The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Check Box Text Form Inconsistency  (Read 1292 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Check Box Text Form Inconsistency
« on: May 12, 2016, 01:49:34 am »
 
Some check boxes have text in the form of a title.  i.e. Capitalization and no period.
Others are in the form of a sentence.  i.e. First word capitalized and end with punctuation (period).
Yet others are in the form of a sentence and without any ending punctuation.
 
Think it would be nice for text box text form to be consistent.  With allowance of course for deviation where clearly makes sense.
 
Personally I prefer title form since there is plenty accommodation for additional help text in sentence form.
 
Could the dev team please provide direction for check box text form consistency?
 
Thanks
 

Offline cmb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11228
  • Karma: +894/-7
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Check Box Text Form Inconsistency
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 02:28:45 am »
Agree, the checkbox text should be title form, any longer descriptions should be sentence-form in the help text.

Offline SnowGhost

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Check Box Text Form Inconsistency
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2016, 05:38:22 am »
While your looking at check boxes, they should all be "tick for yes".  Not, "tick to disable".

http://firewall/system_advanced_admin.php
In the secure shell section, one is tick for enable, and one it tick to disable.

Worse is http://firewall/system_advanced_network.php
Network interfaces.
5 options, 2 are tick for enable and 3 are tick for disable

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: Check Box Text Form Inconsistency
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2016, 12:42:21 pm »
 
While your looking at check boxes, they should all be "tick for yes".  Not, "tick to disable".

That is much more involved than just flipping it in the html.  Has to be flipped in the config and logic where used.  You are certainly welcome to commit the contributions though.
 
As for looking at and updating check box text to be in title form I've not committed to doing that nor do I have an exclusive on that (not so subtle hint).