The pfSense Store

Author Topic: pfSense in Azure and high availability  (Read 625 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vleinone

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
pfSense in Azure and high availability
« on: March 30, 2017, 06:10:46 am »
Hi,

Is there best practise how to setup high availability installation in Azure?
I have template which generates  enough interfaces, but i needed to know
how to configure psSense failover in Azure. Do I need to use load balancer and
if I need to use LB, how i need to configure pfSense firewalls (CARP etc)?

Br,

Ville

Offline qwerty1234

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense in Azure and high availability
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 07:46:25 am »
Hello everyone,
This is really really becoming more relevant. May you please share some guidance to implement this?Thanks

Offline basher590

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense in Azure and high availability
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2017, 09:32:30 am »
I am assuming from the lack of response that it's not possible at all. Having done a bit of reading I don't see any information on it.
You'd have to come up with a system of your own to sync the configs and load balance to a single unit, then fail-over to the secondary with a clever health-probe / local service listener on each device.
Would be good if someone has tried and failed or tried and succeeded to get this working to post their findings here.

Offline ghostworkz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense in Azure and high availability
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2017, 01:47:17 pm »
I am assuming from the lack of response that it's not possible at all. Having done a bit of reading I don't see any information on it.
You'd have to come up with a system of your own to sync the configs and load balance to a single unit, then fail-over to the secondary with a clever health-probe / local service listener on each device.
Would be good if someone has tried and failed or tried and succeeded to get this working to post their findings here.

We are attempting to do the same thing.  Any pointers on how you accomplished this?  I'm attempting to use a reverse load balancer, but can't get outbound traffic working.