pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Routing between LAN and Google WiFi Network  (Read 325 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tevans

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Routing between LAN and Google WiFi Network
« on: March 20, 2017, 05:09:19 pm »
I have a Netgate SGS-8860 with a typical LAN on 192.168.1.x
I also have three of the Google WiFi devices.

Google Wifi has one main device that uses an IP address on the LAN, 192.168.1.195 in my case, and then assigns the other Google WiFi devices and any devices connected to the wireless network with a 192.168.86.x address  - the 192.168.86 cannot be changed - it's forced by Google.

The issue is any devices on the wireless network can't see devices on the LAN and vice versa.  I'd like to route all traffic between them.  How would that need to be done?
« Last Edit: March 20, 2017, 05:54:37 pm by tevans »

Offline tevans

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Routing between LAN and Google WiFi Network
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2017, 12:03:00 pm »
Since there haven't been any replies, is this even possible to do?  Should I get a different wireless setup so it will work?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 20323
  • Karma: +1221/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Routing between LAN and Google WiFi Network
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2017, 01:47:44 pm »
This is a question for a Google Wifi forum, not here. Unless someone happens to know about them, there isn't anything pfSense can do to help that situation.

They should be acting as bridges, not routers.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline tevans

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Routing between LAN and Google WiFi Network
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2017, 05:01:39 pm »
Thank you for the response. I figured that was the case, but wasn't certain. With Google Wifi you can only use bridged mode if you are using a single Google Wifi device. If you have more than one it cannot be used in bridge mode. Time for a different wireless solution, again.