Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Local Subdomain per Interface w/ DHCP  (Read 399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gyrotech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Local Subdomain per Interface w/ DHCP
« on: December 09, 2016, 04:39:22 am »
I am running pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 with multiple local interfaces, each with a DHCP service configured. The DNS Resolver service is configured to register DHCP leases and DHCP static mappings.

In System -> General Setup -> Domain, I have 'admin.mydomain.eg' set, and for each of the DHCP Servers I have a separate domain name configured to represent the different networks. The idea being that I can have a host with interfaces on the different networks that I access with an FQDN.

  • ADMIN - 192.168.10.0/34 (default admin.mydomain.eg)
  • HOME - 192.168.20.0/24 (home.mydomain.eg)
  • SERVICE - 192.168.30.0/24 (service.mydomain.eg)

The problem is that only the default domain seems to be the only one that registers DHCP leases. For example, I bring up the admin interface on host-01, and I get a DHCP lease of 192.168.10.16 and a DNS entry for host-01.admin.mydomin.eg then I bring up the SERVICE interface and receive a DHCP lease of 192.168.30.54 but no DNS entry for host-01.service.mydomain.eg. A quick dig show that that host-01.admin.mydomain.eg is actually now pointing at 192.168.30.54.

I think I must be missing some config in the DNS service to support mutliple local domains, but I'm not sure what. Has anyone tried this with any success?

Many thanks,
« Last Edit: December 10, 2016, 02:20:24 am by gyrotech »

Offline gyrotech

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Local Subdomain per Interface w/ DHCP
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2016, 12:32:30 pm »
Seems it is due to a 5 year old bug (https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/1819) that should be picked up again soon.