pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Unknown parameter in Captive Portal  (Read 4162 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brianc69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Unknown parameter in Captive Portal
« on: April 19, 2016, 06:29:41 pm »
This error was first noticed in 2.3. What is the proper fix for this? I'm on 2.3.1

Code: [Select]
Apr 19 17:50:18 php-fpm 49110 /index.php: Submission to captiveportal with unknown parameter zone: WiFi
Apr 19 17:50:12 logportalauth 49110
« Last Edit: April 25, 2016, 03:55:20 pm by brianc69 »

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2163
  • Karma: +166/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Unknown parameter in Captive Portal
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2016, 09:34:49 am »
I can only think of 2 possibilities :

1) Is this "Wifi" parameter hard coded into your "login html page" ?
2) Users (visitors) can make their own URL like  http://your-portal.tld//index.php&cpzone=Hello&tes=again&another=whatisthis

In your case, the parameter "cpzone" is to to "Wifi" (The navigator of the visitor is using an URL with ....&cpzone=Wifi.......
and
The captive portal zone named "Wifi" does not exists in pfSense - Captive Portal's settings.

Thus, it is flagged as an error - and not a 'pfSense (any version)' bug or issue.

Online heper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Karma: +253/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Unknown parameter in Captive Portal
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2016, 09:58:10 am »
you might be missing this in your portal page
Code: [Select]
<input name="zone" type="hidden" value="$PORTAL_ZONE$">

Offline cmb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11230
  • Karma: +893/-7
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Unknown parameter in Captive Portal
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2016, 02:00:04 am »
you might be missing this in your portal page
Code: [Select]
<input name="zone" type="hidden" value="$PORTAL_ZONE$">

I believe this is the case. It's not strictly required normally, but I think there is an issue with mixed case zone names and the automatic redirect for the lacking PORTAL_ZONE.

Online heper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2690
  • Karma: +253/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Unknown parameter in Captive Portal
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2016, 02:03:40 am »
Yea there is an 'issue' with it on 2.3. Ive had to add that line to one of my CPs
Ive come across some posts that marked that as a possible fix.

Offline brianc69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 150
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unknown parameter in Captive Portal
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2016, 09:28:00 am »
I just recompiled the form as listed in the captive portal configuration screen. I don't know if that fixed it yet. Will keep an eye on it.

Offline tguldener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unknown parameter in Captive Portal
« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2016, 02:36:30 pm »
Looks like a Bug. The zone needs to be all lower case.

Insert in your cutom login site:

<input name="zone" type="hidden" value="wifi">

and not:

<input name="zone" type="hidden" value="$PORTAL_ZONE$">

g.
thomas

This error was first noticed in 2.3. What is the proper fix for this? I'm on 2.3.1

Code: [Select]
Apr 19 17:50:18 php-fpm 49110 /index.php: Submission to captiveportal with unknown parameter zone: WiFi
Apr 19 17:50:12 logportalauth 49110

Offline Renato Botelho

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 261
  • Karma: +43/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unknown parameter in Captive Portal
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2016, 05:50:50 am »
I've pushed a fix
Renato Botelho