Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: Problem with logging in Garena  (Read 50700 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline L_Kuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Problem with logging in Garena
« on: August 22, 2008, 08:39:42 am »
As topic
Few months already i still can't login it
I tried to the 'static port', but it's still not working
I tried to cancel the firewall 'disable packet filtering' but i can't surf net once i apply it
Is there any other ways that i can try to do ?

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5063
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2008, 08:41:27 am »
If you disable the firewall alltogether you also disable NAT.
Could you show a screenshot of how you enabled static port?
Did you create firewall rules that allow outbound traffic?
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline L_Kuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2008, 09:07:16 am »
Thank for the answering
Here's some related pictures
Btw, what you mean 'firewall rules that allow outbound traffic?' ?




« Last Edit: August 22, 2008, 10:01:04 am by L_Kuan »

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5063
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2008, 09:25:04 am »
Is 10.110.1.0/24 your LAN?

I mean did you create a firewall rule that actually allows traffic from your LAN to the WAN?
The default LAN-rule should cover that.


Also: how exactly are you unable to connect with your software to the server?
What kinds of errors do you get?
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline L_Kuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2008, 09:56:30 am »
Is 10.110.1.0/24 your LAN?  ???
The firewall rule u mentioned, i think should be did in the below picture


About the ip, i don't understand what you mean
I set mine to 10.110.1.7 already, as the picture below
& 10.110.1.0/24 mean ?


Mostly it will show me 'Connect to Server Failed' ( 90% )
9% it will show me 'Checking Client Version'
1% it will show me 'Authentication'
So there's 0% for me to successfully login . . . :'(


« Last Edit: August 22, 2008, 10:05:38 am by L_Kuan »

Offline L_Kuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2008, 05:15:40 am »
Is there anyone can help  ???

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5063
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2008, 05:25:52 am »
Is 10.110.1.254 the IP of your pfSense?
Maybe you should ask on the garena support channel.
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline L_Kuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2008, 05:47:51 am »
Yeah, 10.110.1.254 for pfsense
10.110.1.7 for myself

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5063
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2008, 05:53:33 am »
Do you see anything in the firewall log blocked?

You could also try:

enable upnpn on pfSense.
remove all the portforwards you created for garena.
tell garena to get it's ports via upnp.
leave the static port in place.

We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline Siggen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2008, 04:11:46 pm »
Just tried the client here. Didnt have to open anything for it to connect. worked straight away.
Must be something else that cause this

Offline L_Kuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #10 on: August 25, 2008, 08:39:36 am »
What u mean?
Client? Where's it?

Offline Siggen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2008, 09:25:45 am »
The Garena client you show screens of further up in post.....works as it should trough pfsense.
No need for rules to connect(login).

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5063
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2008, 10:17:50 am »
I think the portforward-rules are required to be able to host a game.

But just to connect to the server, shouldnt require more than firewall rules allowing traffic from the LAN to the WAN.


Can you try to replace your pfSense with a standard cheap router?
If you have the same problem, your ISP might be blocking you.
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline Siggen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #13 on: August 25, 2008, 10:57:29 am »
Yes, sure needed for hosting games yes. But L_Kuan didnt mention games, he didnt get that far.
I downloaded the Garena client to a vm running xp, and didnt have to use portforward nor Upnp to connect.
So i cant see why he should need to. Thats why i think it has to be something else.
He should do like you say(Gruens) and get another router, or connect the modem to the computer to see if that solves it.

Offline L_Kuan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with logging in Garena
« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2008, 07:19:50 am »
Actually, start from the begin, what i mean is
"Pfsense not working with Garena"
That mean, a cheap router can let me to play Garena not like pfsense making me suffer few months already
The previous router was gone due to my ex-housemate moved out, & the new comer want to use pfsense function as a router
After that, i can't play any online games at all
« Last Edit: August 27, 2008, 02:14:10 am by L_Kuan »