pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic  (Read 22900 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Duckmuck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #420 on: November 08, 2017, 01:24:49 pm »
Hi!

Has anyone tried running iperf on Qotom? Why am I not getting gigabit speeds towards the Qotom?

I have the Qotom-Q355G4.

When running iperf from my Qotom to my i7 server, The Qotom is not performing well I would say..
I have a Gigabit network, tried swapping cables out, but doubt that is the problem.

Qotom(client) -> Siwtch -> i7-server(server)

[  5] local 10.0.1.1 port 56602 connected to 10.0.1.11 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr  Cwnd
[  5]   0.00-1.00   sec  53.6 MBytes   450 Mbits/sec  144   46.8 KBytes       
[  5]   1.00-2.00   sec  69.7 MBytes   584 Mbits/sec  138   48.3 KBytes       
[  5]   2.00-3.00   sec  69.6 MBytes   584 Mbits/sec  136   56.8 KBytes       
[  5]   3.00-4.00   sec  69.9 MBytes   586 Mbits/sec  128   45.4 KBytes       
[  5]   4.00-5.00   sec  69.7 MBytes   585 Mbits/sec  126   52.5 KBytes       
[  5]   5.00-6.00   sec  69.7 MBytes   585 Mbits/sec  132   31.1 KBytes       
[  5]   6.00-7.00   sec  69.8 MBytes   586 Mbits/sec  127   38.3 KBytes       
[  5]   7.00-8.00   sec  69.8 MBytes   585 Mbits/sec  131   51.1 KBytes       
[  5]   8.00-9.00   sec  71.0 MBytes   595 Mbits/sec  116   53.9 KBytes       
[  5]   9.00-10.00  sec  72.0 MBytes   604 Mbits/sec  107   45.4 KBytes       
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr
[  5]   0.00-10.00  sec   685 MBytes   574 Mbits/sec  1285             sender
[  5]   0.00-10.13  sec   684 MBytes   567 Mbits/sec                  receiver

iperf Done.

Doing the same from my laptop to my server:
Laptop -> Switch -> i7-Server
  4] local 10.0.1.145 port 35808 connected to 10.0.1.11 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Retr  Cwnd
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec  80.3 MBytes   674 Mbits/sec  1413   62.2 KBytes       
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec  79.2 MBytes   665 Mbits/sec  1398   93.3 KBytes       
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec  79.5 MBytes   667 Mbits/sec  1215   45.2 KBytes       
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec  79.5 MBytes   667 Mbits/sec  1276   56.6 KBytes       
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec  79.1 MBytes   664 Mbits/sec  1151   63.6 KBytes       
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec  79.4 MBytes   666 Mbits/sec  1173   70.7 KBytes       
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec  79.8 MBytes   669 Mbits/sec  1040   45.2 KBytes       
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec  79.6 MBytes   668 Mbits/sec  1195   79.2 KBytes       
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec  79.4 MBytes   666 Mbits/sec  1268   69.3 KBytes       
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec  79.0 MBytes   662 Mbits/sec  1121   48.1 KBytes       
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Retr
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec   795 MBytes   667 Mbits/sec  12250             sender
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec   794 MBytes   666 Mbits/sec                  receiver

iperf Done.


From my server to Qotom it's even slower:
server i-7 (client) -> Switch -> Qotom (server)

