pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Automatic Bandwidth Limiting for Dummynet - $600 potentially ++  (Read 491 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline belt9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
  • Karma: +24/-6
    • View Profile
Automatic Bandwidth Limiting for Dummynet - $600 potentially ++
« on: October 03, 2017, 06:45:50 pm »
Bounty suspended.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2017, 11:41:44 am by ivor »

Offline cplmayo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Automatic Bandwidth Limiting for Dummynet - $$$?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2017, 09:33:42 pm »
I'm willing to put up $100 to make this happen.

Offline Nullity

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 973
  • Karma: +96/-9
    • View Profile
Re: Automatic Bandwidth Limiting for Dummynet - $$$?
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2017, 10:12:03 pm »
I see no reason to limit the proposed automatic bandwidth monitor to only working with dummynet. Make the monitor spit out generic results that can be used for ALTQ, dummynet, or anything else.

The monitor should also be capable of multi-WAN setups, right?
Please correct any obvious misinformation in my posts.
-Not a professional; an arrogant ignoramous.

Offline belt9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 233
  • Karma: +24/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Automatic Bandwidth Limiting for Dummynet - $$$?
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2017, 10:19:57 pm »
I'm open to any and all suggestions as to what this bounty should look like.

I'll edit the OP to reflect the wishes of that who wish to contribute.

I just posted this bounty because I saw interest but no bounty.

All feedback and input is welcomed!

Offline Harvy66

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
  • Karma: +204/-12
    • View Profile
Re: Automatic Bandwidth Limiting for Dummynet - $$$?
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2017, 11:54:11 am »
ALTQ may have some implementation complexities because shapers like HFSC have issues changing the provisioned root bandwidth in some cases.

Example 1) If you try to set the root bandwidth to a value that causes one or more queues to total to more than 100%
Example 2) Last I knew there was a bug/feature of HFSC in pfSense that the validation calculates the effective assigned bandwidth supplied via percentages based on the live root amount, which can make the totals be more than 100%, at least from the perspective of the validation.

DummyNet should be easier to implement since it is strait forward for setting bandwidth. Probably be a two phase approach with DummyNet first.

Offline w0w

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 534
  • Karma: +30/-6
  • kernel panic attack
    • View Profile
Re: Automatic Bandwidth Limiting for Dummynet - $$$?
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2017, 10:44:30 pm »
I am ready to pay up to 500$ for ABL.

Offline ivor

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 609
  • Karma: +135/-125
    • View Profile
    • Netgate
Re: Automatic Bandwidth Limiting for Dummynet - $600 potentially ++
« Reply #6 on: October 27, 2017, 11:39:18 am »
Bounty suspended as the user belt9 was circumventing a ban.
Need help fast? Commercial support: https://www.netgate.com/support/