The pfSense Store

Author Topic: PKG installer high CPU  (Read 100 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lonblu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
PKG installer high CPU
« on: August 12, 2017, 12:30:46 pm »
I started noticing my Pfsense gateway slowed down, then I have found out the CPU is always 100% because of pkg installer.

So I backed up the config without packages, reinstalled pfsense and imported old config.
Still there is an issue in retrieving the list of package, and cpu utilisation is abnormal.



CPU Activity

last pid: 48831;  load averages:  2.01,  1.57,  0.83  up 0+00:08:24    20:27:25
126 processes: 6 running, 98 sleeping, 22 waiting

Mem: 47M Active, 43M Inact, 224M Wired, 19M Buf, 649M Free
Swap: 2048M Total, 2048M Free


  PID USERNAME PRI NICE   SIZE    RES STATE   C   TIME    WCPU COMMAND
46989 root     103    0 45336K  8708K CPU1    1   6:53 100.00% pkg update
55919 root     103    0 45336K  9348K CPU2    2   6:41  99.27% /usr/sbin/pkg search -R --raw-format json-
   11 root     155 ki31     0K    48K RUN     0   4:30  44.48% [idle{idle: cpu0}]
   11 root     155 ki31     0K    48K RUN     2   3:35  30.96% [idle{idle: cpu2}]
   11 root     155 ki31     0K    48K RUN     1   3:16  28.08% [idle{idle: cpu1}]


What should I do next?

Offline lonblu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PKG installer high CPU
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2017, 01:44:20 pm »
Updating pfsense-core repository catalogue...

NOthing happens. I have rebooted several times after waiting much longer that usual

Where can i find pkg installer logs?
How can I clean the cache or old package list?

Offline PiBa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 614
  • Karma: +104/-1
  • PiBa-NL(on IRC)
    • View Profile
Re: PKG installer high CPU
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2017, 02:02:27 pm »
"reinstalled pfsense" sounds the 100% sure way to clean cache..?

Offline lonblu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PKG installer high CPU
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2017, 05:32:34 pm »
DNS issue...
It s working now...