Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: New SG-3100  (Read 1950 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gsmornot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #15 on: October 17, 2017, 03:01:12 pm »
Maybe this is a dumb question but will I be able to access the web interface after the restore if the interface names are wrong in order to correct them? If not, would it be best to modify the xml to correct the interface names prior to the restore? Hope that makes sense.

You can do it either way. After restore it will take you to a page to reassign the interfaces if you want to do it that way. You can edit into the config before restore if you like, too. I prefer to edit them in, but either way works.
Thanks again. mvneta1 for WAN and mvneta2 for LAN based on the user manual page. Easy enough.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #16 on: October 17, 2017, 03:12:04 pm »
That may not have been updated right yet, WAN is mvneta2, LAN is mvneta1, OPT1 is mvneta0
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline gsmornot

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #17 on: October 19, 2017, 08:50:00 am »
  Received an email that my order has been delayed due to the need for additional testing of a driver fix.  I have no issue with this and as long as it ships in 2017 I am fine. 

  But for those in the know I am curious, since the note said driver issue, is this something in a FreeBSD module or a custom driver you all did for this device.  If it's a base FreeBSD driver, is there a link to the issue you are addressing available ?

It's due to the length of the network interface driver name, it's causing problems with the way we currently name VLANs. Rather than rename the driver and maintain more technical debt, we are changing how the VLAN interfaces are named so they are not so long they overrun the FreeBSD name limit. That was a bigger change than we felt comfortable making for 2.4-RELEASE, so we're taking a week or so to implement and test that and a few other small fixes to roll into 2.4.1.
Will the SG-3100 ship with 2.4.1?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21312
  • Karma: +1423/-26
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2017, 08:50:44 am »
Will the SG-3100 ship with 2.4.1?

Yes
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline valnar

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 364
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #19 on: October 20, 2017, 02:11:31 pm »
Finally a device that can replace a Linksys!  I can retire my parent's DD-WRT device now.   802.11n is good enough.


Offline jahonix

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2404
  • Karma: +144/-14
  • volunteer since 2006
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #20 on: October 20, 2017, 04:09:40 pm »
I can retire my parent's DD-WRT device now.   802.11n is good enough.
a) those statements don't have much in common  and
b) you're aware that SG-3100s do not have any kind of WLAN on board?

And yes, n-standard is usually quite sufficient.
Chris

The issue with IPv6 jokes is that almost no one understands them and no one is using them yet.

Offline sirozha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +0/-3
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #21 on: October 29, 2017, 05:11:57 am »
Whatís the LAN-to-WAN and the WAN-to-LAN throughout with NAT enabled?

I saw that you guys tweeted the VPN throughputs with IPSec being around 280 Mbps, which is not bad for this price range. But can the SG-3100 do a full Gigabit throughput with NAT enabled?

Also, whatís the maximum combined throughput for inter-VLAN Routing? Since the internal connection between the switch and the SOC is 2.5 Gbps, thatís the theoretical maximum, but can it actually inter-VLAN route at 2.5 Gbps or close to that?

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • Karma: +134/-125
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #22 on: October 29, 2017, 06:27:07 am »
Device can deliver up to a gigabit with NAT enabled.

There are 2x 1GbE, configured as dual WAN or one WAN one LAN. Both gigabit and there's a gigabit four-port 1 gbps Marvell 88E6141 switch. The switch is uplinked at 2.5 gbps to the third port on the SoC for LAN.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2017, 06:48:59 am by ivor »
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/

Offline sirozha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: +0/-3
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #23 on: October 29, 2017, 09:03:49 am »
Has this been benchmarked?

Why not publish the official benchmark? At this price point, itís important to know if Gigabit LAN-to-WAN and WAN-to-LAN can be achieved.

Additionally, for smaller networks without an L3 switch, itís important to know if inter-VLAN routing can be done by the SOC at higher than 1 Gbps so that in the SOHO Enviroment, inter-VLAN Routing by the Router on the Stick wonít start to immediately subtract from the throughput to the Internet.

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • Karma: +134/-125
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #24 on: October 29, 2017, 10:41:07 am »
It has been benchmarked, that's how we know that the device is capable of gigabit NAT. We have also published VPN troughput numbers which you have seen.


Quote
Additionally, for smaller networks without an L3 switch, itís important to know if inter-VLAN routing can be done by the SOC at higher than 1 Gbps so that in the SOHO Enviroment, inter-VLAN Routing by the Router on the Stick wonít start to immediately subtract from the throughput to the Internet.

2x 1GbE, configured as dual WAN or one WAN one LAN four-port 1 gbps Marvell 88E6141 switch, uplinked at 2.5 gbps to the third port on the SoC for LAN. That answers your question.
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/

Offline bgalbrecht

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New SG-3100
« Reply #25 on: October 30, 2017, 01:03:21 am »
I received my SG-3100 on Friday, I'm still going through the pfsense handbook, but from other stuff I've read on this board and the subreddit board, it looks like I may have to wait until 2.4.2 is out in order to use it because it's going to replace a centurylink router with PPPOE and a vlan of 210.  However, at the PfSense portal, there are no ARM images or beta releases for ARM.  Also, I haven't got to this part yet, but when I get to the point where this is set up and connected to the WAN, will I be able to see all the packages available for the SG-3100 with "pkg search -g \*", at least from the command line or somewhere in the GUI?