pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: VMware Remote Console gets frozen randomly...  (Read 435 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oxyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
VMware Remote Console gets frozen randomly...
« on: June 07, 2017, 07:37:42 am »
Hi everyone,

I've got the following issue regarding my homelab, using pfSense 2.3.4:

My setup is the following:
  • 2x DL380 G7's running several VM's. (both HP images 6.0u3)
  • vCenter 6.5b
  • pfSense being hosted by one of the above hosts.

Networking:
  • VLAN10: My network for end-users with laptops/phones/tablets.
  • VLAN11: Network for all my (virtual) servers including vCenter, and ESX.

At this moment pfSense allows ALL traffic between VLAN11 and 10.

My problem is the following:
  • If I connect to my vCenter using it's management IP within VLAN11 I can connect, which is fine. I can set up HTML5 (web) consoles to all my VM's which is all good.
  • If I connect to a VM using the VMRC that is being hosted by one of the ESXi machines in VLAN11 I get random freezes when there are animations (scrolling, browsing folders) on the screen.

However if I try to connect to my hosts on their management IP's in VLAN10 (no routing needed here) I experience no freezes at all. I tried running Wireshark and I see some connection resets going on, when my issue occurs. However I am not certain on how to fix this.
This is getting very annoying since I am not able to use VMRC's at all now when needing to configure something.

I've tried to run Wireshark regarding my issue and this is the output I get every time I run into this issue:
https://i.imgur.com/rDgLmmK.png

Does anyone got any idea about this? I had a old Sophos XG VM lying around and booted up that once, to check if the issue still persisted and it didn't at all. So this seems a pfSense issue somehow. And yes, all VM's have the latest VMware Tools installed!
Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: June 07, 2017, 07:52:24 am by oxyle »

Offline oxyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Remote Console gets frozen randomly...
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2017, 12:29:23 pm »
Just an update:

I've reinstalled a completely new virtual machine and my issue keeps persisting...

Offline oxyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Remote Console gets frozen randomly...
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2017, 08:52:06 am »
Anyone at all being able to shine a light on this issue?

I've reinstalled pfSense from scratch multiple times right now, tried all sorts of network adapters within VMware.

None have helped, and it's getting really troublesome in a homelab right now. I've tried Sophos XG and the issue doesn't persist in that system, but some functionality is key in my pfSense VM...

Offline faridx82

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Remote Console gets frozen randomly...
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2017, 01:14:21 am »
What if you power off or disconnect one of the esxi machines? Do you still have the same error?

Offline oxyle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: VMware Remote Console gets frozen randomly...
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 03:39:17 pm »
Yes! I even reinstalled both of the hosts (and their datastores)!

Even on 2.4.0 the issue still persists!