The pfSense Store

Author Topic: softflowd issue  (Read 463 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ka3ax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
softflowd issue
« on: June 06, 2017, 08:31:42 am »
Hi,

I am playing with softflowd on my pfsense box. I would like to import NetFlow v5 to Nxfilter. I followed official article "Exporting NetFlow with softflowd" during installation and configuration.

Looks like softflowd exports wrong data to netflow collector. I download a test file of 100MB and Nxfilter shows 2MB consumed...

I have also tried softflowd with PRTG. The same strange results - wrong data shown.

Is there some other important config step I miss? Are there people who get correct netflow results with softflowd?

Tahnks!

Offline ka3ax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: softflowd issue
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2017, 01:42:23 am »
Still no luck for me with softflowd so I finally gave up on it. I am playing with FlowTraq Exporter now (a free software flow exporter). I use it on a dedicated capture host and I wonder if I can install it right on my pfSense box. Any experience?

Offline luckman212

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: +59/-0
    • View Profile
    • @luckman212 - github
Re: softflowd issue
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2017, 04:51:18 pm »
How's FlowTraq working for you? I stumbled onto it today and was considering having a go.

Offline ka3ax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: softflowd issue
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2017, 03:31:49 am »
Hi luckman212. FlowTraq Exporter works fine for me. I still have no way to run it on pfSenese. So I still run it on dedicated Windows box. The results are quite accurate, 2-3% difference with controlled measurements.