The pfSense Store

Author Topic: No Packages?  (Read 516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bamsefar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
No Packages?
« on: September 08, 2017, 09:59:01 am »
Okay I know I am new to this, however I am sure I did see some packages before 2.4RC, however today when I thought about som sort of adblock, I tried to enter packages available - and I get a message that says:

* Unable to retrieve package information

However I am, as I just wrote, shure I have seen the list before RC - so what am I doing wrong?

Yes I have internet connection, www.pfsense.org works perfect.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: No Packages?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2017, 11:46:37 am »
It should see packages on RC. Try checking from a shell prompt using "pkg update -f", see what it prints.

Also try going to System > Update, Update Settings tab. Pick some other branch such as Development Snapshots, then save. Then go back and change it to Stable, save again and then see if you can see the packages.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline Bamsefar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Packages?
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2017, 12:26:38 pm »
Quote from: pkg update -f
[2.4.0-RC][admin@pfSense.localdomain]/root: pkg update -f
Updating pfSense-core repository catalogue...
pkg: Repository pfSense-core load error: access repo file(/var/db/pkg/repo-pfSense-core.sqlite) failed: No such file or directory
pkg: https://beta.pfsense.org/packages/pfSense_devel_amd64-core/meta.txz: Not Found
repository pfSense-core has no meta file, using default settings
pkg: https://beta.pfsense.org/packages/pfSense_devel_amd64-core/packagesite.txz: Not Found
Unable to update repository pfSense-core
Updating pfSense repository catalogue...
pkg: Repository pfSense load error: access repo file(/var/db/pkg/repo-pfSense.sqlite) failed: No such file or directory
pkg: https://beta.pfsense.org/packages/pfSense_devel_amd64-pfSense_devel/meta.txz: Not Found
repository pfSense has no meta file, using default settings
pkg: https://beta.pfsense.org/packages/pfSense_devel_amd64-pfSense_devel/packagesite.txz: Not Found
Unable to update repository pfSense
Error updating repositories!

I am already on Development Snapshots - so I changed to Stable - and now all of a sudden I see all packages.

And when I after this opened a shell and "pkg update -f" - no errors.

Go figure?

Offline micropone

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Packages?
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2017, 03:00:52 am »
bug!!!

the folders/files got moved around

try

edit file

/usr/local/share/pfSense/pkg/repos/pfSense-repo-devel.conf

copy paste


works if your on the beta. 2.4


FreeBSD: { enabled: no }

pfSense-core: {
  url: "pkg+https://beta.pfsense.org/packages/pfSense_master_amd64-core",
  mirror_type: "srv",
  signature_type: "fingerprints",
  fingerprints: "/usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg",
  enabled: yes
}

pfSense: {
  url: "pkg+https://beta.pfsense.org/packages/pfSense_v2_4_0_amd64-pfSense_v2_4_0",
  mirror_type: "srv",
  signature_type: "fingerprints",
  fingerprints: "/usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg",
  enabled: yes
}

Offline MervinCM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Packages?
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2017, 08:01:10 pm »
I have to do this every time I update.

Hopefully this bug will be fixed in one of the daily builds.



Online PiBa

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 741
  • Karma: +123/-1
  • PiBa-NL(on IRC)
    • View Profile
Re: No Packages?
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2017, 08:14:31 pm »
I have to do this every time I update.
Maybe because your using the wrong url's.?.
My 2.4RC Community Edition has these 2 files and works fine for updates and searching packages:

/usr/local/share/pfSense/pkg/repos/pfSense-repo.conf
Code: [Select]
FreeBSD: { enabled: no }

pfSense-core: {
  url: "pkg+https://pkg.pfsense.org/pfSense_v2_4_0_amd64-core",
  mirror_type: "srv",
  signature_type: "fingerprints",
  fingerprints: "/usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg",
  enabled: yes
}

pfSense: {
  url: "pkg+https://pkg.pfsense.org/pfSense_v2_4_0_amd64-pfSense_v2_4_0",
  mirror_type: "srv",
  signature_type: "fingerprints",
  fingerprints: "/usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg",
  enabled: yes
}

/usr/local/share/pfSense/pkg/repos/pfSense-repo-devel.conf
Code: [Select]
FreeBSD: { enabled: no }

pfSense-core: {
  url: "pkg+https://beta.pfsense.org/packages/pfSense_devel_amd64-core",
  mirror_type: "srv",
  signature_type: "fingerprints",
  fingerprints: "/usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg",
  enabled: yes
}

pfSense: {
  url: "pkg+https://beta.pfsense.org/packages/pfSense_devel_amd64-pfSense_devel",
  mirror_type: "srv",
  signature_type: "fingerprints",
  fingerprints: "/usr/local/share/pfSense/keys/pkg",
  enabled: yes
}

Offline MervinCM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Packages?
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2017, 10:00:47 pm »
I happen to be running the current beta.  I use the value enclosed and it works great, for a while, usually by the time I get around to applying a fresh build its broken again, so I just cut and past it again, and it works again. I can refresh both files if there is a source for the contents of both for a beta build.



Offline MervinCM

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: No Packages?
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2017, 02:23:33 pm »
I replaced the contents of those two files with what was provided.  I will try it again in a week or so when some new builds are available.. thank you.