pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Fall back to full FSCK - Problem  (Read 237 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline clay005

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Fall back to full FSCK - Problem
« on: September 10, 2017, 02:13:19 am »
Hello,

I have problem in PFsense version is 2.3.4-RELEASE-p1. It is restarting on its own and the message i get is something about "Fall back to full FSCK" Im wondering why. But one day i found out it is happening when i remote our server (WIN RDP) using its domain name, i register my IP address to our hosting to get one. But using its Ip address it is not restarting.

Hope someone can help me..

Thanks a lot.

Offline clay005

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fall back to full FSCK - Problem
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 12:28:21 am »
help

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Fall back to full FSCK - Problem
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2017, 10:18:57 am »
Without the contents of the crash report / panic information there is no way to know what is happening.

The "fsck" error could just be the firewall running a disk check after a crash and not anything to do with the cause of the crash.

Does it show a crash report in the dashboard after it reboots? If so, what's in it?

If not, you may have to keep a console connected (serial or VGA, preferably serial) and hopefully capture the crash data as it happens.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline clay005

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fall back to full FSCK - Problem
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2017, 05:33:23 am »
No crash report on the dashboard after restarting.

I will do my best to capture the error and post it here.

Offline clay005

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Fall back to full FSCK - Problem
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2017, 01:54:33 am »
My suspicion is, It is restarting when someone remote our the server using its the Domain name (or computer name not ip address). Because before i register the IP address to have a name we are using ip address to remote the server and im not having this kind of issue.

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2071
  • Karma: +166/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Fall back to full FSCK - Problem
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2017, 03:02:47 am »
My suspicion is, It is restarting when someone remote our the server using its the Domain name (or computer name not ip address). Because before i register the IP address to have a name we are using ip address to remote the server and im not having this kind of issue.
This can't be a suspicion, except if you refuse to check your firewall, the rules present on WAN.
There should be none **, and in that case : impossible, non one can connect to your pfSense.

Btw : you just showed that you missed one of the biggest concepts of the Internet : people rarely use IP's, or, they work well. Humans like addresses like test-domaine.fr, which are translated directly to :
Code: [Select]
test-domaine.fr has address 5.196.43.182
test-domaine.fr has IPv6 address 2001:41d0:2:927b::15
Remember that addresses or URL like test-domaine.fr aren't use on the Internet : you see them on your screen, they are looked up to IP addresses and that it.

The fact that you use a domaine name - like my test-domaine.fr - doesn't mean that people can find you more easily, or not. True is, domaine name are public. But you don't care, you have a firewall, and nothing initialed from the outside come in. That was the very reason you put the firewall in place.

** if there are rules ..... well, you shouldn't. One never does before all consequences are understood ;)
Btw : Never ever expose the pfSense GUI to the outside (WAN or Internet).