Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Australian FTTP NBN  (Read 552 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline randomaustralian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Australian FTTP NBN
« on: September 27, 2017, 08:59:33 pm »
Any fellow Australians had any luck getting IPv6 working through pfSense on their FTTP NBN?

I have the ipv4 internet, the pfSense box has made my internet even faster compared to the supplied router.

I have managed to get the services of my Telstra provided router working from plugging its wan port into my switch with some port forwarding.

I'm stuck and getting IPv6 working, which is one of the reasons I chose pfSense.

I have dhcp6 setup but it's only assigning itself a local link address and not an internet accessible ip6 address.

pointers please

Thanks
UP Squared Apollo Lake M Intelģ Pentiumô 4C 2.5GHz ,N4200  8GB + 64GB eMMC   (http://up-shop.org/)

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Australian FTTP NBN
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2017, 03:02:05 am »
Many ISP's do not supply a global IP for the WAN, only a link local, Sky U.K. for example. Are you seeing global ipv6 addresses on the LAN side, i.e. you are getting a prefix delegation?


Offline randomaustralian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Australian FTTP NBN
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2017, 03:49:22 am »
Many ISP's do not supply a global IP for the WAN, only a link local, Sky U.K. for example. Are you seeing global ipv6 addresses on the LAN side, i.e. you are getting a prefix delegation?

ipv6 is not working at all from inside my LAN unless its local PC's only
UP Squared Apollo Lake M Intelģ Pentiumô 4C 2.5GHz ,N4200  8GB + 64GB eMMC   (http://up-shop.org/)

marjohh

  • Guest
Re: Australian FTTP NBN
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2017, 05:46:47 am »
OK, I assume your ISP is giving you a PD.

Let's do baby steps so we know what's happening, not doubting you have everything set correctly, but sometimes things are misunderstood.

Under WAN config set dhcp6 as the IPv6 Config type. Under Lan set Ipv6 Config type to Track Interface and under the Track Interface section select WAN. LEAVE everything else as default.



Still no IPv6, go to system logs and select DHCP, search for dhcp6c entries, if there are some, and you have no ipv6, then post here what dhcp6c is reporting, if not, then go back to WAN config and under DHPC6C client configuration, select Do Not Wait for RA. Save and apply then go back to the logs, you should definitely see something from dhcp6c this time.

if still no ipv6, then post the logs.

If you have ipv6, then you'll need to set up dhcp6 server and RA. There are other bits that need to be checked and adjusted for good measure but we'll sort those as needed when you get ipv6 up and running.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2017, 05:50:11 am by marjohn56 »

Offline biggsy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: +21/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Australian FTTP NBN
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2017, 11:02:06 pm »
Have you tried posting on the Whirlpool forums?  You might have more luck finding someone there running pfSense with IPv6 on NBN FTTP.

Offline gsiemon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Australian FTTP NBN
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2017, 07:37:47 am »
Iím on FTTP NBN but with Internode not Telstra. Do you know what is required to setup IPv6 on Telstra on a normal modem?  If you do I might be able to help translate the instructions into something pfSense will understand. Unfortunately, I think the settings differ from ISP to ISP and arenít a function of the underlying NBN technology.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2017, 07:54:11 am by gsiemon »

Offline randomaustralian

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Australian FTTP NBN
« Reply #6 on: October 10, 2017, 05:07:24 am »
Iím on FTTP NBN but with Internode not Telstra. Do you know what is required to setup IPv6 on Telstra on a normal modem?  If you do I might be able to help translate the instructions into something pfSense will understand. Unfortunately, I think the settings differ from ISP to ISP and arenít a function of the underlying NBN technology.

ipv6 works on the router they issued me with but typical Telstra won't support you unless you use their gear...


honestly, I haven't looked at this since I posted it cause I have been busy with classes and being a dad... but I'll try to get around to the suggestions people have given me.
UP Squared Apollo Lake M Intelģ Pentiumô 4C 2.5GHz ,N4200  8GB + 64GB eMMC   (http://up-shop.org/)

Offline timmyj9

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Australian FTTP NBN
« Reply #7 on: December 22, 2017, 06:30:48 pm »
i'm in the same boat (on FTTP NBN) using pfsense and unable to get ipv6 working

just for the purposes of testing i spun up a sophos utm instance and got an ipv6 lease immediately (could ping6 from WAN but PD did not work due to current version only supporting /64 PD)
next i tested a ubiquiti edgerouter lite and can get full ipv6 working (correct settings are /56 PD with prefix-only, wan interface keeps a link-local address and each internal/lan interface gets a PD and all clients get an ipv6 lease inside the prefix).

pfsense is my preferred platform however i am unable to get any ipv6 traffic flowing at all

running a tcpdump i can see neighbour solicitations from my provider (telstra)

would appreciate some assistance if anyone has any further insights