pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: pfSense version numbers  (Read 3571 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RonpfS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
  • Karma: +96/-2
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #15 on: February 15, 2017, 07:48:35 pm »
Looks more that you updated to 2.3.4 for now. That's probably almost identical to 2.3.3RC.
2.3.5-RELEASE (amd64)
Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8400 @ 2.66GHz 8GB
pfBlockerNG 2.1.2_1/Dev, suricata 4.0.1

Offline pablot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #16 on: February 15, 2017, 07:59:29 pm »
So, that brings me back to how I ended on 2.3.4.....  :o
ok, if I just "wait" for 2.3.4 this should be fixed by then or you recommed to backup, reinstall and restore ?

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #17 on: February 15, 2017, 08:03:20 pm »
I'm not recommending this.  But if the system is not critical and you want to experiment.  You might gitsync it to RELENG_2_3_3.

Code: [Select]
playback gitsync --minimal --diff --show-files --dry-run git://github.com/pfsense/pfsense.git RELENG_2_3_3
Remove the dry-run option when you want to actually apply the changes.

Oh that's option 12 on the console.  Also reboot after applying a gitsync.

Also note RELENG_2_3_3 went from RC to RELEASE this morning.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2017, 08:26:00 pm by NOYB »

Offline pablot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #18 on: February 15, 2017, 08:08:12 pm »
 :-\ will try that when I feel brave enough!!!

Seriously, it's a VM (kvm) so, I can happily try that and restore from a backup if it fails!!!  8)

Thanks for your help and advice!


Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #19 on: February 15, 2017, 08:08:57 pm »
So, that brings me back to how I ended on 2.3.4.....  :o
ok, if I just "wait" for 2.3.4 this should be fixed by then or you recommed to backup, reinstall and restore ?

Because your updates were tracking RELENG_2_3.  Which previously was 2.3.3 Development.

When 2.3.3 went to RC.  A new branch for it, RELENG_2_3_3 was made from RELENG_2_3, and the RELENG_2_3 branch went to 2.3.4 development.

Since you where tracking RELENG_2_3 branch you went to 2.3.4 development along with it.

I don't think there is any reason to reinstall if your update setting is set to now track stable I don't think you'll get anymore updates from RELENG_2_3 (2.3.4 development).  Your just a few commits ahead of RELENG_2_3_3 (2.3.3 release).

If you want to get back from being ahead.  I think a gitsync would do it.  But I don't know for sure and thus am not making this a recommendation.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2017, 08:19:24 pm by NOYB »

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #20 on: February 15, 2017, 09:30:31 pm »
If you have VM snapshot form 2/10 (or before) it will probably be of 2.3.3.  You could go back to there and change the update setting to track stable.

Offline pablot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2017, 06:07:14 am »
If you have VM snapshot form 2/10 (or before) it will probably be of 2.3.3.  You could go back to there and change the update setting to track stable.

The oldest snapshot I have is from 2/10 so I will try that al see what happens.

Thanks again!

Offline pablot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #22 on: February 16, 2017, 01:20:39 pm »
Went back to 2/10 VM snapshop, switched to STABLE, upgraded from console and now I'm on 2.3.3-RC

Thanks!!!

Offline survive

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #23 on: March 01, 2017, 07:07:08 pm »
Hi guys,

I had the same problem where I was running 2.3.4. I ran the gitsync command a from an earlier post & now the system reports 2.3.3 in the version box I still show:

Current Base System 2.3.4.a.20170227.0254

When I check for updates.

Is there a file I can edit to correct this?

-Will

Offline CiscoX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense version numbers
« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2017, 03:08:24 pm »
Hi,

I got this one today :)
500/500Mbps Fiber

Offline RonpfS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
  • Karma: +96/-2
    • View Profile
2.3.5-RELEASE (amd64)
Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q8400 @ 2.66GHz 8GB
pfBlockerNG 2.1.2_1/Dev, suricata 4.0.1

Offline CiscoX

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
500/500Mbps Fiber