Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Arm fully supported?  (Read 1169 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline lagreca

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Arm fully supported?
« on: September 09, 2017, 07:37:50 pm »
Are there are limitations of the new ARM based firewalls (ie. NOT x86)?

Are all pfsense features and package addons supported on the ARM devices?

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2017, 07:41:10 pm »
All pfSense functions are there, but some packages might not have ARM versions.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2017, 10:12:01 am »
All of the base features are there, but there are some packages that are disabled or will not currently compile for ARM:

Code: [Select]
Open-VM-Tools
blinkled
gwled
LCDproc
Telegraf

Granted you will not be able to do much with something like snort on an SG-1000 given the hardware limitations, but it is there for both it and the SG-3100.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline Albert Hall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2017, 09:41:16 am »
SG-3100 coming from Netgate is based on ARM but supports aes-cbc rather than aes-ni.
https://www.netgate.com/products/sg-3100.html
« Last Edit: September 13, 2017, 09:44:18 am by Albert Hall »

Offline BlueKobold

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2449
  • Karma: +193/-104
  • pfSense rocks!
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2017, 04:24:58 pm »
SG-3100 coming from Netgate is based on ARM but supports aes-cbc rather than aes-ni.
https://www.netgate.com/products/sg-3100.html
This is based on the ARM Cortex Chip and not x86, so there is no AES-NI inside!
But both ARM units from netgate.com are supporting hardware crypto offloading chip internal.
SG-1000
CPU: TI ARM Cortex-A8 AM3352 CPU at 600 MHz, including crypto accelerator

SG-3100
....featuring a dual core ARM design with crypto offload capability
Greetings from Germany
Frank

Offline starkiller

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2017, 03:24:09 pm »
Does anyone know if this can be installed on non-netgate arm devices?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #6 on: October 05, 2017, 04:06:35 pm »
Every ARM platform is different, it is not a standard in the same sense as we are used to with x86 hardware. Each platform requires special handling for booting, drivers, etc.

That is why we currently only offer two ARM images and they are both for devices we sell (SG-1000, SG-3100) and the images are only available to users of those devices because they would fail to run on anything else.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2017, 04:27:14 pm »
I suppose if you can get FreeBSD to boot first, you'll have a chance at porting the pfSense stuff from github. But ARM is different from Intel-based PC's indeed. Where most x86 PC's adhere to the same standard (it's why they are called PC - it's not just a name but a set of standards so they all work the same, going back 30+ years) ARM does not. No two systems are compatible.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2017, 04:37:39 pm by johnkeates »

Offline starkiller

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #8 on: October 05, 2017, 05:24:13 pm »
Every ARM platform is different, it is not a standard in the same sense as we are used to with x86 hardware. Each platform requires special handling for booting, drivers, etc.

That is why we currently only offer two ARM images and they are both for devices we sell (SG-1000, SG-3100) and the images are only available to users of those devices because they would fail to run on anything else.

Thanks, was wondering about running on a UBNT Edge router, that answers my question.

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
  • Karma: +51/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2017, 06:42:09 pm »
Every ARM platform is different, it is not a standard in the same sense as we are used to with x86 hardware. Each platform requires special handling for booting, drivers, etc.

That is why we currently only offer two ARM images and they are both for devices we sell (SG-1000, SG-3100) and the images are only available to users of those devices because they would fail to run on anything else.

Thanks, was wondering about running on a UBNT Edge router, that answers my question.

The UBNT Edge routers run on MIPS64 processors from Cavium (the Octeon series), not ARM.
MIPS64 support in FreeBSD is experimental at best. https://wiki.freebsd.org/FreeBSD/mips/Octeon
So even if ARM as was singular as x86 it wouldn't matter because it's MIPS and not ARM  :P

Offline Derelict

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9084
  • Karma: +1037/-306
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #10 on: October 05, 2017, 06:45:11 pm »
But I totally understand why you might want to run pfSense on it over what ubnt is currently shipping. :D
Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Use this diagram to describe your issue.
The pfSense Book is now available for just $24.70!
Do Not PM For Help! NO_WAN_EGRESSTM

Offline BlueKobold

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2449
  • Karma: +193/-104
  • pfSense rocks!
    • View Profile
Re: Arm fully supported?
« Reply #11 on: October 06, 2017, 10:59:46 am »
Quote
Thanks, was wondering about running on a UBNT Edge router, that answers my question.
It in the fact MIPS BE oder MIPS64 and not ARM!
Greetings from Germany
Frank