Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Problems with LCDProc  (Read 906 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sidestep

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Problems with LCDProc
« on: June 29, 2016, 11:39:28 pm »
Hello everybody,

Despite the fact that I use pfSense now for a long time (simply loving it and the community), until now I really had no major problems at all with it. However I have long time customers who are accustomed in the usage of the LCD Display of his Appliance (Lanner FW-7568).  No problem to install and run pfSense on the units, but since the last version (2.3.1, including the updates)  my customer cannot use the LCD anymore. I have read that there are work arounds  and some “hacks” to let the LCD work again, but from my point of view it is really too much effort because I  have to support a lot of units.

Question from my site is: Will the LCD (namely LCDProg) be reimplemented into pfSense in the near future? I am well aware that the LCD is not“really” important in terms of Firewalling, but I know a lot of customers which relay a lot on it and simply just want to have and use it.

I have also looked at other Firewall projects and seems there it is no problem to use the LCD.

Soooo, long story short, anyone here to help me? Or perhaps explain it to me? I would really appreciate it and it seems that the LCD issue is also nothing to be taken lightly (I remember that there was a similar case in the past). Or must I go and change the Software now completely?

Greets

Sidestep

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1787
  • Karma: +93/-3
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: Problems with LCDProc
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2016, 11:51:56 am »

Right now this is what Ive and a few others have done.

https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=44034.msg609820#msg609820
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.  http://badmodems.com

Offline DeLorean

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with LCDProc
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2016, 05:30:12 pm »

Right now this is what Ive and a few others have done.

https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=44034.msg609820#msg609820

Did this survive the update from 2.3.1 to 2.3.1.5 ?


grtz
DeLorean

Offline DeLorean

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with LCDProc
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2016, 06:04:00 pm »
I have LCDproc running on a Watchguard x750e with pfSense 2.3.1p5
For this version of pfSense to get the LCDproc up and running,is the same way as for 2.3 as described here :

https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=44034.msg609820#msg609820

Only difference, for Watchguard x550e , x750e and x1250e models
You must use the 32Bit version of these packages :
http://pkg.freebsd.org/freebsd:10:x86:32/release_3/All/freetype2-2.6.2.txz
http://pkg.freebsd.org/freebsd:10:x86:32/release_3/All/lcdproc-0.5.7_2.txz


Grtz
DeLorean