The pfSense Store

Author Topic: playing with fq_codel in 2.4  (Read 12742 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline HeatmiserNYC

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #45 on: May 01, 2017, 09:25:21 pm »
That part HAS improved, looks like it does get about 145-ish or so which is about right. It just does nothing for bufferbloat.

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +29/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #46 on: May 01, 2017, 10:45:08 pm »
Can you post the full output of
Code: [Select]
ipfw sched show?

Offline moscato359

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +10/-6
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #47 on: May 03, 2017, 10:45:06 am »
I'd like to look at implementing this, but I was wondering

Anyone know the status of pfsync + limiters?

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +29/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #48 on: May 03, 2017, 11:34:41 am »
I'd like to look at implementing this, but I was wondering

Anyone know the status of pfsync + limiters?
What was the last status you know?  :D

Offline moscato359

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +10/-6
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #49 on: May 03, 2017, 06:05:21 pm »
The last status I know is that the pfsense book says not to use pfsync and limiters together, but doesn't explain why


Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +29/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #50 on: May 04, 2017, 12:52:26 pm »
The last status I know is that the pfsense book says not to use pfsync and limiters together, but doesn't explain why
This is actual. https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/4310 have 0% progress.

Offline moscato359

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +10/-6
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #51 on: May 04, 2017, 10:19:46 pm »
The last status I know is that the pfsense book says not to use pfsync and limiters together, but doesn't explain why
This is actual. https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/4310 have 0% progress.


D=

Offline moscato359

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +10/-6
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #52 on: June 08, 2017, 08:56:14 am »
Is there any chance fq_codel will make it into the 2.4 GUI in limiters?

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +29/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #53 on: June 11, 2017, 02:30:59 am »
Definitely not!
They are keeping eyes on it, but currently no plans, no moves, AFAIK.

Offline sofakng

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #54 on: June 26, 2017, 10:36:11 am »
Darn.  I'm thinking about switching back to pfSense but I really want fq_codel.

Offline Harvy66

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2195
  • Karma: +202/-12
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #55 on: June 26, 2017, 09:41:00 pm »
fq_codel, the ZFS of AQMs, or nearly. Cake aims to be the "ZFS", but close enough.

Offline superbree

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #56 on: July 07, 2017, 12:44:29 pm »
Is the command of "ipfw sched 1 config pipe 1 type fq_codel && ipfw sched 2 config pipe 2 type fq_codel" the same if I only have 2 root limiters?  Both of them are root limiters one has a mask of source and the other has a mask of destination.

I would like to try this out but wondering if the command is different for just root limiters without "child" queues.  Obviously I am highly dependent on the gui I am a bit confused with the ipfw command since it references both sched and pipe.

Thanks for any reply!

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +29/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #57 on: July 07, 2017, 10:49:14 pm »
TS sample is for the root limiters also, if you have  some troubles understanding, post the content of your /tmp/rules.limiter

Offline superbree

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #58 on: July 10, 2017, 11:55:28 am »
here is the content of my /tmp/rules.limiter

pipe 1 config  bw 100Mb mask dst-ip6 /128 dst-ip 0xffffffff
 

pipe 2 config  bw 10Mb mask src-ip6 /128 src-ip 0xffffffff
 
I need help with the ipfw command to enable fq_codel on pipes 1 and 2 because i don't have any child queues. 

thanks in advance
« Last Edit: July 10, 2017, 02:17:14 pm by superbree »

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Karma: +29/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #59 on: July 11, 2017, 12:41:50 am »
According to documentation posted in this thread you need to configure sheduler at least to make things work.

Code: [Select]
pipe 1 config bw 100Mb mask dst-ip6 /128 dst-ip 0xffffffff
sched 1 config pipe 1 type fq_codel

pipe 2 config bw 10Mb mask src-ip6 /128 src-ip 0xffffffff
sched 2 config pipe 2 type fq_codel

EDIT:
Tested, it will not work. You need to configure child queues and use them in ruleset, exactly as described by TS. Default automatically created pipe queue always uses FIFO sheduler and I am not sure it is possible to change this.

So after changes made in GUI also, you must edit and create your own rules.limiter that should look like this. 
Code: [Select]
pipe 1 config bw 100Mb
sched 1 config pipe 1 type fq_codel
queue 1 config pipe 1 mask dst-ip6 /128 dst-ip 0xffffffff

pipe 2 config bw 10Mb mask
sched 2 config pipe 2 type fq_codel
queue 2 config pipe 2 mask src-ip6 /128 src-ip 0xffffffff
So the right answer is no you can not shape with fq_codel using only root limiters.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2017, 01:51:41 am by w0w »