pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: New to PFsense, Installation Issues  (Read 433 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline b00rishev

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
New to PFsense, Installation Issues
« on: August 07, 2017, 05:56:05 am »
Hello,

I finally got around to trying out pfsense. Although unfortunately I can't even get as far as the webui.

Hardware is as follows:

Gigabyte N3050m-d3p - mobo / soc, only a dual core celery, but i got it new for 17 gbp, so was hoping this would be ok just to play with?
8GB RAM - crucial, bog standard stuff
64GB Transced SSD

I did note than many recommend an Intel nic, so Iíve just bought an Intel Pro/1000PT 1Gb/s Dual Port NIC x3959.
Thatís pretty much it.

For my home I have my internet with Pulse8, 65/20 going into a Zyxel VMG3925-B VDSL. This is downstairs next to the master socket, i then run cat5e up to a netgear gs208 8 port switch in my computer room.

The issue is getting IP addresses allocated to the WAN and LAN NICs. I either get one or the other. I've tried many combinations of cables to different ports, even tried the onboard realtek NIC.
In fact, only on one occasion I got IP's on both (don't ask me how, just fluked it i think), then when i thought i had success, i couldn't access the webui from my main rig. Just timed out, no ping, nothing.

Any help would be appreciated!
Marko

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2147
  • Karma: +165/-9
    • View Profile
Re: New to PFsense, Installation Issues
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 10:36:20 am »
Hi,

Your "Zyxel VMG3925-B VDSL" is distibuting IP's using its DHCP server ? What IP settings ?
pfSense, on the WAN port, is set up how ? (on the WAN NIC : uncheck "Block private networks and loopback addresses" because you are using a router-after-router setup.
What LAN settings are you using ?

(seen very often : WAN becomes a 192.168.1./24 and LAN is set (default) the same : start calling Houston for failure code number 1.)

Why the switch between "Zyxel VMG3925-B VDSL" and the pfSense box ?

Offline lonblu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New to PFsense, Installation Issues
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2017, 05:46:37 pm »


The issue is getting IP addresses allocated to the WAN and LAN NICs.

You want those nics to serve DHCP server or them to get automatic client ip?

Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2433
  • Karma: +145/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: New to PFsense, Installation Issues
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2017, 12:00:16 pm »
The issue is getting IP addresses allocated to the WAN and LAN NICs. I either get one or the other.
Sounds like you got the scope wrong and connected both LAN and WAN to your switch.

Do it this way:
Zyxel --- pfSense WAN | pfSense LAN --- SWITCH --- computers, printers, APs, etc.

Only WAN gets an IP from the Zyxel (as long as that one is not in bridged mode).
Set IP for LAN manually. Must be different from IP-on-WAN settings, completely different subnet.
pfSense is a router. It can only route between different networks. Otherwise it would be a bridge/switch.
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.