[  5] local 10.0.1.11 port 40958 connected to 10.0.1.1 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr  Cwnd
[  5]   0.00-1.00   sec  35.9 MBytes   301 Mbits/sec    0    249 KBytes       
[  5]   1.00-2.00   sec  35.4 MBytes   297 Mbits/sec    0    249 KBytes       
[  5]   2.00-3.00   sec  33.4 MBytes   280 Mbits/sec    0    249 KBytes       
[  5]   3.00-4.00   sec  34.0 MBytes   285 Mbits/sec    0    249 KBytes       
[  5]   4.00-5.00   sec  33.9 MBytes   284 Mbits/sec    0    269 KBytes       
[  5]   5.00-6.00   sec  34.3 MBytes   288 Mbits/sec    0    276 KBytes       
[  5]   6.00-7.00   sec  34.7 MBytes   291 Mbits/sec    0    276 KBytes       
[  5]   7.00-8.00   sec  34.1 MBytes   286 Mbits/sec    0    276 KBytes       
[  5]   8.00-9.00   sec  35.2 MBytes   296 Mbits/sec    0    276 KBytes       
[  5]   9.00-10.00  sec  35.8 MBytes   300 Mbits/sec    0    276 KBytes       
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bitrate         Retr
[  5]   0.00-10.00  sec   347 MBytes   291 Mbits/sec    0             sender
[  5]   0.00-10.00  sec   345 MBytes   290 Mbits/sec                  receiver

iperf Done.


Running Pfsense 2.4.1

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-5250U CPU @ 1.60GHz
4 CPUs: 1 package(s) x 2 core(s) x 2 hardware threads
AES-NI CPU Crypto: Yes (active)
8G Ram
120 GB Samsung SSD with ZFS.


Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #421 on: November 08, 2017, 01:26:29 pm »
Looks to me like your switch is bad or your settings are wrong. We are getting 1Gbit speeds with iperf easily.

Offline Duckmuck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #422 on: November 08, 2017, 01:47:34 pm »
Looks to me like your switch is bad or your settings are wrong. We are getting 1Gbit speeds with iperf easily.

Ok that is somewhat good to hear. I do get higher speeds on the same switch with other equipment (I have Ubiquiti Edge switch lite 24P).
What settings are you referring to? Where do I begin to look?

Best Regards, D

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #423 on: November 08, 2017, 01:56:29 pm »
Looks to me like your switch is bad or your settings are wrong. We are getting 1Gbit speeds with iperf easily.

Ok that is somewhat good to hear. I do get higher speeds on the same switch with other equipment (I have Ubiquiti Edge switch lite 24P).
What settings are you referring to? Where do I begin to look?

Best Regards, D

Start at the switch if it's managed and access the port status. Check if there are a lot of frame errors.

Offline Duckmuck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #424 on: November 08, 2017, 04:29:39 pm »
It's managed. No Frame errors. Guess I can swap in a dumb switch to be 100%.

Unicast Packets    53454860    59508144
Multicast Packets    1182959    4
Broadcast Packets    3183757    7595
Total Packets (Octets)    35192805011    60877604307
Packets > 1518 Octets    0    0
802.3x Pause Frames    0    0
FCS Errors       0

Total Transmit Packets Discarded    0
Single Collision Frames    0
Multiple Collision Frames    0
Excessive Collision Frames    0
Underrun Errors    
GMRP Failed Registrations    0
GVRP Failed Registrations    0
Advanced Receive
Total Packets Received Not Forwarded    0
Total Packets Received With MAC Errors    0
Overruns    0
Alignment Errors    0
Jabbers Received    0
Fragments Received    0
Undersize Received    0
Unacceptable Frame Type    0


Anything else I could check?

Offline Duckmuck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #425 on: November 09, 2017, 11:40:03 am »
So, ran on a different switch, ran on both nics on my server directly into the Qotom.

This is what it looks like on the other NIC connected via the switch:

Connecting to host 10.0.1.1, port 5201
[  4] local 10.0.1.145 port 35210 connected to 10.0.1.1 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Retr  Cwnd
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec   113 MBytes   944 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec   112 MBytes   936 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec   112 MBytes   938 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec   111 MBytes   935 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec   111 MBytes   934 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec   111 MBytes   930 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec   112 MBytes   939 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec   111 MBytes   935 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec   111 MBytes   933 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec   112 MBytes   936 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Retr
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.09 GBytes   936 Mbits/sec    0             sender
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.09 GBytes   934 Mbits/sec                  receiver

iperf Done.



