pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems  (Read 279 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline K1LL3RY0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« on: September 13, 2017, 11:33:33 am »
So I have the following setup for my pfSense server:

Mini-ITX pfSense Firewall
Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-J1900N-D3V
CPU - Intel Celeron J1900
Ram - G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3L SO-DIMM 1333 (PC3L 10666)
SSD - PNY 240GB
PSU - SilverStone Technology 450W SFX 80 PLUS GOLD
Case - Cooler Master Elite 110
VPN - OpenVPN (Private Internet Access)

I purchased this prior to obtaining Gbit Internet service and I am currently finding out that I believe I'm capped at around 350Mbps when accessing internet via my LAN. When connecting straight to the modem I get the full 950Mbps respectively. Anyone have any information on what may be causing this? Is it strictly the GA-J1900N-D3V? I did purchase a PCI Intel Pro 10/100/1000 and I only received ~200Mbps which I found to be a shock as well. I do run my network through a full OpenVPN continuous tunnel but even so the memory and cpu never reach higher than 30%.

Very frustrating because I want to utilize my full VPN tunnel on the full bandwidth i'm paying for!

Thoughts?

~K1ll3ry0

Offline nycfly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2017, 11:45:41 am »
You're not going to get more than that via OpenVPN. You only see 30% CPU because that's an aggregate across all cores. OpenVPN is single-threaded. In reality, when you see 30% CPU usage it likely means one core is at 100% (which would show up as 25%).

If you want gigabit speeds, don't use OpenVPN.

Offline K1LL3RY0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2017, 11:49:16 am »
You're not going to get more than that via OpenVPN. You only see 30% CPU because that's an aggregate across all cores. OpenVPN is single-threaded. In reality, when you see 30% CPU usage it likely means one core is at 100% (which would show up as 25%).

If you want gigabit speeds, don't use OpenVPN.

Thanks for the response. I should have mentioned that even with OpenVPN disabled I am still throttled at ~350Mbps throughput. What would you recommend I use?

Offline nycfly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2017, 12:13:19 pm »
Do you have any packages running (Squid, Snort, etc.)? I'd disable them and see if you're still experiencing speed issues. If all it is doing is routing/NAT I would expect the J1900 to be able to handle close to gigabit speeds.

In terms of VPN, you should be able to get full speed with IPSec though I'm not sure which providers might offer that option.

Offline K1LL3RY0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2017, 12:19:58 pm »
Do you have any packages running (Squid, Snort, etc.)? I'd disable them and see if you're still experiencing speed issues. If all it is doing is routing/NAT I would expect the J1900 to be able to handle close to gigabit speeds.

In terms of VPN, you should be able to get full speed with IPSec though I'm not sure which providers might offer that option.

I apologize, without OpenVPN I'm seeing ~600Mbps which is still mounds away from where I should be...closer though. So maybe I will take a look at ipsec too.



I'm only running the basic install without snort or squid at the moment because I've been chasing these throughput issues since I got Gigabit WAN.


Offline nycfly

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2017, 05:39:16 pm »
Do you have traffic shaping disabled?

Offline VAMike

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: +55/-10
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2017, 06:58:03 pm »
FreeBSD does not have great drivers for realtek NICs. You can dig around on here for some threads where people have reported better performance using drivers straight from realtek. You don't have a lot of options with only a 32 bit PCI slot for expansion (a dual port gigabit NIC will exceed the bandwidth available on the slot). So you can try the alternate driver, get different hardware, or switch to a different OS with better support for the hardware. If you're trying to drive a significant fraction of gigabit over openvpn you might as well just get different hardware because a J1900 can't do that.

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 409
  • Karma: +35/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2017, 08:33:45 pm »
Realtek NICs are bad and the Celeron J1900 isn't super fast. The speeds don't look that strange to me.

Offline K1LL3RY0

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2017, 12:33:41 pm »
FreeBSD does not have great drivers for realtek NICs. You can dig around on here for some threads where people have reported better performance using drivers straight from realtek. You don't have a lot of options with only a 32 bit PCI slot for expansion (a dual port gigabit NIC will exceed the bandwidth available on the slot). So you can try the alternate driver, get different hardware, or switch to a different OS with better support for the hardware. If you're trying to drive a significant fraction of gigabit over openvpn you might as well just get different hardware because a J1900 can't do that.

Would you be able to recommend a Mini-ITX board with the capability of doing so? I'm also looking at using IPSEC instead as that may allow some better throughput using more of the CPU instead of the singlethreading of OPENVPN.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11728
  • Karma: +446/-15
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2017, 07:29:51 am »
Try running at the CLI whilst testing:
Code: [Select]
top -aSH
That will show you how the loading is being used across the cores. Hit 'q' to quit and it will freeze the current output so you can copy/paste it.

Steve

Offline noons

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #10 on: September 19, 2017, 08:10:18 am »
Provided you are not ussing PPPoE It isn't that j1900 that is hurting you per say, but the combination of the realtek nic and the j1900. Pick up a intel 4x server nic on ebay i350 or something and it should take care of all your issues. I have A j1900 cpu with i211 intel nics and I am able to saturate gigabit at `40% cpu usage. If you are using PPPoE you are going to need a faster processor ghz is important here as multithreading is broken.

Edit - Just noticed you were on comcast in Boston so good news is you won't be using PPPoE. Intel nic should solve your issues..
« Last Edit: September 19, 2017, 08:13:27 am by noons »

Offline VAMike

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • Karma: +55/-10
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2017, 09:32:24 am »
Provided you are not ussing PPPoE It isn't that j1900 that is hurting you per say, but the combination of the realtek nic and the j1900. Pick up a intel 4x server nic on ebay i350 or something and it should take care of all your issues. I have A j1900 cpu with i211 intel nics and I am able to saturate gigabit at `40% cpu usage. If you are using PPPoE you are going to need a faster processor ghz is important here as multithreading is broken.

Edit - Just noticed you were on comcast in Boston so good news is you won't be using PPPoE. Intel nic should solve your issues..
How carefully did you read this thread?

1) a quad port intel nic isn't going to work well in a 32 bit PCI slot
2) an intel nic isn't going to do anything for VPN performance on the J1900
3) he already installed an intel nic, and it made things slower (see point 1)

TLDR; an intel nic will not solve his issues

Offline johnkeates

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 409
  • Karma: +35/-0
    • View Profile
Re: GA-J1900N-D3V Wan Bandwidth Problems
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2017, 03:51:51 pm »
Get a board with an AES-NI CPU. Get Intel network cards. All your problems should go away! :)