Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Should i disable the dhcp on my router when i enabled dhcp on pfsense?  (Read 337 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pfnewbie02

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
My setup is pfsense server lan connected to switch and router. Should i disable the dhcp on my router?

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9812
  • Karma: +1107/-311
    • View Profile
Impossible to answer with the given information.

In general there should only be one DHCP server on a given network segment.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline big_D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
As Derelict says, only one DHCP server. You need to disable one or the other.

Offline pfnewbie02

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Should i disable the dhcp on my router when i enabled dhcp on pfsense?
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2018, 10:33:12 pm »
Thanks to all! this topic is already SOLVED! Thanks!

Offline JKnott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1198
  • Karma: +53/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Should i disable the dhcp on my router when i enabled dhcp on pfsense?
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2018, 05:16:52 am »
Quote
In general there should only be one DHCP server on a given network segment.

Actually, that's incorrect.  There may be reasons, such as redundancy for having more than one.  However, in that case, there has to be some means to ensure they don't try to hand out the same addresses.  The easiest way is to divide the address pool among them.  DHCP is designed to work with multiple servers.

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9812
  • Karma: +1107/-311
    • View Profile
Re: Should i disable the dhcp on my router when i enabled dhcp on pfsense?
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2018, 05:18:22 am »
Come on, man.

One DHCP server on the network.

Configuring multiples to work as a team is beyond the scope of this thread.
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline JKnott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1198
  • Karma: +53/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Should i disable the dhcp on my router when i enabled dhcp on pfsense?
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2018, 03:25:47 pm »
I'm not saying more than one DHCP server is needed on a small network, but many people are of the opinion that you can't have more than one and that's nonsense.  As I mentioned, it is possible and is done for redundancy.  Incidentally, today I was working in the Bell Canada lab, and guess what I saw.  Lots of redundant everything, including DNS servers.  I didn't specifically see them for DHCP, but I wouldn't be surprised if they were there..

As I mentioned, one issue that may occur with DHCP servers is multiple servers handing out the same address.  These days, the trend is to Duplicate Address Detection, which avoids that problem.  While DAD is mandatory on IPv6 and commonly used on IPv4, you can't guarantee every IPv4 device uses it, so it's best to have different address ranges for each DHCPv4 server.