Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: playing with fq_codel in 2.4  (Read 6775 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chrcoluk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
  • Karma: +16/-50
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #90 on: September 10, 2017, 11:25:38 am »
yep read that thread which is why I made that comment about the fake cards.  When I can be bothered I will take closer photos of the card both sides.

I also yes have been considering flashing the firmware, but is not much documentation on how to use bootutil, the only guides I found were when using a uefi shell but they do not explain how to boot into a uefi shell.
pfSense 2.4
Braswell N3150 - 4 gig Kingston 1333 C11 DDR3L
60 gig kingston ssd - Jetway mini pcie 2x intel i350 lan

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Karma: +24/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #91 on: September 10, 2017, 01:38:55 pm »
Most of the UEFI motherboards will eat the bootmgr.efi placed in EFI\Microsoft\Boot\bootmgr.efi on FAT32 formatted USB flash.
Here you can find how to obtain it https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Unified_Extensible_Firmware_Interface#Obtaining_UEFI_Shell
I've used binaries from https://github.com/tianocore/edk2/tree/master/ShellBinPkg
From what I've learned reading forums the first sign that this is a fake is the price and redrawn "Delta-like" ethernet transformers on it.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2017, 09:45:14 pm by w0w »

Offline chrcoluk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
  • Karma: +16/-50
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #92 on: September 11, 2017, 09:55:06 am »
thanks for the help guys I do appreciate it.

I havent really got alternative kit to test on, but I managed to get pfsense running in esxi, after spending a couple of hours looking for a second nic (dual port server class intel nic I put in there both ports dead) and using vmx drivers in 2.4-RC is fine without polling.  So I am putting this down to a dodgy hardware setup and I think I am going to replace my unit.

But I am now going to leave this VM running so I can take the photos and play around with the firmware in the meantime without worrying about downtime.
pfSense 2.4
Braswell N3150 - 4 gig Kingston 1333 C11 DDR3L
60 gig kingston ssd - Jetway mini pcie 2x intel i350 lan

Offline pf3000

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #93 on: September 11, 2017, 03:54:39 pm »
I also yes have been considering flashing the firmware, but is not much documentation on how to use bootutil, the only guides I found were when using a uefi shell but they do not explain how to boot into a uefi shell.
I described how to flash via EFI here https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=112968.msg629211#msg629211

Offline chrcoluk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
  • Karma: +16/-50
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #94 on: September 11, 2017, 05:40:23 pm »
thanks is flashed, will post pics tomorrow but in a different thread as I am derailing this thread too much. I will edit this post with the link after I posted.

thread here https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=136561.new#new
« Last Edit: September 12, 2017, 01:48:15 pm by chrcoluk »
pfSense 2.4
Braswell N3150 - 4 gig Kingston 1333 C11 DDR3L
60 gig kingston ssd - Jetway mini pcie 2x intel i350 lan

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
  • Karma: +24/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #95 on: September 13, 2017, 10:52:53 pm »
« Last Edit: September 14, 2017, 11:04:01 am by w0w »

Offline Harvy66

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2108
  • Karma: +186/-11
    • View Profile
Re: playing with fq_codel in 2.4
« Reply #96 on: September 14, 2017, 10:01:53 am »
If it's an official Intel NIC, it will have a YottaMark sticker


According to Intel, if your NIC does not have a YottaMark, it is defective and should be returned. Without the YottaMark, you have no access to any warranty claims or support.