Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: 2.4 dhcp problem  (Read 698 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chrcoluk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +23/-50
    • View Profile
2.4 dhcp problem
« on: January 15, 2017, 12:46:40 pm »
Order of events

Built in wireless card in laptop setup with static dhcp lease ip 192.168.1.125
AC wireless dongle which was unused the MAC was entered with a static ip of 192.168.1.225
I decided to start using the dongle.
Disabled built in wireless card on laptop.
Plugged in dongle to laptop.
It connected using the correct 192.168.1.225 ip, however I want to use .125
Changed the MAC for built in wireless card to use 192.168.1.25
Changed AC dongle to use 192.168.1.125 and applied settings.
Laptop still on 192.168.1.225
Ran dhcp release in windows
Recconected laptop and still 192.168.1.225
Tried disabling the dongle in device manager and enabling again.
Still 192.168.1.225

On the Status - DHCP Leases screen the AC Dongle shows as online and using 192.168.1.125
There is nothing showing at all on the leases screen using 192.168.1.225 although thats what the laptop is using.

I have double checked the laptop is configured to use DHCP for ipv4.  There is no other DHCP server active on my lan.
pfSense 2.4
Qotom Q355G4 or Braswell N3150 with Jetway mini pcie 2x intel i350 lan - 4 gig Kingston 1333 C11 DDR3L
 - 60 gig kingston ssdnow ssd - ISP Sky UK

Offline chrcoluk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 397
  • Karma: +23/-50
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4 dhcp problem
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2017, 12:51:31 pm »
I have also verified the following.

The contents of '/var/dhcpd/etc/dhcpd.conf' is correct.

If I restart the dhcpd service in the gui, the PID does change for the running service confirming its restarted.

Never mind, seems a reboot on the laptop fixed it, I guess windows had some kind of caching going on.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2017, 12:54:38 pm by chrcoluk »
pfSense 2.4
Qotom Q355G4 or Braswell N3150 with Jetway mini pcie 2x intel i350 lan - 4 gig Kingston 1333 C11 DDR3L
 - 60 gig kingston ssdnow ssd - ISP Sky UK

Offline webtyro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Karma: +29/-0
  • Default Deny
    • View Profile
Re: 2.4 dhcp problem
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2017, 06:26:53 pm »
0_o
Internet is mankinds greatest body of knowledge at your fingertips.
The reason NOT to Search first and ask questions later is......0_o