier, it's normal for it to offer 2.3.1.a. When you choose to upgrade, it will see -RELEASE and use that instead. There's an open ticket to fix that for the next version.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline dougf4nnie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #49 on: April 13, 2016, 08:57:54 am »
I did a clean install and came across as the same problem "Unable to Check For Updates":

I had to install the sarg manually, but before you install, it was necessary to update the package pkg-1.6.2 for pkg-1.7.2. After I upgraded this package the message "Unable to Check For Updates" appeared (even in a clean installation).

Offline skywise

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #50 on: April 13, 2016, 09:05:53 am »
Clean 2.3 Release install?
If you go to update settings and select dev path, does it give you an option to update to 2.3.1?

Offline djamp42

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #51 on: April 13, 2016, 02:55:48 pm »
I had to do the following commands to get mine to work.

Code: [Select]
fetch -qo /usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg/trusted/ https://raw.githubusercontent.com/pfsense/pfsense/RELENG_2_3_0/src/usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg/trusted/pkg.pfsense.org.20160406
Code: [Select]
pkg update
Code: [Select]
pkg install pfSense-base

Offline skywise

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #52 on: April 13, 2016, 07:17:04 pm »
Ok, the fetch worked for me, I'm up at 2.3 Release now.

Offline horse2370

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #53 on: April 15, 2016, 03:31:22 pm »
I upgraded my production pfSense and ran into the same problem and was unable to access the System>Update as it just froze the GUI.
For me the issue is I am running IPv6, however the Internet WAN IPv6 subnet is not advertised through BGP only my DMZ v6 space.
Switched the pfSense to prefer IPv4 and all is how it was before.

Would be really nice to be able to bind all the internal services to a specific Interface and not have it default to the outbound Interface.
We don't advertise the internal links between our peering point and the DMZ for IPv6.

Anyway, switching to prefer IPv4 solved it for me.


Offline dlasher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #54 on: April 24, 2016, 01:59:59 pm »

Was getting this:

Quote
[2.3-RC][admin@pfsense001]/root: pfSense-upgrade -4
>>> Updating repositories metadata...
Updating pfSense-core repository catalogue...
Repository pfSense-core has a wrong packagesite, need to re-create database
Fetching meta.txz: . done
pkg: No trusted public keys found
repository pfSense-core has no meta file, using default settings
Fetching packagesite.txz: . done
pkg: No trusted public keys found
Unable to update repository pfSense-core
Updating pfSense repository catalogue...
Repository pfSense has a wrong packagesite, need to re-create database
Fetching meta.txz: . done
pkg: No trusted public keys found
repository pfSense has no meta file, using default settings
Fetching packagesite.txz: .......... done
pkg: No trusted public keys found
Unable to update repository pfSense


Did this from the CLI - then was able to update.


Code: [Select]
fetch -qo /usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg/trusted/ https://raw.githubusercontent.com/pfsense/pfsense/RELENG_2_3_0/src/usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg/trusted/pkg.pfsense.org.20160406

Offline voxeljorz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #55 on: July 29, 2016, 05:49:28 am »
pkg install pfSense-base <<--- this have just fixed my issue



If it says "unable to check for updates", look at this output:

Code: [Select]
pkg info -x pfSense
If you do not see pfSense-base, run:

Code: [Select]
pkg install pfSense-base

Should I do this also on the nanobad platform?

Offline KILLZONE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #56 on: July 29, 2016, 10:43:03 am »
Nope! Still "unable to check for updates" error, and no way to update manually...nice!

If you're still getting that at this point, you likely have connectivity issues. First guess, the system thinks it has IPv6 connectivity and it doesn't, but could be any number of things. SSH in, option 8, run:
Code: [Select]
pfSense-upgrade -4
what's that get you?

There was a problem "unable to check for updates"
Thank you ! "PfSense-upgrade -4" helped!

Offline blitzkin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #57 on: August 02, 2016, 07:59:36 am »
followed the steps to in shell/console:

pkg install pfSense-base

once installed and went back to gui, and it upgraded from

2.3.1-RELEASE (amd64)
built on Tue May 17 18:46:53 CDT 2016 

to

2.3.2-RELEASE (amd64)
built on Tue Jul 19 12:44:43 CDT 2016

and

Version 2.3.3.a.20160801.2222 is available

Offline matrixit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #58 on: August 02, 2016, 11:57:19 am »
one can also resolve this issue via making following two changes
1) change theme on firewall to default theme of pfSense.
2) Try changing the architecture/type of firewall in update settings (I ran into such issue when I restored x86 config on my x64 firewall after which it was showing no updates available until when I changed its architecture to x64).

Offline kekke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #59 on: August 16, 2016, 12:31:24 pm »
Had the "cannot check for updates" problemos also after upgrading to 2.3.1
Checked the dns resolving ok.... Switched off the ram disk
Pressed save @ the system-->update several times. Also changed the update source to experimental and back to stable.
Did check prefer ipv4 was ticked. Several reboots etc etc...

No work, no joy.

********************************************


*FIX*

SSH--> to pfsense box and choose option 8 (shell) input --> pfSense-upgrade -4

This also updates/installs "pfSense-base" component.


Reboot ---> All working like a toilet in a train



cheers:kekke
« Last Edit: August 16, 2016, 12:48:57 pm by kekke »