pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Need help getting port forwarding to work  (Read 1050 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Need help getting port forwarding to work
« on: May 24, 2017, 11:27:00 pm »
Can not get port forwarding to work for the life of me. Created port forwarding entry based off of the Pfsense doc. I let the entry to create an associated rule. Started up the game, NAT type remained the same. Look at Diagnostics/States/States no entry was found. Tried using UPnP as a possible fix, also didn't help. There is an entry in the UPnP rules for one of the ports that the game requires to be forwarded. Not sure what need to be done to fix this. Any help would be appreciated.

Offline CuteBoi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2017, 02:25:15 am »
Is your WAN address by any chance a BOGON Private IP address?

If it's a Private/BOGON address, it means you're behind another router, and port forwarding would have to be initiated on the outside network.

Offline Bones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2017, 02:15:05 pm »
That shouldn't be the case. I was able to port forward just fine with a crappy Asus router.

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14456
  • Karma: +1337/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2017, 03:16:54 pm »
https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Port_Forward_Troubleshooting

Where did you come up with that port 27017?  Don't you need like 3074 or 3075 depending on what console your on.

Isn't 27017 steam game chat?
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline Bones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2017, 09:13:10 pm »
Aside from troubleshooting step 5 on the Pfsense doc, I have tried the other four and looked into some of the common issues and can't find what my problem is. Port 27017 is what COD recommends within the game. I do need to add more ports to correctly forward all of the games traffic.

Another thing I noticed, Plex server says it can not be connected to externally using port 32400 despite port forwarding. However I can still connect to it from another network using there web app. Also can't find any reference to what port it is using in system logs or states. 

Offline Rondras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2017, 05:24:46 am »
https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Port_Forward_Troubleshooting

Where did you come up with that port 27017?  Don't you need like 3074 or 3075 depending on what console your on.

Isn't 27017 steam game chat?
It does actually say "Call of Duty" in the rules, I assume he had NAT problems with the game so he made that.

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14456
  • Karma: +1337/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2017, 05:44:09 am »
And call of duty doesn't use just that port that is in a range it says it needs.

https://support.activision.com/articles/en_US/FAQ/Ports-Used-for-Call-of-Duty-Games
(see attached)

If his game is not showing him the nat mode he wants.. Open, etc..  Then he needs to forward all the ports the game requires.  As to plex..

How are you doing it, manual or UPnP?

This is easy enough to test.. Forward the port, then go to canyouseeme.org or use the tool in plex to test if port is open.


- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline Bones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2017, 07:45:07 pm »
Tried port forwarding Plex manually and it's still not working. Canyouseeme.org says "Error: I could not see your service on * on port (32411). Reason: Connection refused" Also Plex says it can't connect to the outside internet, but I can access it from another network through their web app. 

And call of duty doesn't use just that port that is in a range it says it needs.


I was trying one of the ports Activisions suggest to open and tested it with Canyouseeme but got the same error.


« Last Edit: May 27, 2017, 07:56:07 pm by Bones »

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14456
  • Karma: +1337/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2017, 04:36:28 am »
So your plex is listening on 32400, but your forward 32411  that is not going to work.. If you want to use different outside port then in your forward you need to change the port on the redirect to 32400

BTW you posted your public IP - might not want to do that?  I blocked it out in my screencap of your images.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2017, 04:40:48 am by johnpoz »
- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline Bones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2017, 08:22:51 pm »
Thanks, forgot to block it out before uploading. Got Plex to port forward correctly. However I still get a connection timed out error from Canyouseeme when testing 27017.

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14456
  • Karma: +1337/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2017, 05:08:21 am »
you sure its listening?  And its tcp?

Check your game - is it actually listening on that port?

Go through the doc..
https://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Port_Forward_Troubleshooting

What I can tell you from all the years being here, and all the different versions of pfsense - I can not recall a time that port forwarding problems were not pebkac

- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline Bones

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2017, 03:25:50 pm »
Not sure how to check if my game is listening on those ports. I did add all of the suggested ports from that attachment and COD still says I'm on a strict NAT.

Offline tagit446

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting port forwarding to work
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2017, 11:20:16 pm »
Bones, I know it's been a few months but were you able to get port forwarding for COD sorted out?

If so how?

I'm currently beating my head against the wall trying to get an "Open NAT" in Black Ops 3. I have tried everything in the pfSense help pages but still no joy.
pfSense v2.4.2 - RELEASE (amd64) running on AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor, Asus M4A89GTD PRO motherboard, Dell / Intel Pro/1000 VT Quad Port PCI-E Gigabit NIC Dell P/N 0H092p