The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$  (Read 279 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline posto587

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« on: October 02, 2017, 05:04:23 am »
Hi,

we have pfSense system with about 350 VLAN interfaces.
As stated here: https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=102607.0 : and here: https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=101448 the GUI becomes very slow and assign_interfaces.php becomes unusable.

There is already a bug report: https://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/6400 where this problem is described, but the Fix got moved to pfSense version 2.4.1.

We will pay 300$ if this can be fixed within the next two weeks, since we will add another pfSense system with that number of interfaces.
At the moment we add,edit or remove interfaces via the developer shell, but this is very annoying.


Some more information about why we need so many interfaces:

We manage a modern student dorm with about 300 apartments. Each student has its own separated ip subnet (via VLAN). The VLAN Tag is either assigned via dynamic RADIUS VLAN assignment (WLAN) or via the Switch (untagged LAN Port at the apartment).

After loggin into the WLAN, students can easily stream content from their smartphones/tablet to a connected AppleTV/Smart TV etc.
There is also KNX Smart Home technology added so that students can control their lighting, heating, jalousie, sound etc. via Smartphone/Tablet/Voice.

pfSense hardware:
Xeon E3-1240v6 4x 3.70GHz
16GB DDR4-2400 ECC RAM
MB Supermicro X11SSH-LN4F
SSD 240GB RAID 1
Chelsio 10Gbit T520-SO-CR
WAN: 1 Gbit/s Up/Down Business Fiber Connection

If there is more information needed I'm glad to help.
Thanks in advance!

Offline loonylion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2017, 10:08:46 am »
Hi,

Try these files (back up your existing ones first!) On my testing with 100 VLANs, the page load time is about 6-7 seconds vs 14-15 seconds with the default pages.

All functionality should still be present and working.

Files: /etc/inc/interfaces.inc
         /usr/local/www/interfaces_assign.php

EDIT: updated archive with bug fix below.

EDIT2: another bug fix
« Last Edit: October 17, 2017, 12:58:22 pm by loonylion »

Offline loonylion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2017, 08:10:25 am »
Has this helped at all?

Offline posto587

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2017, 05:15:54 am »
I have to do a little bit more testing the next days but on the first look it's great!
I can open interfaces_assign.php again now and it's a lot faster.
After more testing I'll pm you  :)

EDIT:
When I add a new VLAN it doesn't show up on availible network ports to add a new interface.
« Last Edit: October 10, 2017, 05:49:25 am by posto587 »

Offline loonylion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2017, 10:18:56 am »
bug squashed :)

files: /usr/local/www/interfaces_assign.php

Offline loonylion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2017, 05:48:13 am »
Everything working as it should?

Offline loonylion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2017, 12:57:10 pm »
Another bug squashed, seems ppp stuff got broken, so here's fix:

restore the backed up interfaces.inc in /etc/inc and then use the attached files:

files: /etc/inc/interfaces_fast.inc
        /usr/local/www/interfaces_assign.php

Offline luckman212

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 716
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
    • @luckman212 - github
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2017, 01:03:10 pm »
Guys this is great and all but if you're going to post these publicly I think you might as well work these patches via github so they can be diffed and merged along with the rest of the project, gets more eyes on them as well...

Offline loonylion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2017, 01:54:21 pm »
I don't use git and this particular 'solution' is a placeholder because it's already been fixed officially, the powers that be just aren't ready to release the official fix yet, and probably won't be in the near future.

Offline heper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2676
  • Karma: +252/-11
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2017, 01:38:10 am »
this particular 'solution' is a placeholder because it's already been fixed officially, the powers that be just aren't ready to release the official fix yet, and probably won't be in the near future.

?? could you point us to the redmine that claims it is fixed ?

Offline loonylion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2017, 06:12:16 am »
but the Fix got moved to pfSense version 2.4.1.

I read that as a fix exists but isn't going to be made public yet.

Offline loonylion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Slow Web GUI with many VLAN Interfaces - 300$
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2017, 05:17:34 pm »
Bad news: pfSense 2.4 is even worse  :(

good news: I fixed it  :)

Weird news: Exactly the same edits that shaved 7 seconds off before now shave 2:20 off  ::)

Files: /etc/inc/interfaces_fast.inc (unchanged from previous release)
         /usr/local/www/interfaces_assign.php (this file is changed and not compatible with earlier pfSense)