Development/Documentation > Development

submitting PRs for packages in the pfSense/FreeBSD-ports repo?

(1/5) > >>

luckman212:
I'm a relative beginner at git/GitHub and still learning new things every day. So forgive my ignorance on this!

I was trying to submit a small patch for the HAProxy package today and ran into some trouble. I worked around it but am not sure if I've done so correctly. My typical workflow when working on patches to the main pfsense/pfsense repo has been:

1) fork the main repo on GitHub
2) clone my fork of the repo
3) hack hack hack
4) commit + push

When I tried that on the pfsense/FreeBSD-ports repo, I ended up with a clone that was missing all of the files I needed. Specifically, all of the pfSense-pkg-xxxx directories which contained the files I was trying to update were just not there. What I ended up doing instead was cloning the original repo, hacking on that, and then pushing the commits, like this:

--- Code: ---git clone git@github.com:pfsense/FreeBSD-ports.git my-foobar-patch
cd my-foobar-patch
git remote set-url origin git@github.com:luckman212/FreeBSD-ports.git
git checkout -b my-foobar-patch

~ HACK HACK HACK ~

git ls-files --modified | xargs git add
git commit
git push origin my-foobar-patch
--- End code ---

That worked.  So, questions are:

1) why did that happen?
2) have I done this the "right" way?

Thanks all

heper:
I don't use git enough to remember how/why I get it to fuck up.

For small changes like this, I find it much easier to use the online editor on GitHub

luckman212: