Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand  (Read 724 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« on: April 14, 2017, 10:46:09 pm »
The system information widget is getting out of hand.  It needs to be split out by info and operational.

System/Serial number, BOIS, and CPU type could initiate  a new informational section.  No doubt there would be other future additions.

Offline doktornotor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8553
  • Karma: +956/-278
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2017, 03:18:27 am »
IIRC you can use the same widget multiple times in 2.4 and hide things as needed.

https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/7182
Do NOT PM for help!

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2017, 02:24:33 pm »
Guess I haven't been keeping up lately.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21404
  • Karma: +1437/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2017, 09:48:57 am »
We've tossed around the idea of splitting it up, putting the parts with data/graphs separate from the general info. No clear consensus on where to draw the line yet but it is getting a bit too large. Plus then we'd need upgrade code and everything else to handle the transition. Not difficult work but it hasn't made its way up anyone's list of priorities so far.

Using multiple copies and filters can help for those who want to shrink it for the time being.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline NOYB

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
  • Karma: +158/-273
    • View Profile
Re: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 04:43:05 pm »
If I had to make a decision on something like this I would start by identifying which items are obvious for group A and which are obvious for group B.  Then for the not so obvious items I would.

a) create a third group.
b) stick them in one group or the other.
c) rationalize each of them into group A or group B.  Whichever they seem to be best fit.

Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4612
  • Karma: +551/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2017, 04:24:57 am »
Because you can now have multiple copies of the widget on the dashboard and choose which items you like to see in each copy, there is no need to explicitly make 2 "system widgets" and decide in a fixed way what items to put in each.

You could just modify the default config so that it has 2 copies of the system widget on the default dashboard, with fields selected in some "reasonable" way. No "back-end" code is needed.

Users who do not like the existing, or some new default dashboard layout can flexibly modify it anyway.

Example: https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/pull/3703
« Last Edit: April 21, 2017, 04:51:04 am by phil.davis »
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/

Offline virgiliomi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 558
  • Karma: +74/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2017, 10:01:11 pm »
Yep, I played around with this, and it's cool... except I don't think I saw a way to rename the widget, or at least add some custom text to the title. For example, I might want all of the graph items to be labeled as "System resources" (if I could rename it), or "System Information - Resources" (if I could add some custom text to the end)...

Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4612
  • Karma: +551/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2017, 11:18:49 pm »
Yep, I played around with this, and it's cool... except I don't think I saw a way to rename the widget, or at least add some custom text to the title. For example, I might want all of the graph items to be labeled as "System resources" (if I could rename it), or "System Information - Resources" (if I could add some custom text to the end)...
Yeh, I have thought about that also - so I could rename "System Information" to "System Performance" for a filtered section, or filter OpenVPN to just show clients and name it "OpenVPN Clients" or... - I will have a quick look/think if there is an easy bit of code that can abstract that widget title easily.
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/

Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4612
  • Karma: +551/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: Sys Info Widget Getting Out of Hand
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2017, 07:52:36 am »
PR https://github.com/pfsense/pfsense/pull/3707 adds the ability to customize the widget title, for widgets that currently have any customizable options.

(For widgets that do not have anything customizable, the user is not likely to want/need to change the widget tile. And widgets like this do not have any of the code to show the "wrench tool" and open the settings panel. I was basically too lazy to add that to those widgets.)
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/