The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06  (Read 9487 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline hadi57

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« on: October 31, 2008, 03:47:16 am »
hi,

i a running pfs 1.2, i updated squid last night, and since my disk usage shows 100% and clients coudnt get lease from dhcp, help really apreciated

thanks in advance

hadi57

Offline Bern

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2008, 03:58:17 am »
i a running pfs 1.2, i updated squid last night, and since my disk usage shows 100% and clients coudnt get lease from dhcp, help really apreciated

I also had this. The quick way - to get you started again - is to:

Stop squid
Get into a root shell on your pfSense box
Run "rm /var/squid/cache/swap.state"
I can't remember if you need to run "squid -z" but there should be no harm in running it.
Start squid

You'll start off with an empty cache but it should start working.

Offline lordarcane

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2008, 03:35:11 am »
Im running squid 2.6.21_07 on a Pfsense 1.2.1-RC2  and yesterday the proxy crashed. I checked the machine 4 hours before the chrash and it showed 2% disc usage. Then, suddenly 100%. So, on 4 hours the swap.state file had filled up 120gb with... something.

I deleted the file and rebooted the machine and everything runs again. But, I still dont know what caused the problem. Anyone got an idea? Or, have found a solution wich prevents it from happening again.

sartic

  • Guest
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2009, 02:08:35 pm »
i a running pfs 1.2, i updated squid last night, and since my disk usage shows 100% and clients coudnt get lease from dhcp, help really apreciated

I also had this. The quick way - to get you started again - is to:

Stop squid
Get into a root shell on your pfSense box
Run "rm /var/squid/cache/swap.state"
I can't remember if you need to run "squid -z" but there should be no harm in running it.
Start squid

You'll start off with an empty cache but it should start working.

tx man i have 1.2.2 and there is still this problem width pf.

sartic

  • Guest
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2009, 12:05:35 pm »
I am now using diskd for "Hard disk cache system" of squid.
I hope this is solution!

sartic

  • Guest
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2009, 02:41:57 am »
Nope it is not. Is there hope that 1.2.3 RC1 solved this problem?
What about captive portal is it working width squid transparent cache?

sartic

  • Guest
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2009, 01:30:39 am »
no one?
i am removing lightsquid... and i will see if there is hope

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2009, 08:37:30 am »
I had this happen on one system, had to completely delete the cache. For some reason it was using twice as much space as I configured it to use.

Following bern's post above should get it working again.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

sartic

  • Guest
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2009, 03:15:49 pm »
I had this happen on one system, had to completely delete the cache. For some reason it was using twice as much space as I configured it to use.

Following bern's post above should get it working again.

yeap, i learned. but i want to setup pf box and be sure that won't happen more than once :)

sartic

  • Guest
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2009, 02:09:05 am »
happened again. pf & squid is useless now 4 me.
can anyone point me how to upgrade or install newer version of squid v2.x ?

Offline jigpe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 371
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2009, 04:10:55 am »
Good afternoon. Same problem here too. I setup 3 boxes of 1.2.2. The 1st one got 100% full disk. So I manually "rm" the swap. But then this afternoon i still got the problem 100% full disk again..The other 2 boxes have no problem.. Strange isnt it... Tried reinstalled the squid same thing 100% swap cache disk full. I even reformat the 1st box same thing 100% disk full cache swap..But the 2 boxes still running and no problem... Anyone?

Thanks,
jigp 1.2.2

Offline mhab12

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2009, 09:42:43 am »
Looks like it might be time for some people to take a look in the bounty forum...$250 to create a 2.7 stable 6 package.

sartic

  • Guest
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #12 on: September 13, 2009, 02:00:35 am »
1.2.3-RC2
built on Sat Sep 5 07:02:34 UTC 2009

this snapshot and widthout lightsquid 'till now and no problem width 100% disk usage. finnaly stable.

sartic

  • Guest
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #13 on: September 17, 2009, 03:26:57 am »
i can confirmed this. problem solved.

Offline jigpe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 371
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Disk usage shows 100% after updating to squid 2.6.18.1_06
« Reply #14 on: September 17, 2009, 03:58:40 am »
3 boxes here both of them have lightsquid+squid+sg ..but box1 failed and 100% full disk again whew!... 1.2.2