I have two intel nics in my server one is PCI and the other one is PCIe 1x. The 1x is performing Gigabit above the other one only 300 MBit.
Thanks johnkeates for point out something other than Qotom was not working correctly.
Now I have to figure out why I only get 300 Mbit on the PCI one.

Regards, D

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #426 on: November 09, 2017, 11:47:18 am »
So, ran on a different switch, ran on both nics on my server directly into the Qotom.

This is what it looks like on the other NIC connected via the switch:

Connecting to host 10.0.1.1, port 5201
[  4] local 10.0.1.145 port 35210 connected to 10.0.1.1 port 5201
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Retr  Cwnd
[  4]   0.00-1.00   sec   113 MBytes   944 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   1.00-2.00   sec   112 MBytes   936 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   2.00-3.00   sec   112 MBytes   938 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   3.00-4.00   sec   111 MBytes   935 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   4.00-5.00   sec   111 MBytes   934 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   5.00-6.00   sec   111 MBytes   930 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   6.00-7.00   sec   112 MBytes   939 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   7.00-8.00   sec   111 MBytes   935 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   8.00-9.00   sec   111 MBytes   933 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
[  4]   9.00-10.00  sec   112 MBytes   936 Mbits/sec    0    375 KBytes       
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval           Transfer     Bandwidth       Retr
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.09 GBytes   936 Mbits/sec    0             sender
[  4]   0.00-10.00  sec  1.09 GBytes   934 Mbits/sec                  receiver

iperf Done.



I have two intel nics in my server one is PCI and the other one is PCIe 1x. The 1x is performing Gigabit above the other one only 300 MBit.
Thanks johnkeates for point out something other than Qotom was not working correctly.
Now I have to figure out why I only get 300 Mbit on the PCI one.

Regards, D

This might be related to the limitations of the PCI bus. There are a number of configurations that allow for certain speeds. Depending on the motherboard, chipset and possible PCIe to PCI bridges (they are sometimes integrated on new motherboard to allow legacy PCI devices).

A quick google shows PCI speeds:

133 MB/s (32-bit at 33 MHz the standard configuration)
266 MB/s (32-bit at 66 MHz or 64-bit at 33 MHz)
533 MB/s (64-bit at 66 MHz)

So if you are at 32-bit on 33Mhz then the card would be really close to the maximum speed of a Gigabit wire bit rate. Add some overhead and possible division due to duplexing and you have about half a gigabit per second. Another possibility is that the bus is shared or connected to a low speed upstream bus causing further limitations.

Offline Duckmuck

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #427 on: November 09, 2017, 11:58:25 am »
      description: Ethernet interface
       product: 82574L Gigabit Network Connection
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:06:00.0
       logical name: eth1
       version: 00
       serial: 00:1b:21:3f:5f:88
       size: 1Gbit/s
       capacity: 1Gbit/s
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix bus_master cap_list rom ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd 1000bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=e1000e driverversion=3.2.6-k duplex=full firmware=1.8-0 ip=10.0.1.11 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=1Gbit/s
       resources: irq:19 memory:f7cc0000-f7cdffff memory:f7c00000-f7c7ffff ioport:c000(size=32) memory:f7ce0000-f7ce3fff memory:f7c80000-f7cbffff


It's indeed running at 33MHz, I will try and swap it around to see if performance is improved in the other slots.

Offline VAMike

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
  • Karma: +64/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #428 on: November 09, 2017, 12:12:04 pm »
I have two intel nics in my server one is PCI and the other one is PCIe 1x. The 1x is performing Gigabit above the other one only 300 MBit.
Thanks johnkeates for point out something other than Qotom was not working correctly.
Now I have to figure out why I only get 300 Mbit on the PCI one.

This might be related to the limitations of the PCI bus. There are a number of configurations that allow for certain speeds. Depending on the motherboard, chipset and possible PCIe to PCI bridges (they are sometimes integrated on new motherboard to allow legacy PCI devices).

