Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Unable to Check For Updates  (Read 30249 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline mrpush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #75 on: November 30, 2017, 03:00:14 pm »
Ok folks, this never addressed the issue I though it was addressing!

I need to connect a new PF box to the internet to get it updated.  I have its WAN interface disabled and its hooked up to my local LAN.  How do it get it to "see" the internet so i can update it??? 

My LAN is 1.x/22 (and has another PF box active as 1.1) and the new PF box is 3.1/22.

How in the world do i get a PF box to access the internet from just its LAN interface?????  You can't tell it to use a GATEWAY in the LAN setup and adding the existing gateway of my Lan 1.1 PF box does not work, it says "gateway IP already exists"????

HELP!

Thanks,

MP

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2300
  • Karma: +174/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #76 on: November 30, 2017, 07:12:39 pm »
I need to connect a new PF box to the internet to get it updated.  I have its WAN interface disabled and its hooked up to my local LAN.  How do it get it to "see" the internet so i can update it??? 
My LAN is 1.x/22 (and has another PF box active as 1.1) and the new PF box is 3.1/22.
How in the world do i get a PF box to access the internet from just its LAN interface?????  You can't tell it to use a GATEWAY in the LAN setup and adding the existing gateway of my Lan 1.1 PF box does not work, it says "gateway IP already exists"????
;D
Hook up your second pfSense as a device on the lan of the first pfSense, which is hooked up to the net.
Activate it's WAN interface, activate DHCP on it, and it will update, upgrade, etc.
Hook yourself up to the LAN of this second pfSense box to pilot it (or use the console access).

Think about it : a router/firewall with only one interface .... that's like a car without wheels ...

Ok folks, this never addressed the issue I though it was addressing!
It is actually not an issue ^^

Offline mrpush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #77 on: December 01, 2017, 04:02:21 pm »
Ok Thanks,  I think Ii get it now, Lan interface on PFS is really WAN access for clients.  So what you are saying is I must use the WAN interface for a 2nd PFS box hooked to my local LAN to get to the internet.

Thanks!

MP

Offline RoccoC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #78 on: December 13, 2017, 09:26:02 pm »
pkg-static update f
pkg-static upgrade f

I'm a late upgrader, found this issue and running pkg -f  was presented with missing libssl.so.8, switched to pkg-static and the update, upgrade worked... although, I did have to reboot the pfsense server afterwards to get things up and running.

My problem matched yours and this worked perfectly.  Thank you!

Offline Javik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to Check For Updates
« Reply #79 on: January 09, 2018, 01:14:08 am »
I don't want to be hacking around in the console, so I found another solution via the web configurator only.

1: 2.3.4-RELEASE-p1 (amd64): Unable to check for updates

2: Update Settings
 Change to "Legacy Stable version (Security/Errata Only 2.3.x)
 Save

3. System Update...
 Current Base System: 2.3.4_1
 Latest Base System: 2.3.5_1
 Confirm Update: Confirm

4. Updating system... failed!
Updating repositories metadata... 2.3.5_1 is available

5. System Update...
 Current Base System: 2.3.4_1
 Latest Base System: 2.3.5_1
 Confirm Update: Confirm

6. Update to 2.3.5_1 succeeds

7. Update settings.
Change back to: Latest stable version (2.4.x)
Save

8. System Update.
Current Base System 2.3.5_1
Latest Base System 2.4.2_1
Confirm Update: Confirm

9. Update to 2.4.2_1 succeeds