pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Chelsio T3 - Firmware  (Read 510 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TheGandalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Chelsio T3 - Firmware
« on: July 15, 2017, 01:00:01 pm »
Hello.
I've been having this problem all day and am getting mad now.

I have a Chelsio T3 dual SFP module in my server.
It tells me that it can not find the firmware of the card.

I just can't understand it, because it should be with the installation of pfsense.?
I've been in the filesystem i the boot folder, and wrote "YES" to the T3 adapter. It can also be seen in the picture I have attached.

Is there anyone that can help me, I'd appreciate it! :)



//Gandalf / Morten

Offline BlueKobold

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2438
  • Karma: +192/-104
  • pfSense rocks!
    • View Profile
Re: Chelsio T3 - Firmware
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2017, 09:07:45 pm »
Quote
I've been having this problem all day and am getting mad now.
You are are not alone These days! pfSense - Chelsio T3 firmware

Quote
I have a Chelsio T3 dual SFP module in my server.
Would you perhaps so friendly and determine the right adapter name and brand or vendor?
This adapter can be also a refurbished IBM one and then it comes perhaps with his own (proprietary) firmware image!!!!
Chelsio T3 website

Quote
I just can't understand it, because it should be with the installation of pfsense.?
I've been in the filesystem i the boot folder, and wrote "YES" to the T3 adapter. It can also be seen in the picture I have attached.
It is supported since the year 2007! FreeBSD cxgb(4)

Quote
Is there anyone that can help me, I'd appreciate it!
You could try out perhaps the pfSense Beta image from the version 2.4 to get rid of that problem or you must be really
knowing what exactly card you own and perhaps re flash that card with the original firmware image from Chelsio.







 
Greetings from Germany
Frank

Offline TheGandalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chelsio T3 - Firmware
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2017, 09:11:28 am »
Hi
Thank you very much for your answer.
It's actually a "NetApp 110-1040-20 E0" (Chelsio S320E-CR )

Precisely, that was also what I read that it was supported since 2007. So I can't really understand it.

I've updated for Beta 2.4, but without any kind of success

//Morten
« Last Edit: July 17, 2017, 09:37:04 am by TheGandalf »

Offline BlueKobold

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2438
  • Karma: +192/-104
  • pfSense rocks!
    • View Profile
Re: Chelsio T3 - Firmware
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2017, 12:37:37 pm »
Quote
It's actually a "NetApp 110-1040-20 E0" (Chelsio S320E-CR)
Ok, is there perhaps a proprietary firmware flashed from NetApp on that adapter and now that re branded firmware
will be not inside of pfSense? I mean for the legacy adapter the firmware is inside of the kernel, but not for the re
branded one you are using now and here in that case!? Perhaps you may try out to get the latest original firmware
for that network adapter and you may flash this on the card back and try it out once more again. Will this be the
point here in that game!?


Chelsio legacy adapters
I would try out to re flash the firmware on that card led by the offered tools from Chelsio, so under MS Windows
or Linux it might be better then trying it out directly under pfSense or FreeBSD.

Greetings from Germany
Frank

Offline TheGandalf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chelsio T3 - Firmware
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2017, 08:48:47 am »
Yes, finally, it works.

https://www.reddit.com/r/PFSENSE/comments/6lnk9a/chelsio_t3_sfp_card_firmware_update/

"I eventually got the card flashed by installing the latest FreeNAS. Apparently FreeNAS contains the latest firmware and will automatically update if it detects older firmware. Once the FreeNAS install completed, I erased the drive, installed pfSense again, and all was well.
I wish pfSense would do the same automatically!"

Thanks for the inputs :)

Offline mikeisfly

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Chelsio T3 - Firmware
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2017, 09:01:28 pm »
I can confirm that this process works. I brought a Chelsio Card S320E with dual CX4 interfaces. After installing FreeNAS 11 on a spare drive and loading it for the first time the firmware was installed on the card. I then swapped the PfSense HDD back and I was good to go. Not sure why the firmware is not included in PfSense I'm using the latest PfSense snapshot 2.4.2.a something built on 10 Nov 2017. But everything is working fine now.