A quick google shows PCI speeds:

133 MB/s (32-bit at 33 MHz the standard configuration)
266 MB/s (32-bit at 66 MHz or 64-bit at 33 MHz)
533 MB/s (64-bit at 66 MHz)

So if you are at 32-bit on 33Mhz then the card would be really close to the maximum speed of a Gigabit wire bit rate.
You're actually under it--unlike PCIe, that's a half-duplex 133MB/s...

Offline tgreen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #429 on: November 13, 2017, 10:51:09 am »
Try UEFI boot mode for 2.4
Ok I had it set to UEFI and Legacy, that did not work. Setting to only UEFI in BIOS did the job. Thanks a lot johnkeates!

Hey johnkeates,

This is the exact issue I have with this same box. Do you have any info on how to boot in UEFI mode? I'm not very savvy in this, and it's starting to get me baffled

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #430 on: November 13, 2017, 10:53:28 am »
Try UEFI boot mode for 2.4
Ok I had it set to UEFI and Legacy, that did not work. Setting to only UEFI in BIOS did the job. Thanks a lot johnkeates!

Hey johnkeates,

This is the exact issue I have with this same box. Do you have any info on how to boot in UEFI mode? I'm not very savvy in this, and it's starting to get me baffled

Use pfSense 2.4 for the installer. In the Qotom BIOS, disable CSM and legacy BIOS options (in the boot options IIRC - don't have one with me at the moment). When starting, it should automatically select the USB stick with pfSense 2.4.

Offline tgreen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #431 on: November 15, 2017, 10:24:23 am »
Use pfSense 2.4 for the installer. In the Qotom BIOS, disable CSM and legacy BIOS options (in the boot options IIRC - don't have one with me at the moment). When starting, it should automatically select the USB stick with pfSense 2.4.

Not sure what is wrong here, but I'm still stuck

I located the CSM and was able to disable along with removing legacy from the boot
I also set it to power on on power loss (likely not relevant at this stage)

Since I couldn't get the install to go, I used Gparted and wiped the drive again (left at ext3, which I assume is irrelevant)

I cannot locate pfSense 2.4, but I'm using 2.4.1 (which should be the same as that's a minor up from 2.4)

I've tried variants of the installer (using Rufus to write the USB images)
MBR partition for UEFI and GPT partition for UEFI

Not seeing any real difference here
pfSense-CE-memstick-ADI-2.4.1-RELEASE-amd64 - loads to the black screen with the white cursor
pfSense-CE-memstick-serial-2.4.1-RELEASE-amd64 - loads up to 'unblocking device'

Really not sure what I'm missing here.

Think I could pop the SSD out and install using a different machine and pop it back in?  Wouldn't be the same machine specs, so I assume that would cause issues



Offline Panja

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #432 on: November 15, 2017, 01:46:51 pm »
@tgreen

Did you try:
pfSense-CE-memstick-2.4.1-RELEASE-amd64

??

This is the normal (memstick) with VGA support (or in our case HDMI).
 
Qotom Q355G4 - 8GB ram - 64GB ssd
pfSense v2.4.2
TP-Link TL-SG108E
2x TP-Link Archer C7: LEDE Reboot 17.01.4

Offline tgreen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #433 on: November 15, 2017, 03:30:25 pm »
@tgreen

Did you try:
pfSense-CE-memstick-2.4.1-RELEASE-amd64

??

This is the normal (memstick) with VGA support (or in our case HDMI).

I did not, will try now

Select Image To Download

Version: 2.4.1
Architecture:AMD64
Installer: USB Memory Stick
Console: VGA

Wrote to USB using Rufus GPT Partition scheme for UEFI

Result:  Success

Much appreciated Panja and johnkeates!!


Offline Panja

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unofficial QOTOM Hardware Topic
« Reply #434 on: November 16, 2017, 02:43:31 am »
No problem!  8)
Good to hear everything is working now.
 
Qotom Q355G4 - 8GB ram - 64GB ssd
pfSense v2.4.2
TP-Link TL-SG108E
2x TP-Link Archer C7: LEDE Reboot 17.01.4